Ratings based on 870 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo nd

Convenient to where I was going.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
The coffee was terrible! Tried the tea wasn't any better so it must be the water. At least the towels didn't feel like I was getting licked by a cat. They were ok. It was quiet we slept well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting Room

Posted Jul 29, 2015
The hotel is disgusting. I knew by the price of the hotel that it wouldn't be a nice place but this was nasty. On first glance the hotel is run down. All the window screens are ripped, the halls are dark and grungy and the whole place gives you the shivers! Our room stunk so bad and the carpets were soaking wet so we asked to switch rooms. The staff said it was because they just cleaned the carpets and it was the chemical they sprayed. The chemical spray was so powerful that I was worried for my baby son's health! The room they moved us to was equally as bad. The bathrooms are as tiny as a trailer bathroom and the sheets were dirty. The breakfast was just carbs, donuts and waffles. I do not recommend this place, not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback, it is very important to us. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I would love to address problems you are listing but I am unable to find your stay in our system and track exact problem because you have chose not to disclose your name on this feedback. We always accommodate our guests by offering all possible solutions to satisfy their stay and I apologize that you were not satisfied with solution we provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st.paul mn

Nice comfortable place to stay

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Stay was good. Breakfast was very nice. There was a smell in room when I first walked in but it did not seem bad after I was there for a while- maybe a cleaner that had been used? Other than that, the only thing I would have liked would have been a coffee pot in the room. Overall my stay was pleasant and I would come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and providing your valuable feedback. We have 24-hour coffee in the lobby but we will definitely consider your suggestion of having in-room coffee. We are glad to know that you were happy with overall experience and we would certainly like to see you back again. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ND

Not bad for a quick night of rest.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The beds were newer.
Cons: Hair dryers in the rooms. Healthier breakfast options.
Rooms are small, but the mattress was soft and cozy. The breakfast is not for the health conscious but would fill you up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We are constantly making improvements and we will consider your feedback on breakfast. We are glad to know that you were able to have comfortable stay, we hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Nice breakfast. Guest laundry was good. Didn't like the June bugs, otherwise it was an nice place the rest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time in giving us feedback. We are happy to know that you liked our facility and enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Pretty good for the price

Posted Jul 13, 2015
We paid $80 for the night, the place was pretty much dead. Pretty clean room, A/C was extremely loud, but extremely cold. Continental breakfast was horrible, wouldn't even bother going to it, and it's located in the scuzzy bar area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time in leaving feedback. We are glad that you liked our facility. We are constantly working on making improvements and we welcome your suggestions. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls,SD

Red River Lodge

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: mostly all carbs were presented for breakfast: bagels, toast, donuts, cereal, waffles. no eggs yogurt or fresh fruit, need bigger cups for juice
Location: was nice location, close to mall
I know this is an old hotel and they are really trying to update it, bedding was fine, etc, newer TV's, bathroom is extremely small, you can barely shut the door, shower curtain smelled of body odor and toilet seat slid. Breakfast area was also a lounge at night, thought that was a little odd
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank for you taking time in giving us detailed feedback. We are older facility and certainly try our best to keep it clean and comfortable. We do wash shower curtains regularly and will look in to room you stayed in to see what was the problem. We have a lounge onsite and to provide benefit of free breakfast, we use that area and convert it in the morning to serve breakfast. Thanks again for your feedback and business, we hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to mall

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Super nice staff, easy to find right off I29 Close to mall, good food is all around the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time in providing feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our facility and liked our service. We hope to see you again, thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Room Cleaniness

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: The convenience of the handicap accessibility and the parking. The staff was friendly.
Cons: See above comments in the "your experience" section.
Location: We are familiar with Fargo, North Dakota so it was easy for us to find what we wanted. The location was fine.
The room was clean, however, my husband got athletes foot from using the shower. I didn't use the shower so I didn't get it. Also, there was no coffee in the room and the morning coffee in the lobby was horrible and too strong. We couldn't drink it. We had to keep unplugging the TV in order to get the cable to work. One other thing, they need to either turn the mattress or flip the mattress once in a while.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time in providing feedback. I have looked in to all issues you had will try addressing here best I can. I am unable to address shower issue you had as all showers are cleaned every time room is used and cause for athlete could be something else other than our hotel as we have never had single complaint of that till day. Coffee in the lobby comes from machine that makes instant coffee as per predefined ratio of water and concentrate and it is consistent every time it is made. It is possible coffee was not refilled or was almost out and had concentrated mix left at the bottom. We will make sure to monitor is closely so it does not happen again. Cable TV is technical issue with our cable provider and it does happen intermittently and it is out of our control but we do apologize for inconvenience. I hope this brings closer on issues you had, thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dickinson, ND

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Very close to interstate. Easy to find.
Cons: You could easily walk to a large mall (maybe 2--3 blocks) theatre across the street, eating establishment right next door (McD)
We arrived at our hotel approximately 12:30am and there were several "characters" hanging out around it. It needs updated badly. Brand new toilet but FILTHY DIRTY pipes connected to it. Carpet was stained and the beds are not good. Because we are coming to Fargo again in 2 weeks we canceled our booking with this same hotel....we will pay more $$$ to have cleaner, newer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time in leaving feedback. I am sorry to hear about your check-in experience, I am looking in to it and will correct whatever needs to be corrected. As for other items, I have looked in to it and did not find anything wrong but will check it again and see if there is a need for improvement in any of those items. I also regret to see you cancelling your next reservation but if you can give us a chance again, I will assure you that it will not be same experience. Thanks you.