Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Friendly staff, quiet location,

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Was treated well. The staff were polite and helpful, and made us feel welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara from Winnipeg, MB

An unexpected surprise

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The staff and owner, Mrs. Gupta, were awesome. The breakfast was pretty basic, but with McDonalds right in the same parking lot, not really needed
Location: We were 5 minutes away from all Fargo shopping (13th Ave) and there were tons of families in the hotel. the pool area is simple, but clean
Booked Howard Johnson via Expedia. Looking for a clean hotel. Pulled up to hotel and was worried about area, but once inside full of families. The room was really clean. The furniture and fixtures were older and some upgrades were needed, but the room was spotless. The staff were so helpful and informative. True to the add, we were literally 5 minutes away from all of Fargo shopping!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Wish it was closer to University!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
We would stay there again. Very nice room. Quiet. Breakfast could be a little better though. Should be until 10:00 a.m.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ND

Good value small pool

Posted May 26, 2014
The pool seemed a bit run down. The hot tub was n need of fresh water.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far away from everything -

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Overall appearance was very dark and dirty
Location: Not much to do - McDonalds was the only eating place in walking distance
- rooms were ok - were there for 2 nites - next day came back fr shopping & couldn't get in back door or our room - owner thought we were only there for one nite so we did not have access - chlorine was very strong - morning coffee was very old (we guessed from the previous nite) - towels were dingy and spotty all over -
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok nothing to brag about

Posted Apr 6, 2014
A group of 6 went down and we reserved 2 rooms, one room the bathroom reeked of cigarette smoke and it got worse when someone took a shower. The rooms seemed not to get a though cleaning as we found empty water bottles under the bed that were not from our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by skooter from wpg mb

Nice and comfortable

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Cons: Maintain hot tube.
The room was comfortable and clean, the hot tube needs attention too much foaming. the breakfast was weak.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joy from Winnipeg MB Canada

Howard Johnston Hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Rooms were clean and quiet. The pool area was clean and enjoyable.+
Location: Location was 5 mins from the airport and about 5 minutes to West Acres Mall
The hotel was conveniently located close to the Hector International Airport and West Acres Mall. It was clean, quiet and had a nice pool and hot tub which we enjoyed. There was a continental breakfast and the service was courteous and friendly. No complaints, would book again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not as nonsmoking as advertised...

Posted Feb 22, 2014
We had stayed once before and not noticed this problem, but this visit we were placed in a room that was obviously a smoking room before the motel was converted to a nonsmoking property- not a pleasant smell. Plus the room was not cleaned very well- dusty carpets in corners, coffee drips- stains in the bathroom on the textured walls, worn fabric on the recliner, really old papers- brochures from 2013. Quite a subpar room even taking into account the lower price paid- parking lot quite icy and treacherous, and a very minimal breakfast selection- wadflesu,toast,English muffin,egg patties, packaged chocolate doughnettes, 2 cereals, coffee, 2 juices- no fruit or yogurt or hot water for the tea bags offered. We originally liked the property because it was nonsmoking and pet friendly- but the extra 15 dollar per night charge plus being placed in a room that had been smoked in is a deal killer- we will try never to come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Captain from MN

You get what you pay for

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Low price!
Cons: Food
Location: Close to West Fargo shopping.
Ok for the money. Hot tub water looked bad, no elevator, breakfast was poor. But it was cheap and room was ok.