Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Provided all the amenities and everything else.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
We love to stay in the mountains and ski. Our time at Emerald Lake Lodge comes up to our expectations of what a ski holiday should be with good food, service, ample time to write, and skiing just outside the door of 101. Downhill skiing at Lake Louise is minutes away by car. Always enjoy our stay at this Lodge. We expect to return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Awesome place for quiet vacation and weekends.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Awesome place
Cons: All the best
Location: Lots of hiking trails
It is miracle! No noise, human-related sounds, nothing. Just nature as it is. You will be lucky as soon as you will be able to hear the most impressive sound of the universe - the sound of the silence. If you would like to find the place where nobody find you - that's it. No wi-fi, no cell phone signals. Just silence, nature and your spouse who will share with you your amazing impressions. So cute place, so friendly staff, so pretty appliances. I'll do my best to back here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Historic Hotel with poor upkeep

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Cons: Staff need to wear cleaned and pressed shirts, and avoid looking at customers with glazed eyes.
Location: The location is incredible, amazing staff at the rental store, would be an amazing location in summer or winter.
The setting is beautiful but the rooms were more like a hostels then a hotel. Broken, stained and damage furniture. Out of date and mismatched furnishings in the lobby that did not compliment the historic building. Much more like summer camp than a high priced and acclaimed hotel. Staff was sufficient but did not put forth any more than minimal effort in any area. Really glad we only stayed one night, way too expensive for the hotel amenities and general out of date disrepair.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada, ab

Beautiful place ruined by unresloved cabin issue

Posted Mar 3, 2015
We had to change our room King to a twin because there was a septic tank issue several times until it was unbearable, when I call to the front desk to finally inform them they laughed as being known about this for awhile. It makes a romantic getaway very quickly unromantic and disappointing :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Cons: tv and internet in the rooms
very nice hotel the staff was great beautiful area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little unknown,

Posted Mar 2, 2015
We celebrated our 18 year wedding anniversary in a place I had seen 5 years ago and boy was it special. From the beautiful views to the highest quality of customer care, friendly people, unreal food I could go on and on. Simply a pleasure to have visited Emerald Lake Lodge. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Great mountain setting

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The food and the staff were great
Cons: The bright light at the hot tub made it hard to see the stars.
Location: At the lodge there is snow shoeing, hiking and alpine skiing, for more Lake Louise, Banff and Golden are all within a 30 -60 minute drive.
Nice to be away from the city, and not have to deal with the hustle and bustle of tourist traps like Banff. A very comfortable setting in the wilderness of the mountains. We were surprised how few people we actually saw even though staff told us there were more than 100 guests. If you are into night clubs, this is the wrong place. It is a quiet setting in the forests of the mountains, with great rooms, an outdoor hot tub, excellent food and a pleasant, entertaining and attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, ab

Amazing place

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Awesome start to finish. Top notch. Cosy and romantic. Magical!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Relaxing quiet winter retreat

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The helpfulness of the staff and the remoteness of the hotel.
Location: Snowshoeing, Cross Country Skiing, Hiking, Canoe
This was our first stay at Emerald Lake lodge and it won't be our last. We really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and all the snowshoe trails around the lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Winter wonderland

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The ambience, the food, the staff from around the world.
Cons: sound proofing, a better mini gym / sauna / hot tub experieince
Location: perfect location for outdoor enthusiasts
A gem. If you are looking for all the modern amenities like wifi, perfect shower pressure and in-room TV's then you will be disappointed. Instead this is a perfect jetting out location for people that like the outdoors. The snow shoeing, cross country skiing and downhill ski options at nearby Lake Louise are world class. If you are noise sensitive then the rustic cabins with their less than perfect sound proofing will not be a good option. If you work out all day and enjoy real open fire places, quiet conversations, board games and a general "away from it all" experience then you will love this place. Anyone who does a couple of hours of cross country or snow shoeing then has an open fire in the main lodge or in their room with some wine / whisky will sleep for 8-10 hours solid!