Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Perfect for what we needed.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Staff were great, my friend left his wallet in the room after we checked out, she ran 400 yards after us to ensure we got it back. Breakfast was huge
Location: Perfect location
Perfect location, great price, excellent breakfast and fantastic staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Wales

Good location, requires investment.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location. Breakfast when we got it on the second morning was nice.
Cons: Decore, supervision and lighting/maintenance.
Location: Obviously golf and the university other than that I can't say as we were there for a wedding.
Stairwell smelt musty, bedroom dated and worn. Some mould stains in bathroom. The bed side lights weren't working and the only light in bedroom was a ceiling light that was very dim in fact at night I had to open the curtains and use the street lighting to read a map of the town. We stopped two nights, the first breakfast was a cold one as there was no gas in the kitchen and no management to make a decision, in fact as far as I'm aware I only ever saw bar staff or waiting on staff. It would have been nice to have been told to have our breakfast else where paid for by 1 Golf Place. I have to admit I did not try to chase down the management at the time as we had a rather hectic/busy social weekend. Second breakfast lovely. The room, bedding and towels were clean. I did not complain at the time as there didn't seem to be any management about and all feed back can now be left like this. I wouldn't stay again but for a cheap break in a beautiful part of the world you may find it worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Golf

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Location: Perfect location if you want to play golf at st andrews
Good location to stay for 1 or 2 nights. Breakfast is very good.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

1 Golf Place - it's a bar

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff ignored us on arrival. Hotel seemed more like a bar than somewhere comfortale to stay. Breakfast wasn't available till 9am on the Sunday as the chefs didn't arrive till then - useless in my opinion ONly good point was really central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ianfrom Richmond

Overnight

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was only there from 11pm until 8am but it was what I needed and the breakfast was great. I was surprised at how expensive it was out of season but there must still be high demand. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Woodyfrom Yorkshire

Perfect location for visiting St Andrews.

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for two nights and not only was the location of the hotel perfect for the visit but everyone we met at the hotel were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help us. From the people who checked us in, the chef who cooked breakfast to the people working behind the bar, they were all amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Gazparovfrom NZ

Great location, great view

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Though upstairs from a pub & despite it being jazz night, we both slept very well in a comfy bed &, somewhat basic, but all we needed room. We had a great view down the street towards the golf course, sea & coast which we loved. Checking in at the bar of the pub was a bit different but the service & friendliness was great - as were all our contacts with the staff. I guess I thought it was a bit pricey for the pub-like accommodation but the location, a short stroll to both the town, golf course, abbey etc. made it worthwhile. Our bed was comfy & the bathroom was clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Scottish borders

Last minute booking

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The evening meal was good and the breakfast was as well. The girls behind the bar were very helpful.
Cons: Painting and a good cleaning
Location: Perfectly situated for a night out in St Andrews
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant . I ate here too and the food was good and not expensive. The hotel itself however is in need of a fresh coat of paint and a good cleaning, it was a last minute booking for a night out in St Andrews with friends and served its purpose but I wouldn't choose it again unless it had an overhaul !!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Northamptonshire

This is a pub with rooms, not a hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Cleanliness and decoration
Location: Good central St Andrews location, suitable both for golf and sightseeing.
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are up 2 or 3 steep flights of stairs, on grubby carpets and walls which need both repair and decoration. Bales of dirty laundry permanently on the landing. Room was adequate but neither phone nor even a clock; one of the lights in the room could only be switched on or off from the landing. No parking, but free car park spaces nearby if you are lucky enough to find one. Breakfast was reasonable Scottish standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel above a pub; close to Old Course.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
This is a good place to rest after playing golf. Good hot breakfast included with room, an friendly staff as well. No parking available, but it is easy to walk to shops, restaurants, and golf courses.