Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerry Kat from Trowbridge

Ideal location for visiting Ashton Court.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Excellent location so close to Ashton Court estate for Let's Rock Bristol 80s festival. Staff mostly very friendly and helpful (with couple of exceptions). Room well appointed and spotlessly clean. Very comfy bed. Will definitely visit again.
2 out of 5
by Tina from Devon

Overpriced, rude receptionist, poor quality food.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: Staff training. Separate bar for residents from wedding guests, improve breakfast.
Was disappointed with the whole hotel. We expected a good quality room given the price we paid but although a good sized room, the window was held open with sticky tape. There was dust in several places in the bathroom, cheap biscuits and the whole place looked tatty. The Welsh receptionist was very patronizing from the moment we turned up. We thought we had booked breakfast but was told its not included in that price! The next day was required a map of the area, and every other place we had stayed at have had these either on the desk or just under it. On the Saturday, when she was serving another customer and was waiting for the card transaction to go through, my husband asked for a map. He was told, I am serving someone you will have to wait, which we did, only to be told by her, my colleague will serve you. He then proceeded to answer the phone leaving us waiting yet again. He gave us a map after 5 minutes on the phone and marked the route to take. On our return it was to find all the gates locked and us trapped by the pool, we managed to spot a cleaner who let us it. The following day we told the same receptionist what had happened, only to be told, we never would have sent people that way, but of course they did. We ate in the restaurant the Friday night, and for breakfast Saturday morning. The food was poor quality, items were missing from stated on the menu and over priced. The breakfast was horrible. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julie from Wolverhampton

Convenient hotel for Bristol in lovely setting.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Its convenient location. The dining room. The leisure club.
Cons: Reception area refurbished. Lift installed to upper floor.
Location: Near to Ahston Court , Clifton suspension bridge and main road into centre of Bristol.
Our room was clean, comfortable and a good size but it was a long walk to get to and there was no lift to the upper floor. The reception area looked a bit shabby and the lounge chairs very low to the ground! Staff were all very friendly and helpful but not all totally fluent in English and some misunderstanding occurred when placing an order for food. The breakfast and dining room is very pleasant being in the older part of the building. We enjoyed using the leisure club facilities. The pool is old but the water a lovely temperature.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sophie from Sheffield

About average. The coffee maker's a lie though.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Redwood is a decent little hotel outside of Bristol. Pretty basic, room is about what you'd expect at a travelodge or something so nothing to moan about. Happy there was free parking. Pool is basic but hey, free pool, can't complain. It's in a rubbish location for mobile phone signal, and I couldn't seem to use the wifi. The coffee maker mentioned in the add was inexistant, just a kettle. No major complaints, simple little hotel really.
2 out of 5
by Andy from Hereford

A little disappointed

Posted May 20, 2014
My wife and I stayed at the hotel this May and was a little disappointed. The staff were friendly and the room was clean. The main negatives were that the bed was uncomfortable, the drinks were expensive and the facilities were outdated. The swimming pool was the most disappointing. The seating area was a plastic table and couple of plastic chairs, the table was covered in dust. It certainly wasn't a place where you could relax and we spent about 5 minutes there until we left, with a bit of investment it could well be brilliant as other facilities on site looked good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms bad facilities

Posted May 18, 2014
Bar area not welcoming and in reception ! Restaurant dated, food flavourless. Breakfast not cooked properly and cold! Country club facilities old and dirty. Plastic chairs by pool no loungers. Staff indifferent. Was all a bit surreal. No atmosphere at all. Wouldn't go back ever. The room was clean and bed comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from yorkshire

Good hotel

Posted May 2, 2014
Staff were very polite and good. Service was very good. I used the hotel on a business trip. It was ideally located for Bristol. The hotel was a little run down in places but appeared to be going through a refurbishment programme. Food was good as was the service. I will stay again when on business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob

Don't eat the food at the bar!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Room was basic with peeling wallpaper but comfortable bed. Food in the bar was atrocious - be warned, no better than canteen slop and not cheap too. If you like sports, the attached country club is great. We swam and played squash for free. So a mixed bag really.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by w from q

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gazza from Essex

Redwood

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Parking, ease of finding and access to M5
Cons: Hot water
Room tidy, very roomy, all amenities. Only gripe was no hot water for shower in morning, mentioned to staff who stated every room has its own boiler, not much use when you have cold shower and have to boil kettle for shave. Apart from that for £50 overnight stay cant complain.