Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David Shone from Manchester

Great country inn with amazing food!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I felt I just had to review this place, as I travel around the country all the time, and loved the place. This was the second time staying here, and yes, as in other reviews the rooms are not very modern, but are clean and comfortable. But the welcome, the service, and the especially the food, are second to none. I can't wait to stay in the Canterbury area again sometime, just so I can return. 5/5 from me, a very happy traveller!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by lilliput from hastings

mattress ruined the stay

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would have given a higher rating had it not been for the apalling state of our mattress. We booked a superior double for £80 and the room was fine apart from radiators in both the room and the bathroom on maximum for the entire stay which would not seem to turn off no matter what we did with the heat screw on the side. The mattress was, especially on my side, so old and broken that I genuinely didnt sleep a wink. I did mention it to the lady who looked after us and she seemed suprised. I suggested she try and lay down on it to see for herself. I didn't wait to find out. I was grumpy and tired as we left the place. A nice pub/restaurant downstairs and they made us a bowl of chips each, even though the kitchen had shut, for which we were grateful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gemma from Hull

Excellent

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Most amazing food I have ever eaten. Friendly service. Very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sarah from Atlanta, GA USA

Loved the history of this inn.

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed staying here very much. The room (ands doorways) were tiny, but this was part of the historic charm. The pub was a comfortable place for meals, the food was good, service was pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jane E from Essex

Basic and clean, food good.

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very reasonable priced but you get what you pay for and our room was very small although clean and had plenty of storage space. This is a very old building and getting it to modern standards would probably be impossible. The furnishings although functional and clean were very old and worn. The bed creaked really badly and the noise from adjoining rooms was very obvious, particularly the water system and overhead foot fall. The window was screwed shut so we were unable to get any fresh air. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and two evening meals, all were good and waiting staff very pleasant. The location was good for our needs.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Hotel Guy from London

Bed without breakfast

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
As this was really a bed and breakfast place, we were very surprised to be told when we checked in that we'd have to pay extra for breakfast. We chose to decline this option. Otherwise the bed creaked a lot and was disturbing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very friendly & great service

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Full of character, great service and great price. Evening food was excellent with great choice and value and breakfast set me up for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

our stay

Posted Sep 22, 2013
It was a pleasure to stay there the food was brilliant and for that quality the prices in our opinion were very reasonable we have paid a lot more in restaurants in our area for a meal that was nothing like as good as we ate in the white horse. hotel. We would recommend this hotel as great value for any one to use Thanks Dorothy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Hampshire

Real Old World Charm

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: The old world charm of the building, and village in general
Cons: Our room (5) could do with a full make over, with a modern bathroom. The massive wardrobe over powered the room and made it difficult pass.
Location: Canterbury, Faversham, Whistable, Herne Bay all near by. Plus a good place to stop if enroute to the Continent.
Charming hotel in a quiet village, near to the M2 and Canterbury. Dissapointed to find the room dusty (mirror, table, drawers) and a loose toilet seat. The general impression is of a tired room in need of fresh paint and modern bathroom equipment. Breakfast (full English) although adequate was over half an hour coming and greasy, staff were polite. I also found the wifi poor and very slow, not critical for me but for some travellers this might be a big issue
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com