Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

what a beautiful place !!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful, romantic chateau/hotel. Food was superb - by all means, the best beef we ever had, anywhere !. Staff was most friendly and could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant. We truly cherished our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cookley,wocestershire

Romantic break

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Food excellant,location perfect,staff friendly and professionnel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Curtis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by flavie from bruxelles

site exceptionnel

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
tres beau chateau (hotel) et ruines adjacentes surprenantes ; cadre splendide ; dommage que le spa (accessible gratuitement pour tous les clients) ne soit pas mieux mis en avant sur le site (nous pensions qu'il etait reservé aux soins) ; bl interieur classique (deco) et moderne (concept salle de bain ouverte)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marie-Alix from London

A romantic dream

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
An amazing hotel in an amazing location. Imagine you are in the Middle of the Champagne region in France, you are in a Chateau, in a room like you have seen on magazines, with nice colours scheme, thick carpet, comfy beds, trendy integrated bathroom with all the goodies. You open the heavy curtains, and in front of you is a vast country landscape with the most romantic ruins on the side of the park. Now, open your eyes, get the fluffy bathrobe and go to the sauna to have a massage... If you don't find me there, it means I am at the restaurant savouring some delicacy prepared by the chef. No, I am not related to any member of the staff and I don't have any shares in the business. I wish...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Gorgeous, unique, utterly charming, & a bit stinky

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel is a unique experience. Rooms are in an old château built next to the crumbling remains of an even older château. We arrived at sunset while peach-colored rabbits nibbled on the lawn. A very charming gentleman who spoke perfect English showed us our room, a huge junior suite with a view of the ruins. We dined in the hotel restaurant, a lovely room with a view of the countryside. Sunset that night, at about 9:30, was a spectacular sight. Dinner was not so spectacular, though. The hotel permits children in the dining room, and unfortunately, one group included a screaming infant and two ambulatory children whose parents let them leave their seats and run between the tables. We were shocked not only by the rude parents, but that the hotel allowed this behavior, since the restaurant takes itself very seriously and is rather pricey. But, after dinner, we walked through the ruins by moonlight, and that made up for the obnoxious children. The hotel staff is lovely and accommodating. They met our every requirement cheerfully, exceeding our expectations. When we asked for help to rectify a problem with a Reims restaurant bill, the handsome young man at the front desk took over and took care of it. The stinky - there is a faint scent throughout the hotel of faulty plumbing. It is an ancient building and it doesn't have modern pipes. If plumbing is what you want, stay at a hotel in the airport. But if you're looking for a uniquely charming experience, come here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nick from Switzerland

A special treat

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Everything was so impressive, but the restaurant was stunning.
Cons: Nothing
Location: A bit isolated, but good transport links.
This was booked as a stopover on a long journey, and it was a real treat. The setting is stunning and the whole experience was so memorable from the adjacent ruins to the exceptional standard of food in the restaurant. We will certainly be back as this is a real find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from California

Luxurious, well-appointed, comfortable rooms

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Old world charm, very nice restaurant, restful atmosphere
Cons: There was a faint odor of sewage near reception entrance
Location: In a in forest setting outside of small village of Tardenois. Chateau-Theirry and Rheims 20-40 mins. Dramatic WW I battle sites nearby
Stayed one night only. Visited nearby American cemetery, Enjoyed short hikes and beauty of landscape.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lauren from Copenhagen

Romantic getaway

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Restaurant, view of ruins, junior suite very nice
Cons: Spa was not completed
Location: Quite far from other towns, Champagne attractions
Unfortunately the spa was not completed, despite being advertised on the website. We received a EUR 50 discount when we complained. The spa looked great though! Lucky guests who will enjoy it when it's finished. Beautiful gardens and view of the ruins. Lovely to sit outside and enjoy a drink in the sun on the couches. Great restaurant! Best food of our trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LB from London, UK

Wonderful chateau

Posted Apr 17, 2012
Pros: Room (upgraded to suite), grounds (especially the castle ruins),
Cons: Service was professional but a little slow,
Location: Need a car, lovely woodlands nearby, pretty remote
Wonderful building, upgraded to suite - fantastic. Castle ruins in the grounds are amazing. Pool was empty, but would be great to sit around in the summer. Bar is very small, but dining rooms are lovely. Waiting Staff were professional although a little slow. Food was good but expensive/limited menu to dine every night in the restaurant (and only alternative unless you leave hotel). A wonderful experience for a special occasion or a good deal.