Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The absence of anyone at the check in desk at virtually any time during the stay was a bit disconcerting. The rates were high for the quality of the facility and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Terrance

Dirty and old in an uncharming way

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our room was dirty - lots of hairs in the shower and bathroom that didn't belong to us. NO HOT WATER so we couldn't even take showers. No functioning light switch in the shower and a 12" TV circa 1995.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bob & Lonie

Historic site conceniently on the main route

Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the historical ambience of the hotel. Also appreciate that it was pet friendly. Believe they are renovating, but with only one electrical plug in the room/bath, I was afraid to use my hair dryer. Park across the street was not pet friendly. Maybe a dispenser for bags with a sign saying please pick up after your dog would be better than "No dogs allowed."
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Avi

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good hotel, the 9 is not an easy drive, but the food was good and it was clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave M

Unique experience

Posted Jan 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great old hotel with a lot of character! It is an old hotel and we stayed during winter - it was cold, the rooms were large but different from what's expected after Best Westerns and Holiday Inns and the floors creaked, but the beds and down comforters were great. The restaurant serves great food at a fair price.
2 out of 5
by Christianfrom Seattle, WA

Not recommended until they can improve some things

Posted Aug 22, 2012
Pros: The people, when present, were pleasant and helpful.
Cons: The rooms need an upgrade, especially the plumbing.
I have a very mixed review to share here, because in some ways the hotel was a pleasure, but in the end, I changed to another hotel because of problems I experienced. The check in was friendly and informal. The atmosphere was funky and welcoming. The food in the bar was delicious. However, the room was grubby and the furnishings tired. A sign in the bathroom advised guests to run the hot water for at least five minutes, after which there would be plenty. However, after running the shower for 15 minutes, the water was lukewarm at best. And there was insufficient pressure to have a shower. I went down to the lobby to request a repair or a room with at least enought water pressure to shower. There was no one at the front desk. A waitress from the restaurant advised me to leave a note after she could find no one to help me. After waiting for about an hour with no assistance, I left my key at the front desk and departed. Overall, until the hotel can resolve some of these issues, I cannot recommend it, despite the kindly attitude of the people I interacted with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
nice people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leilanifrom Torrance, CA, USA

Charming old beauty

Posted Jun 2, 2012
Pros: Beautiful architecture, home-y feel.
Cons: Need bathroom storage
Location: Central to a wonderful historic attraction, shops, and restaurants.
The Fairplay-Valiton was built in 1879 and is a great example of historic hotels in the West. The character of the old beauty -squeaky wooden floors, dark wood paneling, and period architectural features - was a treat. It is also officially haunted! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms clean. It's situated in the central part of town, so you can walk to South Park City (a restored 1880s town), numerous shops and restaurants. The hotel itself has a very good restaurant. There were things that I think should have been addressed: duct tape to hold a towel in the front door so it doesn't bang when closed, used soap left in our bathroom, mineral deposits on faucet/shower head, and mismatched towels. Kinda like being at home, but not what you expect in a hotel! None of these issues marred our stay, and we'd recommend it to those who appreciate the often quirky charms of old hotels.