Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite an interesting place.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: It was a very interesting place.
Cons: Internet speed in our room was dismal. But in their restaurant next door it was smoking fast. ???
Location: Took the riverboat cruise. Then moved over to the Princess Hotel. Pikes was a better experience.
Very homey and nice. The morning buffet which was included in the room was the best I have every experienced. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Ken from California

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pro: Close to Airport In front of Chena River Clean room (except in-room coffee maker which was dirty I did not touch it) 24hr exercise room Free breakfast Con: More expensive than other comparable hotels Cheap very soft mattress Heating problem (Room was too hot; With heater off and -30 outside, room temp was 78) Broken steam room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant stay

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Coffee and cookies at the ready 24/7. Free Ice cream, even great when it's 20 degrees outside. Lots of ammenities on site. Nice gift shop even.
This is a very welcoming location. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anchorage

Good location

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Near the airport and on the Chena River. Great breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holly from Anchorage

Ok hotel for our short stay in Fairbanks

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Had a fridge, small coffee pot, shower amenities, and restaurant nearby with water view
Cons: It was really warm in the rooms when we got there. We had to turn the fan onto Cool and open the window to try and cool it off.
Location: It's located near a beautiful river so on a sunny day you get great views from the restaurant or if you pay extra, the hotel room.
I chose this hotel because of price and location since our first choice place was booked. The front desk staff member was okay. This isn't anything fancy, has rustic type feel with AK animals everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by suzy

Clean, pretty

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The entrance to the lodge was full of flowers, quite beautiful, and clean
Cons: I'm a coffee drinker. It would be nice if they gave more than one tiny bag of coffee for two people to share.
I had requested a upstairs room, but none were available at check in because of a bus tour. I think that the lodge was overpriced even at Expedia prices. The hallway was very noisy with guests coming and going all night long. I would not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Jody from Montana

Appearance isn't everything

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Rooms were nice
Cons: Policy of swiping card on Expedia booked rooms should be revised. Caused my card to be authorized more than should be necessary
Location: Small town, everything is pretty close.
On the surface, this seems like a very nice place to spend your time in Fairbanks. The rooms are very nice, it's clean and well maintained. All the materials used to accomodate the rooms are top notch. Free wi-fi is available but only, in my experience, in the common areas which were uncomfortably warm. Businessmen sitting drinking with a bottle of whiskey. The staff was nice, but charged my card 3 times for my room. Only after speaking with them twice, were the charges reversed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb

rustic, but comfortable

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: staff
Cons: Looks like it's left over from the 70S
Location: Very near airport and train.
This is not a fancy place. It labels itself a lodge, and that's about right. it's more rustic that elegant with 1970s decor. that being said the staff was great. it's near the airport and train, but little else. We were starting a tour, so Kitts where the cruise company put us The biggest plus was the helpfulness of the staff. They have can service too go everywhere for a small fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Palm Springs, CA, USA

mixed bag

Posted Sep 25, 2012
hotel is in a good location, on the river and near the airport. staff is competent, continental breakfast was good. the bed was comfortable but the facility itself appears to be somewhat dark, drab and dated. a slight odor permeated throughout, perhaps described as "musty".