Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Poor hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The carpet was dirty, no change of linens cause we were staying more than 2 nights had to ask for fresh towels WIFI was not reliable, and noisy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

This is a motel not a hotel it's very small

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Front desk was very dirty I understood I made a bad booking right away. Only 2 people working there, no breakfast area, and very dirty pillowcases. I was terrified because I traveled with my husband and my 18 month old. Never going there again for sure, find some nice better more expensive places to stay over the night. Good luck
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Passaic County

Good for Only 1 Nighters.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Large refrigerator, hot shower, fairly good water pressure, good cable/television channels
Cons: Housecleaning started during stays, coffeemakers in rooms, continental breakfast of some sort, better scan key protection for rooms,
Location: Close to outlets/flea market for shopping, not far ride to shore, close to good number of convenient stores (wawa/7-eleven/quick checks)
Very "reasonable" rates. Room was good size for 2 adults & 2 young adults. Did not have fitted sheets, only flat. Air conditioner worked well for room size. Large refrigerator "hidden" within large 4-drawer dresser/TV cabinet. No coffee makers in room. No continental breakfast available. No laundry services on premises. Towels/bathroom supplies were limited. Daily garbage removal/housekeeping/"bed making" or bathroom "tidying" services are not performed during your stay. Lobby was small. Phone used to call desk attendant to come to front from back room. Good only for short weekend or 1 night stay/get some shut-eye and move on hotel. Large Flea Market right next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia

Good enough

Posted May 4, 2014
I needed an inexpensive hotel for one night close to the start of the NJ marathon. After reading previous reviews I was a little nervous, but Express Inn suited my needs just fine. The room was a little small, minimal room to walk between the bed and TV, but very clean. The fridge and microwave were both spotless, looked brand new and the bathroom was very clean too. Minimal toiletries, but I wouldnt expect fancy toiletries anyway. I would have liked some extra pillows and I can't stand it when the bed doesn't have a fitted sheet ( just an extra flat sheet instead). Although I couldnt hear the people next to me, the person above my came back to their room at 2 AM and I could hear every move they made.However, given all the other hotels were almost twice the price, this one suited my needs just fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Fine for what I needed

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was a little nervous upon booking this room based on the reviews, but considering I booked at the last minute in the middle of summer at the shore, it was totally adequate. Most importantly the bathroom and the sheets seemed clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Diana from South Jersey

Close to NJ Marathon

Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff were very nice. Clean & tidy rooms, even microwave was clean. Wawa close by for convenience. Other businesses were a short drive away. 20 minutes from NJ Marathon at Monmouth Park!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braintree, MA

Expected better..

Posted Oct 11, 2011
Perhaps our expectations were too high based on other reviews we read, but it was pretty nasty. Funky odor in the room, room was tiny, hotel is not in great shape, locking chain on door was broken, etc. Even my 8 year old commented it was pretty bad. For what we paid, I expect better. I've paid far less at a La Quinta and had a much better experience. I would only stay if it's a last resort. The breakfast is a joke, freezerburned bagels, and 2 gallon's of milk. Only plus, flea market next door is fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Econolodge isn't bad

Posted Oct 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
It's cheap,. The staff is efficient and curteous. The room and grounds are clean. The hotel is somewhat aged, however. Lastly, as the name implies, it is no frills.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2011 on Hotels.com