Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Close to UAF

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Phone always had message light come on at midnight. Staff said phone line issue. Had to leave phone off the hook so light doesn't interfere with sleep. Other room we reserved had plumbing issue. Toilet would gurgle and foul smell off and on during the night.(guest in that room said not bad enough to complain). (stayed 4 nights at hotel). Staff at the restaurant were awesome (friendly, conversative, happy, etc.). Great atmosphere (the water, ducks, grounds.) We stayed here before (4 yrs ago). Will return. Just hope their attn to maint. will be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patti from Sacramento, CA

Perfect spot on the river

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: The cottages give you privacy while providing options for dining within walking distance. We also walked along the river which was quite nice.
Cons: Pathways across the driveways to bring luggage, a little bumpy on the gravel.
Location: Train to Denali was our destination-we did not explore Fairbanks.
We flew into Fairbanks and were picked up at the airport for a short ride to the Rivers Edge. Very cute private cottages, lots of hanging flower pots, clean rooms with outside tables to enjoy the patios. Had dinner at the Chena's Alaskan Grill which was a short walk from our place and can be reserved through the hotel site, good food-reasonable prices for a steak house kind of meal- and breakfast in the main lodge. Breakfast a little pricey for the buffet but good food, they have a continental option or full breakfast and they provide a shuttle to the train station. The only downside would be dragging the suitcases over the gravel driveway to the rooms but I am sure the staff would assist if asked. All in all a great start to our trip, should have booked two nights and explored Fairbanks more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Private, cozy & quaint

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Cons: Wish they were open in winter. Would be nice if they had a DVD player, but we used our computer instead.
Location: Excellent location, near the airport & Univ. of Fairbanks. Close to major stores(Fred Meyer, Safeway) and good restaurants. Easy access to major hwys.
We stayed 3 nights, in one of the garden cottages. It was quiet, spacious, and very clean. Everything was maintained & in excellent repair. We loved the individual patio, complete with table & chairs & a large hanging planter of flowers, and sliding glass door for access. There was even a row of bushes in front of the patio for more privacy. We felt like we were miles away from civilization, in our own little world! It was very pleasant to stroll around the grounds, with the garden-like atmosphere and white, tidy cottages. We would definitely stay here again, and wish they were open in winter!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Dillingham

Simple and quiet

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good price, clean rooms, quiet..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Private cabins

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Cons: new tv's and adding complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning
Location: Great location to UAF
Liked the privacy of the cabins. The room was updated with the exception of the tv. Comfortable and relaxing. Great location to the UAF campus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vasanth from Seattle

Clean rooms & Good location

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean rooms & Good location - Staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Sheri from Anchorage, AK

Good Room, Poor Service,

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Nice and clean room
Cons: Quieter location would have been nice and a working heater/temperature control would be nice.
Location: Fairbanks Alaska. Chena Riverside. Boating, fishing, and all of the activities of Fairbanks are close.
Booking was for a riverside cottage, but when I got there they had overbooked and put me in the lodge instead. Nice enough room, but the thermostat did not work and it was directly above the kitchen. Which started preparing breakfast at 4 am every day. Loudly. Breakfast was not included, meaning an extra fee every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Anchorage

Memorable Service

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
My cabin was very pleasant, clean and fresh. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot, the drinking water cold. The desk and chair were not optimally configured for working on a computer--this is the case in the majority of places I stay. I failed to connect to the hotel wifi using the security key given me at the front desk. Being very tired, I configured my phone as an access point rather than troubleshoot the hotel connectivity. Speaking of being tired, I left my car's headlights on and I will long remember the gentleman at the front desk jump-starting it for me. There is a fine restaurant, the Chena Grill, adjacent to the hotel and under the same ownership. Its ambiance and service are elegant and its food well prepared.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Neil from Anchorage

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very quiet and private.