Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with outstanding gardens

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Nice staff, good if not outstanding food, nice views from hotel and lovely garden, reliable room cleanliness and amenities.
Cons: Price of continental breakfast could be included in price with extra charge for cooked breakfast. No other place nearby to eat.
Location: I went to visit someone, but know from previous experience that Dunfermline has lots to see and do, and Edinburgh is close.
One night stay to visit friend nearby hotel. Restaurant and bar areas are bright with a view of lovely gardens. Menu and food had improved since my stay there 2 years previously, and dinner was pleasant. Staff is friendly and helpful. My single room was in older, original part of hotel and smaller than the one I had previously in the newer wing. It was pleasant and contained everything I needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Closest affordable place in range of St Andrews

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see above
We were surprised and pleased with the whole experience. The grounds are really beautiful and well-maintained, and the bar draws local regulars, so visitors can have conversations with people outside the tourist industry. The nearby Abbey's old part is particularly beautiful (the new part is nice, too, but it's - well - new). The staff went out of their way to be helpful. If I return to Scotland, I'll stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stuartfield

Hotel near to town centre

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Friendly and did not have to go anywhere else to eat.
Clean and spacious rooms. We stayed two nights and food was also very good. Would certainly stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west scotland

nice hotel in lovely setting .

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: setting and pleasant attentive staff.
Cons: A bit tired looking in places,nothing a coat of paint wouldn't sort.
Was our first visit to this hotel.Was there for my cousin's Golden Wedding celebration.Staff were all very pleasant and attentive,couldn't do enough for us.Will certainly try and visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Close to transportation, take-away food, grocery

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Close to everything we needed.
Location: Close to the train and tram stations, the airport, take-away food, grocery store, cell phone store, highways.
Great, helpful, polite staff. Nice hot breakfast, Continental breakfast, dinner, desserts, drinks. Recommend the Sticky Toffee Pudding! Wi-fi, desk-top computer, printer access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly hotel located 15 mins from Knockhill

Posted May 28, 2015
Stayed at the Pitbauchlie House Hotel with my wife and son on Friday 22nd May as we had an early start at Knockhill racing circuit on the 23rd. Staff very friendly, room comfortable with ample space for three. We did not eat in the hotel as we decided to go bowling at Fife leisure park , which was only 5 mins away and has many restaurants to choose from. The bar area was pleasant with comfortable seating and views over the garden. We would definitely stay here again, friendly hotel, great value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Garton from Bristol

Comfort

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very relaxing after a hard days work out in the snow
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Gavin from Preston

Great value for money...

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
Service was a little slow at the bar, and had to ask at Reception a couple of times if we could be served. However, the hotel and rooms were cleaned to a good standard. The location was good too, only a short taxi ride into Dunfermline. Overall, I think it was great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Edward

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victoria from Birmingham

OK.

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
Staff were friendly and helpful. Stayed in Room 157- it was a little smelly. We couldn't work out if the bathroom had been recently sealed but there was a sour vinegary smell which didn't disperse even when we went off to Edinburgh for the evening and left the window open. Bed was king size and comfortable enough. Didn't have food.