Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Peter from Manchester

lovely staff

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
I can't see why anybody would say anything other than this hotel is superb all round value. The staff, as seems the norm for this part of the world, are friendly and courteous. The location is excellent, views beautiful, food top class and our room spotless. Even though we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door, the cleaner left a bag wifh towels, toletries and refreshments outside the door. So many hotels I've stayed in simply dont have that level of customer service. A great bar (and barman) too. Would I stay here again? Definitely !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite as bad as I expected having read reviews

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Shower pressure and temperature
..but we struggled to find somewhere to park and when I went in to ask reception for some ideas I was left with a 'well there is a wedding on here and the Exmouth festival on in town so what do you expect'. Other hotels I have stayed at (in Brighton) have presented us with maps of the best placs to try and prk - which would have been useful here. We had booked a double room but it was a twin room with a fixed table in the middle, so we had to improvise. A lvoely sea view, though. The shower had no pressure (2nd floor) and no warmth so I gave up even thinking of washing my long hair which wasnt what one expects from spending over a hundred pounds for the room. The breakfast was nice, fast and competent with very attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Simon M from London

Great room and fantastic breakfast

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Another pleasant stay in The Royal Beacon. Clean comfortable room and a superb breakfast. Great value as ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Pat from Surrey

Good service and excellent breakfast

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
A very pleasant hotel in a quiet elevated location overlooking the Esplanade and estuary but with just a short walk to town centre. The bars and dining facilities are also very good. The only drawback is that the hotel car park is small and some guests have to use local street parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by dwb790 from cambridge

excellent location for beach and town

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Often stay here. 10 min walk to anywhere worth going. Good restaurants in hotel. Comfy bar. Worth getting a seaview room as the views down the coast and across the stuary are among best in Devon. Recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ian

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location. Very good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Somerset

great hotel for couples or families

Posted Sep 3, 2012
Pros: views, food and comfort
Cons: carpet in bathroom
Location: Although up a hill, great location for views and closeness to town, beach etc
We always find this hotel to be comfortable and good quality, lovely food, staff helpful, good bar. Have also visited with small children in family room, very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Best Option In Exmouth?

Posted Aug 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely hotel. We have stayed there a couple of times before and even though is was a "budget room" we had a sea view and it was also a large room. The only let down was the shower which was definitely not as goos as it could have been.The service was friendly and welcoming and the place had a good atmosphere. I would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Jul 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by J DAVIES

A grand old lady, showing her age.

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff and service were very good, but sadly this is an old hotel, and it's very difficult to provide modern convenience in an old building. The sash windows rattled all night, the bed was small, but as I said the staff were very efficient and helpful. We did have a great view from our rattlely window though.!