Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Wall paper thin in our room. Maintenance manager's office was next door and his business was our constant business...all day and evening long. His condescending treatment of the staff was embarrassing and all the hotel squabbles seemed to be filtered through his office. We heard them all including the manager requesting the employee's phone to check activity. Probably within his rights. Did not get maid service after first night. We called to get some items and were told they would be up in less than five minutes.........we waited....nothing, then I stopped at the desk at 8:30 pm after dinner. They said the items would be sent up......nothing. Breakfast Buffet was a mess. There was a manager speaking loudly to a staff member while we were trying to eat. Our server obviously distracted by it all as she started conversing with the hostess about the problem. I was told an omelette could be made for me, but she never came to take the order and I ate scrambled (overlooked, hard, and crusty) from the buffet. Quite the opposite experience from the server the night before. At check out we were laughed at by the front lobby personnel while carrying my own bags down to the car. We needed to go and I was not allowed to take a cart, yet I didn't want to wait for a porter after finishing packing. She wanted to follow me back to the room, but we were not ready for any help yet. Very humiliating to be chuckled at behind my back upon leaving as if I was crazy. Buy more carts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester NY

Great retreat

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The room, view, and music during dinner with Gap wonderful
Cons: Just replace the powder creamers with individual Half and Half creamers for the coffee in the rooms for sure. everythings elase was a wonderful retre
Location: Casa Large nice stop on way
Only main problem was our Kurig coffee maker was not working right but they did send someone up to help get it going for my morning coffee and they only had aweful powder crremer. With the individual half and half they havenow that does not spoil or need refrigeration I would suggest using them and not the bad for you powder creamer. IO had to o down andget some half and hal from the kitchen once I got my coffee maker to work The Duck dinner was very bad and tough.For that price we were very disappointed but did not want to complain. I had the Lamb which was excellent and no complaints on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
This was a very nice hotel, convenient and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buffalo

Close but far to have a overnight getaway.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
I live in Buffalo and it was nice to have a overnight getaway just 1.5 hours away. Close but far. Very nice hotel stay. Will come again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Attended my daughters wedding.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: The room and the bar. Very nice sized room. Great bed. The bar and restaurant staff were very accommodating.
Cons: The elliptical machines in the gym, I tried all of the machines and headphones would not work in any of them. Yours did not work either.
Location: I like the fact that it away from downtown. Great easy access to the mall.
I have stayed in this hotel several years ago and went there this April 2015 while attending my daughters wedding. The place has been fully renovated. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. Hotel staff was great. Very nice property. I utilized the spa and it was very nice convenient due to the on premise location. I will not stay anywhere else when I am in the Rochester area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Southern Maine

Clean and quiet.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Quiet and clean.
While I was researching decent places to stay around the Rochester NY area, I came across the Woodcliff. I had a concern because some of the reviews from a couple years ago were not good. I did however come across lots of more recent reviews that were very good and decided to give it a try. If the room is not up to my expectations and the environment is loud, I would be the first to complain. This was probably the quietest hotel I have ever stayed at and will definitely return if I am in the area again. Well worth it....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great view for dinner

Posted Apr 14, 2015
The view - 25 mile vista through full windows. The dinner - A beautifully prepared and presented meal. The entertainment - Gap Mangione and wine a sommelier could appreciate. The effect - A perfect buzz.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel near my son's lacrosse game

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Took a chance on a mystery deal and it was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An unexpected surprise!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Updated, clean, convenient.
Quick overnight on way home to Chicago. Lovely hotel, very very nice staff. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 6, 2015
This is the second year in a row that my family has spent the Easter weekend at the Woodcliff. Everything about the hotel is enjoyable, including watching the deer. A great place to escape for a few days. Close to shopping and restaurants.