Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fairbanks Alaska Hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean and well functioning. Even had a place to mail parcels. Friendly staff.
Location: I enjoyed being able to just to down stairs to the free continental breakfast.
We went to Alaska to see the Northern Lights. We were in a room with the window facing north. However this wasn't a good location for viewing he aurora, too many city lights. We enjoyed our visit and our stay in the hotel. But next time will stay farther out in the country.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good For the Price

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Cons: Better management of the breakfast, provide more selection, actually refill the food when it is empty.
I had two issues with my stay. One was the wireless service. In the evening it was so bad (I work in my room) that I finally had to give up and use my wireless hot spot. It is obvious that the more people they pile onto it the more the service degrades. My other issue was the free breakfast. My travel partner and I walked into the chaos of the Red Lantern and saw a decent selection of sliced grapefruit and a single hot tray with a few scrapings of oatmeal in the bottom. No eggs, no bacon, no sausage, no other choices. We were one of the lucky few to actually get a seat and if we didn't have to leave so soon would have gone elsewhere. Instead we ordered breakfast from the menu ($14 for two eggs, toast, hash brown and a very small cut of reindeer sausage) which came reasonably fast and was decent, although horribly overpriced. In the future I will avoid the free breakfast and make my plans to go elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ak

Love the 12 pm check out

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Nice bar and restaurant no need to even leave the property most comfortable bed ever slept in any hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

BRUTAL BEDS

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Good Central Location.
Cons: Invest in some good mattresses.
Location: Great Thai restaurant two blocks away.
Good enough hotel in a good location, but terrible, cheap mattresses. Breaktfast buffet was disappointing as the only choice available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Tour Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location was convenient to downtown.
Cons: Updating of decor and breakfast choices.
Location: Went to a great restaurant "Bobby's Downtown" and the visitor's center was very helpful.
We stayed an extra night prior to our Alaskan tour. With two nights there we decided against eating at the hotel for dinner. Breakfast was a buffet and the staff was very attentive to the heat and freshness of the cooked items. Breads left a lot to be desired as they were mostly "sweet" breads. Could not find a decent whole wheat, rye, or bagel to enjoy. The room was comfortable, howver the hotel could use a little modernizing. It reminded of places my parents took me to in the late fifties and early sixties, very dark and gloomy. The staff was excellent all around, however our breakfast server was a little slow off the mark and forgot the few items we ordered (Juice) often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Decent hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Good hotel in Fairbanks. Only small complaint is the led of fire detector at the ceiling constantly blinking at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Much better than the Westmark in Anchorage. This hotel is modern, classy, and clean. the staff was helpful and friendly; even in the crush of high volume cruise passengers and tours. We experienced a 5.1 magnitude earthquake while there and the building had no damage. transportation to the airport was on time and pleasant. The food was pricey, as is most of Alaska and there is no downtown shuttle. The most reasonable food is out in the suburbs and there are maps in the lobby for city buses. The blue line goes one block over from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Clean Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Forgot Jacket at West Mark Fair bank, but staff especially Meco went out of the way to get that delivered to West Mark Anchorage! Great job team!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Disappointing for sure

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and did address most of my issues once I called their attention to them.
Cons: Hold the cleaning staff accountable for reporting maintenance issues with the rooms and their readiness for clients. This room was NOT ready for me.
Location: The hotel is across the street from a medical facility just in case you get hurt. Other then that I had to drive to pretty much everywhere
There were things wrong with my room that the maid couldn't have possibly missed, yet they were not repaired when I arrived. The toilet paper holder was laying in the middle of the bathroom floor, the lights didn't work in the sink area, the tub was plugged, the TV didn't work. The maid had to of been aware of most of these and simply not cared to take care of it prior to my arrival. To give credit once I told the front desk about it every thing other then the TV was quickly fixed. However, the point is that I shouldn't have had to tell them about their own issues in this room. This was my first visit to Fairbanks. The Hotel wasn't as central as I had hoped, but it was in a nice area just took some driving to get around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wash DC

Holland America to overcharge me

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Holland America $300. Expedia $150. Cruise Hotel owned by HA. Cruise staging area. Hotel lobby seems to have the atmosphere of airport.