Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nga Wingfrom Asia Pacific

Best Ever Spa @ Rain Forest

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
All the staffs are so friendly and helpful. Amazing spa experience in the rain forest together with sound of waterfall~ Lovely resort to relax!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Very Relaxing

Posted Nov 9, 2014
We stayed in the new Edgewater Bures. We had a little trouble with no or little hot water for first 2 days but Management had it fixed and all was good from there on. The staff are wonderful. There is no beach frontage, so it was a good decision to stay in the Edgewater Bures, we could snorkel directly off them. We went for a relaxing time and we certainly got it..!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Amazing trip to paradise!

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Outstanding location. Beautiful resort. Amazing staff. We could born have been happier with our selection. The edge water bures are amazing! Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review Jason. We look forward to seeing you guys back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Sep 16, 2014
We went to Koro Sun for our honeymoon and we do not have a single bad thing to say about our experience. Our Edgewater Bure was stunning overlooking the water (the website pictures look unreal but it really was that beautiful a view from our room), food was incredible (3 curses 3 times a day - yum!) and the staff made is feel like family. We did almost every activity available and they always accommodate ad hoc requests. Truly the time of our lives.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
Vinaka vakalevu (thank you) for the review. Your comments on the Edgewater Bure views are appreciated. Indeed the view of the reef and the Koro Sea is breathtaking. Even for the locals, we do not take these views for granted and really do appreciate the opportunity to witness and enjoy the view daily. Joeli our chef and his team will be pleased with the feedback on the meals. We know we still need to build up on our level of consistency and that is something we are committed to, as a resort. Absolutely spot on about the family spirit. That is something we genuinely share with all our guests. You can be here on your own, but we make sure that you feel like you are family. I should also mention for others - that the privacy of individuals or guests in general are equally respected. Vinaka and thank you again for your review. JR & Margie Rayawa GMs Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to learn that you both had the time of your lives here at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. Warm Regards, JR & Margie Rayawa GMs Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Catherinefrom Brooklyn

Nice, but flawed

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place has a lot of potential. The setting is lovely, and we really appreciated the way that the hotel organized a lot of fun activities for everyone to do. My husband and I are not beach people, and we were worried we would get bored. That was never a concern. We stayed in one of the new Edgewater Bures. From their website, I understand that we got an introductory rate and that they will be increasing the price next season. Honestly, if we had paid the full rate, I think we would have felt a little cheated. A lot of things were just ever so slightly off. The food was fine, but portion sizes were a little small, and honestly, we had better at other resorts. We got there around 2:00 or 2:30 and were told that we would have to wait until dinner to eat something. There's nothing else around, so it's not like we had other options. They give you two bottles of water when you arrive and tell you to ask to refill these bottles during your stay at the bar. But we asked our waitress to do this for us, and she seemed surprised and put out. If your paying full price, I think they should just give you water bottles. None of these things is really a deal breaker, and honestly, we had a wonderful time. It's just that if they are going to charge five star plus prices, they shouldn't have so many three and a half star issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
Bula Vinaka Catherine. Thank you for your review and yes we have to agree with you that we certainly have flaws that we are still working on in our operations to bring them up to par. No doubt, there is a committment here to ensure that all key areas of our operations are duly addressed. Frankly speaking, the food portions have been generously increased to cater for specific guests. We encourage guests to bring to the attention of our dining staff if they wish to have a smaller or bigger portion for their meals. We did encounter a similar situation with another couple on the issue about portion and we sorted it right there and then. The water refiller is a complimentary service and I cannot explain as to why the staff seemed surprised. My only logical conclusion is that it might have been a (casual) staff and not one of our permanent staff who might have attended to you. You are right it is not a deal breaker hence the complimentary offer of the refills. But thank you anyway for taking the time to review us. Sincerely, JR & Margie Rayawa GMs Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Denver, CO

Wonderful Honeymoon spot

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Flew into Savusavu airport, immediately greeted by a Koro Sun shuttle driver helping us with our luggage and taken to the resort, exited the van to a quarter of the staff singing and playing music, was asked to sit down and take our shoes off for a welcome foot massage and handed a coconut welcome drink; all in the first 30 minutes. Staff was extremely friendly and personable (most folks in Fiji seem to be). Excursions out of the resort were sometimes interesting (bring reef shoes!), but otherwise fun. Had an ocean view bure, space was great, shower was huge, lots of privacy. Overall wonderful experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience, overall. Sincerely, JR & Margie Rayawa GMs Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
John, Bula Vinaka and Thank you for taking the time to review us. We certainly appreciate it. Your comments about bringing reef shoes is a good reminder. We encourage anyone coming to Koro Sun Resort to bring their own reef shoes, because a good number of activities we have on offer includes time at the reef. For those of you still determining whether to consider Koro Sun Resort or not - well, one of the more recent excursions is net fishing near the reef or going out to collect shells nearby. These activities are normal daily activities of the local people and many of our visitors enjoy this interaction very much. When you do come in - Ask the Activities about the net fishing, a must to do at Koro Sun. To you John - We hope to see you guys back in Fiji, sometime soon. Sincerely, JR&Margie Rayawa GMs Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Beautiful edge water villa with amazing views

