Ratings based on 1,421 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Beautiful paradise!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Family activities and beautiful surroundings
Cons: The food was pretty poor. Some of the employees weren't very helpful (check in and parking)
Location: The hotel was easy to get to from the airport. We enjoyed the rainforest near by.
We just returned from a week at El Conquistador. We took our 7 year old grandson with us. Our room was upgraded to an ocean view and we really enjoyed sitting on the balcony. Our room was spacious as was the bathroom and large closet. The beds were comfortable. We were glad that there were convenience stores on the property to buy snacks and drinks as well as a variety of restaurants. We ate at the casual restaurants and found the food to be very mediocre and in some cases poor. Not what you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria hotel, but then again they have no competition. We loved the private island, like paradise there! Our grandson enjoyed playing all the games they have there, bocce, putting green, ping pong, horseshoes. He also enjoyed the water park which we went to twice at 4:00 to get the reduced rate and had plenty of time to hit all the slides and lazy river. Over all we had a fantastic time and hope to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good overall

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Gorgeous property with amazing views( las brisas rooms!) Very difficult to reach concierge. When reached, they were not very helpful. Restaurants were nice but very pricey. Water park was fun but extra cost for only 3 slides and 1 kiddie slide: this should really be included in the cost of the stay especially given hefty daily resort charges. Palomino Island was fantastic! Funicular and ferry rides were a lot of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet place and very relaxing

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The views around the hotel and the quiet enviroment.
Cons: The y could make everythng more simple. For example you need to validate the parking ticket everytime you are gong to go out of the hotel.
Location: Good
We stayed two days and we had a pleasure stay. Friendly Staff and excelente facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Views And Beautifu Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Quiet Luxury On GroundS That Are Gorgeous. Staff And RestaurantS Are 5 Star. PoolS And Activities For Everyone. Highly Recommend Going To The Private Island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Overall, an amazin experience that everyone should have. Beautiful views, excellent staff, happpy environment, and a perfect getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Our Second Trip.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: the resort itself is beautiful and Palimino Island is so much fun for the whole family.
Cons: the retail store staff is surly and rude, and always close earlier that the posted times.
Location: Old San Juan, Bio Bay, and the Yunque rainforest are amazing must see adventures. El Morro the fort in Old San Juan was amazing, they fire the Cannons
We love the El Conquistador. we traveled on this trip for spring break with two other families. Our rooms on this trip were right down in the Marina with these great porches right near the Ballyhoo Grill. perfect spot for us to sit out and have a drink and the kids to run and play. Please do be aware that Puerto Rico has a different way of doing things than here on the main land. Dinner will take longer. Also, be very aware of the time any of the retail stores in the resort close, as they typically will close early. a 9pm closing time will mean 8:45 for sure. rent a car and do Old San Juan on your own time, driving in PR is a real treat. Book your trip to the Bio Bay through the Concierge. they will help you - do NOT book a kayak to Bio Bay! they put hundreds of Kayaks in the water every night through the mangroves. in the dark.. for a mile. book with one of the two companies that ave motor boats. Baby Bay is one - we were told 6 to a boat… then 8…. and saw as many as 10. be very clear how many seats you want, they WILL over book and they WILL get every penny they can from you. these companies are not affiliated with the resort. But, its an amazing thing to witness and you really must do it!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Great hotel and the private island was excellent

Posted Mar 21, 2015
The hotel was great. The food was a little on the pricey side but it was very good. The only complaint I have is that there were multiple conventions going on and every night the pools were closed for a party. They even closed the main swimming part of the island on the last day to allow a private party.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poughkeepsie, NY

One of the All Time Greats

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The location and the private beach are great
Cons: Have some kind of night time place to go. A dance club, a casino, a bar outside by the fire pit. Something to add some night festivity
The El Conquistador is one of the great resorts. Even though she is showing some age, the staff and the location more than make up for her age. With their own island beach good restaurants, she is a great place to stay. If there is one criticism, the hotel should have a little more nightlife other then a DJ and pool tables
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom South Jersey

Five night stay at El Conquistador

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Breathtaking views. The beautiful private island.
Cons: Normal maintenance on hotel, light fixtures had tons of bugs in them, lots of chipped paint, and rust.
Location: Make sure to leave hotel for dinner, Kasivata restaurant within walking distance.
This is our fourth time visiting this resort. We started off on a rocky start. We got to the resort at 1 pm, and was told our room wasn't ready, there is a 4 pm check in. The front desk the first time didn't seem very friendly. We were told that they would call us when the room became available. When we went down to the room at the mid level, don't remember the names, that is where the problem started. We opted for a garden view room when we booked, and once I looked at the room I was extremely unhappy, the garden view was a roof top view. Back up to the reception area I went. I am not sure what was happening that day, but there was a line, and everyone just walked right up to the desk, butting in line. After a half hour wait we finally got to a front desk person that saved the vacation for us. Her name was Ivanne. I explained to her the situation, and this was our fourth visit. She found another room located in a nicer section of the hotel, with an ocean view. But still the wait was until after 430 pm that we got into the room. The room was beautiful, but the resort's age is starting to show. The view was breathtaking from our balcony. The food prices have gone up since we stayed last in the past two years. I feel that $6 for a virgin pina cola is a little steep. Not sure if I would come back. Love this island, but the vacation started very stressful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
This hotel is beautiful, with lots of amenities and wonderful scenery. It has everything that you could need on the property...except the beach! We felt that the pictures and hotel description were deceiving. In order to get to the beach, you have to take an elevator, walk down a long path, ride down a gondola, and then to catch a 10 minute ferry ride to the beach (that runs every 30 minutes). It's beautiful once you get there, but quite the undertaking if you have small children or want to run back to your room for anything(you need to allow at least 30 minutes each wait way), as you have to wait in line for the elevator, the gondola, and the ferry. We had a wonderful dinner at the Stingray Cafe! Loved the service and the waitstaff. Our room view was spectacular, but tainted when we went to use the pull out sofa and found it hadn't been clean under for sometime. There was dirt, dust, a gatorade lid, an earring, pieces of paper...ick! Overall it was nice, just not everything that we expected for the price we paid.