Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sarah from Atlanta, GA USA

Loved the history of this inn.

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed staying here very much. The room (ands doorways) were tiny, but this was part of the historic charm. The pub was a comfortable place for meals, the food was good, service was pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jane E from Essex

Basic and clean, food good.

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very reasonable priced but you get what you pay for and our room was very small although clean and had plenty of storage space. This is a very old building and getting it to modern standards would probably be impossible. The furnishings although functional and clean were very old and worn. The bed creaked really badly and the noise from adjoining rooms was very obvious, particularly the water system and overhead foot fall. The window was screwed shut so we were unable to get any fresh air. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and two evening meals, all were good and waiting staff very pleasant. The location was good for our needs.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Hotel Guy from London

Bed without breakfast

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
As this was really a bed and breakfast place, we were very surprised to be told when we checked in that we'd have to pay extra for breakfast. We chose to decline this option. Otherwise the bed creaked a lot and was disturbing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very friendly & great service

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Full of character, great service and great price. Evening food was excellent with great choice and value and breakfast set me up for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

our stay

Posted Sep 22, 2013
It was a pleasure to stay there the food was brilliant and for that quality the prices in our opinion were very reasonable we have paid a lot more in restaurants in our area for a meal that was nothing like as good as we ate in the white horse. hotel. We would recommend this hotel as great value for any one to use Thanks Dorothy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Hampshire

Real Old World Charm

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: The old world charm of the building, and village in general
Cons: Our room (5) could do with a full make over, with a modern bathroom. The massive wardrobe over powered the room and made it difficult pass.
Location: Canterbury, Faversham, Whistable, Herne Bay all near by. Plus a good place to stop if enroute to the Continent.
Charming hotel in a quiet village, near to the M2 and Canterbury. Dissapointed to find the room dusty (mirror, table, drawers) and a loose toilet seat. The general impression is of a tired room in need of fresh paint and modern bathroom equipment. Breakfast (full English) although adequate was over half an hour coming and greasy, staff were polite. I also found the wifi poor and very slow, not critical for me but for some travellers this might be a big issue
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Easy to find, good night's sleep

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable room. However, found connecting door to next room unlocked, but staff quickly locked it when I pointed this out. Very clean. Would have preferred shower fixed to wall rather than hand held, but water flow strong and temperature good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast! Ample parking. Perfect stop-over for long journey. Will definitely book again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great room lovely food

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice welcome although we were early, lovely food from local suppliers on a varied menu, would stay again.