Posted Jul 13, 2014
We stayed at the edgewater villa at Koro Sun Resort and it was the best decision ever!! Apart from the beautiful views of the sea, the resort is a spectacular combination of luxury and nature. The staff at the resort are the most friendliest and kindest people, from the receptionists to the waitresses to the maintenance staff and the activity staff, everyone said hello to you, and for this reason we will be returning to Koro Sun the next time we go to fiji. The food is absolutely delicious and the variety available caters to everyone. There is a good variety of activities available, the highlights were the meke and lovo night, the trip to the waterfall and village, and kayaking to bat island, highly recommended! Big thanks to all the staff at Koro Sun for making our holiday the best it could be!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
Bula Nicole and Daniel. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It warms our heart to learn that guests who chose to come to Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa ended up having an awesome and wonderful experience and in your situation - "a best decision ever". We will be sharing your experiences with the staff at our end of the month meetings. Thank you again for the vote of confidence. Sincerely, JR & Margie Rayawa GMs Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Groovychickfrom Vancouver, BC

Wonderful staff made our stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: There were several activities (some free and some paid) available to participate in each day.
Cons: The bathroom was tiny, but the outdoor shower was great and water pressure was good.
Location: We took the local bus (a real disco ride) into town, which took about 30 mins. Lots of water activities.
We were so happy we chose to make the trek to Savusavu and the Koro Sun. The flight on the small plane gave us a wonderful aerial view of Fiji and its blue waters. We arranged by email to have the Koro Sun folks meet us at the very small airport and we were then welcomed at the resort by song. Check in was a joy with a coconut scrub footbath to keep us occupied while we completed the paperwork. We chose the resort because of the reviews and the dive shop--we're divers and wanted to try a couple of areas in Fiji. We weren't able to get a waterfront bure, but had a 2-bedroom bure on the resort grounds. There are several bicycles (1-gear with backpedal brakes) parked outside the main building and we maximized our use of these for trips up to our room, and also with a cycle down the road to their beachfront property (the sand in front of the resort was swept away several years ago by cyclone). The food was included in our rate and though choices were generally limited to 3, we always found something we liked and sent our compliments to the chef regularly. The dive operation was very good (thanks Steven for finding me the cats eye shell) and there was a local school of hammerhead sharks, though only one came up to visit us the day we were there. The dives at Namena Island were wonderful, though it was a very long boat ride to get there--not sure it was worth the choppy ride, but glad the boat was in good order.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
Bula Vinaka! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Though my response to this has been rather late, we will definitely be sharing this with our staff at our end of the month meeting. Your positive comments about our dive operation is well-received and we will be sure to inform Colin and Steven. Warm Regards, JR & Margie Rayawa GMs Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jochemfrom München

großzügige Anlage am Strand, z.T. im Regenwald

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Die Atmosphäre, Der Spa im Regenwald
Cons: Ist ja bereits im Bau, die Bar, das Restaurant am Meer
Wir haben uns 3 Tage über Neujahr in dem "Baumhaus" sehr wohl gefühlt. Die sehr große Anlage hat aber auch Bungalows mit direktem Meerzugang. Das gesamte Team ist sogar für Fiji-Verhältnisse ausgesprochen freundlich. Es werden alle möglichen Aktivitäten, insbesondere Wassersport, angeboten und auf Nachfrage fast jederzeit möglich gemacht. Der Pool wirkt ein wenig klein, ist aber zum Schwimmen geeignet, außerdem gibt es einen Kinderpool mit richtig langer Rutsche durch den Wald. Das im Preis inbegriffene Mittag- und Abendessen, kein Buffet sondern man wählt morgens zwischen Fisch- Fleisch- oder vegetarischem Menü, ist nicht herausragend (für europäische Verhältnisse, und die Beurteilung ist ja immer Geschmackssache) aber sehr gut und kann durchaus z.B. mit dem Hilton in Denarau mithalten.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the resort. Your kind comments about the friendliness of the staff is greatly appreciated and we will certainly convey it to them. Indeed the 3 pools are not designed to accommodate too many people, but it is a great alternative for guests who may not be used to enjoying the sea or reef swimming. Your positive comments about the food in the assessment of taste can rival some of the best on Denarau is well-received . We will certainly pass it on to our kitchen team. Thank you again for your time. Yours Sincerely, JR & Margie Rayawa GMs Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by JR, Hotel Management
Thank you so much about the wonderful review you've posted in Jan 2014. Though my response is rather late, I still want to extend our appreciation for the kind compliments. Indeed the three pools are not big enough to accommodate big numbers but it is certainly an alternative option for those who may not be used to enjoying the sea and reef swimming as such. Thank you again for taking the time to sharing your review. Yours sincerely, JR & Margie Rayawa GMs Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com