Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Escape from San Francisco

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Location: The Union Hotel is a five minute walk from the Bay with stunning views and a great pier. There are little trails around the bay. Lots of Art.
Less than an hour away from the big city, the Union Hotel is in a perfect spot. The staff was very accommodating even though they are not always present. The rooms are a little shabby. They remind me of hotels in small towns in France. If you love that sort of place (and I do) the rooms are perfect. The bathroom was nice and clean and the towels very adequate. My room "Wild Peony" Has a lovely view of the bay peeking through wonderful trees. Directly below is a parking lot and the kitchen sheds, but they are out of the way. There is a very comfortable chair in Wild Peony and I spent a lot of time in the room working either there or at the little desk at the bay window. Benicia's First Street is so nice: full of shops and good restaurants. Just kitty corner from the Hotel is the First Street Cafe where I ate my supper and breakfast. The "continental" breakfast at the Union is the only thing that was really discouraging. They would be better off just having some really good coffee and encourage folks to eat across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

old time charm

Posted May 4, 2015
Cons: bring back the cooked to order breakfast. It was very good. Packaged pastries were uninviting.
I had requested a king bed for my 6'6" husband, but when we arrived, they didn't know about it, and had only a queen size. On the good side, the bed was very comfortable. On a minor side, curtains were really shabby looking and no wash clothes were provided. It is charming with lots of stained glass windows, old time feel (it IS from the 1800's) and close to numerous excellent restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Great stay. Been there before. Love the hotel. Love Benecia. Hotel has a very interesting history.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

old and just ok

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
jacuzzi tub didn't work. TV troublesome. cockroach.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Dirty and outdated

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel has not been updated in decades. I stayed in the beach primrose room which dusty, dirty and had no amenities. The bedding was dirty. The 'cintintwntal' breakfast consisted of 3 brown Bananas, one box of cereal and some coffee. The staff is only around from 3-6p. Awful. Do not waste your money here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Bad hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2015
This was a very dirty hotel. The pictures they shall of it or nothing like what you get. Not recommend this to anybody.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just Okay this time

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Furnishings make you feel like you stepped back in time.
Cons: They should put the hot breakfast back in place
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel Keep in mind that it is meant to be quaint and old. The furnishings are beautiful but the fixtures are old. In our room there was a jacuzzi tub but not enough water pressure to fill it in the time we stayed overnight. There was no way to turn on the shower head so no shower. The room offered coffee but they only left on Styrofoam cup and there was two of us and only one packet of coffee. We are early risers and the coffee down stairs was not available either. As a matter of fact there is no hotel staff on the premisses until after 8 a.m. I would not recommend this to a business traveler or on a weekday to anyone. Most businesses are closed in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I thought we were staying at a bed & breakfast?

Posted Feb 2, 2015
No breakfast - old building with a bar on first floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by danny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Roaches

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Poor hygiene. The towels smelled, the bathroom was dirty. Never again! Nice location but not even if you paid me