Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
When advertising it should state sat night is very noisy singing very loud till late
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Room ok with a nice view over the garden . Hotel in need of refurbishment ! Good breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Would avoid this place. Nice staff the only plus. Told about it being haunted on arrival. Food dreadful !!! Room very dated. Waited for breakfast. No one appeared, so had a glass of milk why I waited, which was sour. In the end I left without breakfast. Going by the state of my vegetables at dinner it would have been bad anyway.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

idid not stay

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
When I arrived I was told my stay had been cancelled as they had a plumbing problem and that hotels.com had been advised. I am waiting for a refund
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Clemo from Lincs

Not good at all

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels
Bad bad bad badddddddddddddddddddd
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brenda from Ely Cambs

lovely place

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed at the manor house while visiting family in Newton Aycliffe and it was lovely. the hotel has character and charm. Another thing that impressed my partner was the price of the beer at the bar, lots cheaper than back at home. We will definitely be staying at the manor house next time we go visiting.
3 out of 5
by Jo from UK

Forget about sleeping till 1am

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: If you don't need to sleep the full night - value.
Cons: Attention to cleanliness in a big way and a bit of time spent screwing in the loose fittings (headboard off the wall).
Location: Don't know but it looked peaceful once the pub locals went home.
True to reviews our room was directly above the function room and sleeping was out of the question before 1am, then it became peacefully silent. Sheets were clean but the room desperately needed a vacuum clean not to mention dusting. Too hot to sleep as couldn't find the central heating controls, in fairness should have asked at midnight, when we returned to the room. Stupidly didn't ask what was available for breakfast so had toast (no information was offered) and later witnessed others having a gorgeous full english, which look really good! Didn't pay a fortune so can't expect a great deal but I think I will give it a miss next time. If you read the reviews and same comments are being repeated, take note. Sadly no ghosts as someone mentioned :)!
2 out of 5
by sheabeeds from usa

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Food was pretty good We had soup the first night and the breakfast was good both days
Cons: Fresh towels could be supplied
It was very loud difficult to go to sleep with the music being so loud The second night was quite but the first night was terrible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Pensacola Beach, FL

Classic local hotel and pub near Durham

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Great food, friendly people, lots of locals, great garden, good value
Cons: Cleaning the bathrooms a bit better
Location: Short drive to Durham Castle and Catherdral.
Arrived late on a Saturday and was taken to the top room in the hotel - good size, room was clean, bathroom was a bit mildewy. Saturday (and Thursday) are steak nights - 2 steak dinners and a bottle of acceptable wine for what I have paid for wine elsewhere. A great bargain, especially as the food was great - perfectly cooked. Definitely a popular locals place, both for football in the bar and for food. Parts of the hotel date to the 1500's, it has also been a surgery and an orphanage. For those of you into ghosts, it has appearred in Britian's Most Haunted and the staff have some interesting tales to tell. Breakfast was a bit up and down depending on who was in the kitchen. We also had a massive Sunday roast meal there that was very good. Liked it enough to re-book on our way back to York.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephanie from Lancashire

Desperately needs renovation

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
Room was basically clean but the bathroom was mouldy; tap fell off the bath; holes in plaster by the loo roll. Loud kareoke went on until 11.30pm - not great with a family and early start the next day. Stairwell smelt of smoke. Beds very comfortable. Staff friendly.