Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vermont

amazing view from hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: location, view, room was perfect, especially the bathroom , nice people
Cons: outdoor seating/recreation areas could be added, a larger jacuzzi by the pool would be nice
Location: hiking the trail in either direction was great, St Andrews has loads to do, I also really enjoyed Crail
there should be more outside seating opportunities. The view and atmosphere from the clubhouse for dinner was divine, although the food was acceptible, not a home run (except for the fries with my steak, perhaps the best I have ever had) . The golf course was stunning...and the coast trail is right there for hiking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Golfer's Pleasure

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The location was ideal - slightly out of town, but surrounded by golf courses. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Introduction of free wifi.
Location: Ideal for a golfing holiday.
Lovely hotel, great location, excellent golf courses on hand, very pleasant staff, comfortable and well presented rooms. Disappointing that wifi, in this day and age, was not free but charged for at a daily rate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Not too impressed

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The staff were quite friendly.
Cons: The carpets in the corridors and the upholstery should be given good scrubbing. The Atrium Rooms need special attention.
Location: Located outside St Andrews town. You need your own transport or taxis. The hotel shuttle to town closes before 6pm. Got two golf courses nearby.
We booked a Moderate Room through Expedia, and we were checked into an Atrium Room, which we had tried to avoid, because of all the negative guest reviews of the Atrium Rooms. We found the incomplete room information by Expedia quite misleading. The reviews of the Atrium Room are very correct and I advice any prospective guest to avoid such. Just not worth it. The carpet looked tired, the corners of the floor of the shower cubicle needed a scrub, the floor drain did not flow well on two occasions, but later corrected itself. We had thread-bear hair towels on one of our four-night stay. Overall the room lacked cheer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Delightful

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The Fairmont was a lovely place with picturesque landscape and friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moray, Scotland

A pleasant short break.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Pool, staff & Food - except for lack of hot fish at breakfast!
Cons: Courtesy bus running to /from town in evenings. See above re fish! Surprising lack of info about local attractions available in reception nor room.
Location: Town has several days' potential for visits. St Cyrus Nature reserve, north of Tay, very impressive. Cold War Bunker to south well worth visit.
Although we have lived in Scotland for 30 years, we had never visited St Andrews and this hotel gave us the opportunity to do that and to meet friends locally. We were on a reduced-price mini-break so not surprised that we had a room right next to the lifts which looked out onto the glass roof of the atrium with no possibility of seeing any views at all. Neither proved to be a problem, although we weren't able to make the most of the location, atop a hill overlooking the St Andrews' Bay. We were disappointed that the hotel is too far out of town to stroll in easily although, in the daytime, the courtesy bus made up for that. Unfortunately, it doesn't run in the evenings, as we understand it is used to ferry people to and from the Clubhouse then. The breakfast choices were extensive but we have one small comment. It is usual, across Scotland, certainly in hotels of this standard and many with fewer stars, for hot Scottish fish, particularly kippers and finnan (smoked) haddock to be available to order at breakfast. We feel a great promotional opportunity has been missed - why aren't the world-famous Arbroath Smokies from so close by, just up the coast, being used in your publicity for excellent breakfasts? We made good use of the excellent swimming pool, larger than average for an hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Lovely hotel with beautiful view and great staff.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Had good experience. Wonderful breakfasts, very accommodating staff. Nice room. Needs another restaurant and bar with cozier feel. Shuttles ran very efficiently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
On arrival we had a small no. of problems with our room, fridge and safe not working fridge was replaced inside 20 mins of being reported and safe reset inside 15mins! Impressive!!! Staff were friendly, breakfast lovely and hot with huge selection. Would recommend stress relief massage in the spa, best ever in beautiful relaxing room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carnoustie, Scotland

Great hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2014
First impression great as greeting friendly and complimentary drink of fizz as starting honeymoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Argyll

Great Place

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We love this hotel, all staff are really attentive especially Davie the concierge and his team, they can't do enough for you. This is a luxury hotel without being stiff and aloof. Food was faultless in every eaterie and the only reason why we marked a small minus for condition is being a bit picky I suppose, like children's hand prints on glass windows in clubhouse etc not a big deal. Husband tells me the golf is great too, I'll take his word on that!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottish Borders

Came to watch the golf'

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Just everything!!! Spotlessly clean and everyone so friendly.
Cons: Cannot think of anything.
Location: We only stayed one night but we took car into St Andrews in the evening and it only took 10 minutes. It is a vibrant place with lots of visitors.
We attended Senior Golf Tournament and could only get one night at this hotel but we had a wonderful time. Staff were wonderful and treated all staff same as each other. Our room was really very nice with large comfy bed and comfortable furniture. Tea and coffee and lots of lovely toiletries. Large fluffy towels. Bathroom perfect and shower very easy access. Breakfast tasty and plentiful. Swimming pool good and Jacuzzi so comforting after day on the golf course. Will definitely return someday.