Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

NOT YOUR AVERAGE GUEST HOUSE!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
A very pretty riad with a 'warm welcome' to match...and a lovely mint tea! Attentive staff. Friendly owners; and they have provided me with everything I need (a guide, airport shuttle, train info etc.) without a hassle. The Riad itself is within the Medina, the old town, which was perfect for me as it is the area I wanted to explore the most. It is a quiet part of the Medina. However, you do need a (cheap) taxi 🚕 ride to get to the centre. I came during Ramadan, and it was therefore quiet, so I was lucky to have been given a Junior Suite. Room was great. Breakfast on the terrace was plentiful; not fry up but rather a healthier, traditional option. Love the freshly squeezed orange juice; and you are rewarded with a beautiful view of the Medina. They're in the process of adding a spa service to the property. So no guessing where I'll be staying the next time I'm in Fès! 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Flower from Oregon, USA

Beautiful Riad with superb hospitality!

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Riad, great service, excellent food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Riad is near the Medina in Fes. We took a tour of the medina. We also did the recommended day trip to the Middle Atlas Berber region. A lovely tour
The Riad is absolutely beautiful with lovely patios and courtyards to enjoy. Staff was very hospitable, picking us up late from our train and making our stay very welcoming. Suggested tour guides were helpful. Food was the best in Morocco! This place was a wonderful place to stay. We highly recommend it.
3 out of 5
by Sheerim from Gatineau

Needs a serious facelift

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The graciousness of the owners who went out of their was to make my stay as pleasant as possible. The cook prepared delicious meals.
Cons: The owners need to recover sofa, chair and lounge chair coverings, replace curtains, and update their air-conditioning equipment.
Location: While located in the Medina, it is at the far north end and one must take taxis to get to the major sites in the Medina.
This Riad was supposed to be a 5 star establishment..... Upon arriving at the Riad with the complimentary driver, we had to wait several minutes in the alley outside the door before someone showed up to let us in. I was then invited to come into the lounge area of the Riad and was struck by the musty smell which permeated the entire space. The owners of the Riad then appeared and took me to my room which was in a second courtyeard area. I was struck by the shabbiness of the slipcovers, cushions and window treatments in the room. They were soiled and had seen better days. As well, the air-conditioner in the room made an awful noise preventing me from a good night's sleep for two nights. If only the owners would spend $ to refurbish this Riad, it would be striking and fully deserve a 5 star rating, as the furniture and artwork are outstanding and they had obviously put a lot of effort initially to make this a highly desirous Riad to stay at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graham from Lichfield, Staffordshire

Authentic Moroccan Experience

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Authentic Moroccan riad with very friendly and helpful staff
Location: Located within the Medina with its maze of ancient streets and alleyways. Hammam experience was fantastic. Trip to Meknes and Volubilis very enjoyable
A wonderful stay in a fabulous traditional Moroccan riad. Extremely friendly and helpful owners and staff, especially Younis who looked after us so well. Great breakfasts with selection of breads, fresh orange juice, coffee and omelettes. Fairly limited menu for dinner but beautifully cooked tagines. Owners arranged a guide for the Medina, a trip to a hammam and a trip to Meknes and Volubilis - all were excellent, worthwhile experiences. If you want to escape the impersonal hotel and enjoy some real Moroccan hospitality this is the perfect place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Never again

Posted Jan 6, 2014
I booked 7 double rooms and they only had 5 ready for us the other 2 rooms were in other ryad but that was not the worst part . At check-out the lady in charge of the ryad accused us that we had stolen a jylabah (dress) from a room and before we came out from the door she open every luggage from the group to check for it . This is an insult to all of us !!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CeeCee from Los Angeles, CA

Dar Arabesque: Character +

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: We liked the breakfast and dinner very much.
Cons: It would be great to have drinking water available in the rooms.
Location: The hotel overlooked the city which was nice. It was within walking distance to the Palais Jamais.
We arrived late at night. The car met us at the airport on time. The owners were awake to greet us upon our arrival. So sweet. I reserved the regular room but was happily surprise that they put us in the Royal Suite. This Riad is really a Dar and has tons of true Moroccan character. The next morning we had another surprise for breakfast. The waiter brought out two plates of bread...and then...two more...and then two more... I think we ended up with a total of 9 types of breads and crepes, fresh juice, a tanjine of eggs, coffee, tea. We ate dinner in the riad one night and had the same experience with the salads. We ordered salad for two and they brought out 8 or 9 different types of deliciously spiced salad combos. Everything was delightful along with the Fleur D'Orange water to refresh our hands after dinner. The room was nice and had a large private bathroom up a small staircase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hilary from London

Beautiful retreat from excitement of the Medina!

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Decor and character
Cons: Not having a front door key
Location: Location was a little awkward: best thing to do is to take a taxi from the Palais Jamais hotel (nearby) to the Blue Gate (main gate to the Medina).
Positives Beautiful old building, stunning room -still remember the wow-factor on first morning! Real character Breakfast and dinner on the terrace was very nice Nice pool Efficient airport pick up Pleasant staff Good food Negatives At far end of the Medina - a fair way from other restaurants and a devil to find on foot No front door key so you had to ring a bell to be let in No tea making facilities in rooms (contra to what Expedia says)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G&E from UK

Traditional Feel

Posted Aug 8, 2012
The Riad has great character; ornate open areas, terrace and plunge pool. The Junior Suit was impressive albeit the bathroom was like too hot and with no ventilation. Some minor improvements could be made including repairing the Television (only noticed as Olympics week and wanted to catch up in the evening). Location is both an advantage and disadvantage as on the edge of the Medina making it an ideal launching pad yet means that you are ‘helped’ almost a soon as you enter the street! Would recommend though! French is the second language and for many English is not spoken at all. It is possible to get by with a little spoken French yet not so sure that NO French would be much fun. Visiting during Ramadan isn’t easy unless you are similarly happy to fast during the day and August is very hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MartinB from London, UK

anglo french review of Riad Arabesque

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Pros: opulent architecture comfortable large bed lovely food refershing pool
Cons: toilet smell in bathroom
Location: within walls of magnificent medina near Bab Guisa gate
Very relaxing small hotel with beautiful architecture. Good size bedrooms some around swimming pool; lovely food on romantic terrace. Good value for money and has free airport shuttle that saves £12 each way