Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard P.from Bronx, NY

Not bad

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
What you will find is that Fes is a huge hill. Dar El Ghalia is on a lonely street at the bottom of this hill so you are always climbing to get anywhere. Good news- it's all downhill on the way back. Keep in ming that "Riads" are intimate hotels with an interior courtyard. A "Dar" is more similar to a mansion turned hotel. And a hotel is, well, a hotel. I prefer Riads but this is a fine Dar and, for the price, you can't beat it. You'll never find it if driving, someone took mercy on us and led us to about three blocks from the Dar so we could park and walk to the place. Not an easy walk with luggage. The owner was very nice. Make sure the women bring a cover-up.
3 out of 5
by maggifrom melbourne australia

the food

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: its architecture
Cons: staff need to know they are not doing guests a favour
Location: great location in the medina
Day 1 breakfast was good ...eggs with mixed breads and jams days 2 3 4 and 5 mixed bread and jam only no variety.. 2 evening meals were ok but small and very expensive ...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

EXCEPT STAFF TERRIBLE.

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Pros: NOTHİNG
Cons: ????
Location: LOCATION IS GOOD
POWER CUT AFTER WE ARRIVED. WHEN WE LEFT THE HOTEL STİLL POWER CUT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wrongwayfrom San Francisco, CA, USA

great service, beautiful decor

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: Staff was beyond helpful
Location: Deep in the Medina, next to the souk
Staff was extremely helpful. Food was very good. Very nice terrace overlooking the Medina,, to have a wonderful breakfast each morning. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Juanitafrom Massachusetts

Beautiful

Posted May 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Dar El Ghalia is a beautiful and charming riad very close to the walls of the Medina. While you must walk quite a distance - uphill - from the taxi drop-off, there are signs that point you in the right direction. The building itself is extremely plain and drab from the outside, but once the door is open you enter into a beautiful example of moroccan style and comfort. The staff is very accommodating and helped my daughter getting some legal documents sent back to the United States before we were even checked in. Each room is individualized and the junior suite we had was very comfortable. The only draw-back was the extremely small bathroom. There was barely enough legroom for comfort on the toilet but one adjusted as necessary! I highly recommend this riad for anyone who wants a taste of the architecture and style of Morocco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katherinefrom Santa Cruz, CA, USA

Great hotel in quiet area of Medina

Posted Mar 3, 2013
This was a nice little gem in a quiet area of the Media with very gracious and helpful hosts. The hotel was small (8 rooms) with a amazing public lobby where you can relax and have a drink. The rooms all open up to the main courtyard and were comfortable with plenty of room. The hosts were very lovely, and the there was always someone on staff that spoke very good english. There was a nice roof top terrace where you could enjoy a drink (alcohol was available) and a nice Hamman (Spa) on site (unfortunately, it was down when we were there, but looked lovely). The wifi worked great in lobby. Tips: Call before you arrive as you have to walk about a 1/2 mile to get to the hotel (no cars in the Medina). The hotel will arrange a taxi for you from the Train/Airport and have someone waiting for you at the main gate of the Medina to assist you with bags and walk you to the hotel. They are also happy to arrange other tours/services for you and the restaurant on site was very very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Williamfrom Santa Cruz, CA, USA

Fez delight

Posted Aug 30, 2012
A gem in the heart of Fez Medina -- museum quality with excellent service and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan

Authentic decor

Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great Riad, excellent service, food and superb views over old town from top terrace. Difficult to find without a local guide first time, but oK after that
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richfrom Maine

Reasonable, but peripherally located

Posted Apr 28, 2012
Pros: Good place to meet some other travelers.
Cons: The rooms are dark
Location: The location is okay, but not great. Hard to find and you need to walk about 100 meters slightly uphill to get there.
Not too difficult to find. The old city is confusing, but I was dropped off at the correct place and then had to walk about 100 meters to the riad door. I had someone directing me, so it wasn't bad, but if you are by yourself, you may never find the place. It's not centrally located, so there isn't anything nearby. The riad itself is nice. The interior is very authentic, and the roof garden is a nice place to have breakfast. It was nice enough, but it's more like 3 - 4 stars, certainly not five. The staff, though, is extremely helpful and attentive, and they have wi-fi on the first floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2012 on Hotels.com