Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by J Cole from Penn valley

Never again!

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room looked nice but there wasn't a comfortable place to sit in it - except the bed which was great. There were two decorative very high windows so the room never got dark. Had 2 strait (dinner table chairs) and a useless very hard futon. No elevator and all rooms were upstairs over the garage and building. Advertised as a bed and breakfast but the breakfast was less than the "continental" style. Fortunately, there is a very good little restaurant across the street. Did I mention the hotel is next to a venue that plays LOUD music until 2am? Take ear plugs. And the room was extremely overpriced but that goes with the area. As uncomfortable as it was, it was still better than dealing with the traffic getting back and forth from the San Rafael area. Parking was an issue even though there might have been enough spaces. Take a small car if you don't want to struggle with the space. We will Never stay here again. Oh, and if you want ice, the manager will give it to you if you give her your ice bucket. You have to be kidding. But, the manager lady was very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Arthur from Herndon, VA

Personal Visit

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The location is great if you like being in a small town environment with everything within walking distance. Worked well for me since I was visiting someone in town. Room was comfortable, nothing spectacular, but clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cw from Florida

Only place in town, and a good one

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: My room was larger and better appointed than at the San Rafael Sheraton Four Points, the only other accommodation near here I've patronized.
Cons: The exterior area could use some help, but then I was visiting when the area was a bit beat up from weather (drought and a period of freeze).
Location: There's an excellent brew pub near the Inn and lots of good hiking trails nearby. Many more options in nearby San Rafael and San Anselmo.
The Inn is in "downtown" Fairfax, adjacent to the movie theater and a bar. Due to flight cancellations from winter weather conditions on the East Coast I ended up at the Inn for 5 days instead of 2 as planned, so I got a pretty good feel for the place. Fortunately business was slow due to a recent spate of bad weather on the West Coast so I could just continue in my room (#5), which was located on the back side of the property. I found the room very comfortable, with a gas log fire place to take the chill off the room when returning in the evening, a nice complement to the room's HVAC unit. Bathroom was modern with a Jacuzzi tub (which I didn't use) and all very attractive in appearance with a vaulted ceiling. Detail work was impressive with high end honey-comb blinds in the windows, although the carpet was a bit lumpy, albeit basically in good shape. Rooms open onto an exterior landing and are accessed via a rather narrow and unattractive stairway near the parking garage. The continental breakfast is minimal, consisting of a selection of various kinds of breads, sweet rolls, coffee, tea, juice, and cereal, squeezed into a corner of an already very small office space, but very homey and on par with what I make do with at home. I have a return visit already planned and recommend the Inn for anyone looking for accommodations in this neck of the woods. I experienced none of the noise issues from the bar that other reviewers have complained about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sam from Kentucky

Nice Stay

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable and convenient. Owners were a little weird, but the place is clean. A little too many carbs for the daily breakfast. How about some protein?
3 out of 5
Recommended
by e.b. from fairfax,ca.

hard to find

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
inn hard to find. inn located next to and behind cinima. small sign located in tavern parking lot, off street, pointing to inn. tavern in front of inn. ice machine located in hotel office and office closes at 11:00 p.m. Clerk stingy with ice. no chek in after 11:OO p.m. room was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay.

Posted Jun 26, 2013
The inn was quirky and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. It is in the heart of enjoyable shopping and entertainment. It is not a chain, and the owner was very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
wifi did not work in room; had to sit by office.Parking frequently used by patrons of the live entertainment restaurant next door so we had to find neighborhood parking each evening.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philip from Massachusetts, USA

Recommended

Posted May 27, 2013
Hoetl staff was very helpful. Room was clean and tidy. Nicely located at the centre of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kristin from san anselmo

Needs a bit of an update...

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
...I had booked this room for my parents as I live in San Anselmo, and the location is close. I love Fairfax, and the inn was nicely nestled against the hill. The room was spacious with high ceilings and neat and clean. The inn could use a bit of a refresh though, with an old TV that was out of focus, old linens, and a Goodwill futon in the space. But, my parents could not speak highly enough about the staff, and you can't beat the location. For a place to sleep, it fit the bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Phil

Simple and nice.

Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Fairfax Inn is not really a bed and breakfast in the traditional sense, and certainly is not a luxury hotel.... but none the less, it does the trick. Fairfax is a great little town, and the Fairfax Inn is right in the middle of that "scene". Just walk around the corner to great food, great coffee and great music. Due to the proxcimity of the nightlife, the noise level can be a bit much for quiet sleeping. Quaint and cool.