Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, England

Warm and Friendly Private Lagoon

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Beach and the lagoon. The villas are nice too. The food is clean (natural/organic) and delicious.
Cons: The electricity goes off during the day. You don't really need the electricity anyway but it maybe useful.
If you're looking for a secluded slice of paradise then you should consider this resort. The accommodation is simple and pleasant. Any basic quality that the rooms have though is made up for by the proximity of the beach/lagoon. However, outweighing all other positive points is the friendliness and professionalism of the staff and the excellent food. A rental car would help as the resort is 7 km in from the highway, but is not necessary as the resort offers a reasonably priced transport service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Back to Basics

Posted Aug 26, 2014
A very basic place but just beautiful. Unspoilt paradise. Organic fresh food from their kitchen. Relaxing. $50 FJD for a one hour massage in your room! Where you go to embrace getting away from it all as there's no cell phone reception. You are on the coral coast so every day a fresh lot of coral is washed up on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Sunny, small and secluded

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The staff, the location and the lovely grounds
Cons: All the snorkelling gear was broken so perhaps keeping a replacement supply would be helpful.
Lovely stay at a small resort with a great choice of accommodation options. I stayed in one of the cheaper rooms and it was comfortable, clean with a great view. 6 kms from the main road - it's quiet and the only thing you can hear is the surf. I liked that the power was off during the day, it meant relaxing in a hammock with a book or snorkelling in the reef. The staff are the best - friendly, helpful, warm and cheerful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Secluded Escape

Posted Aug 24, 2014
We stayed at Namuka for 3 days. The accom is excellent, very laid back atmosphere with great authentic Fijian food. Highly recommend if you want to get away from the crowds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Access challenges

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The staff were lovely and very helpful.
Cons: Access to the hotel.
Location: See above.
We arrived by bike and were aware that the road into the resort was not paved, however it was worse than we expected and although we made it into the resort, we had a couple of flat tyres and had to organise a transfer out of the resort. Which, by the way, was organised with no hitches at short notice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Quiet, peaceful, idyllic, no-frills getaway

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The serenity and sound of the waves
Cons: Don't change a thing
Location: great location on the beach, snorkeling, walking on the beach, horse riding and tours to the limestone caves.
We thought this place was perfect for our needs. So peaceful, just the sound of the waves and the breeze wafting through the trees. The food was wonderful, they grow all their own vegetables, keep chickens, and the cows are milked every morning for delicious fresh milk. We walked on the beach every morning and the reef was close enough to swim to and excellent for snorkeling. Not recommended if you like to party but wonderful if you need a calm, laid back and serene environment. Felt like part of the family and was sad to leave the friendly staff at the end of our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great relaxing setting

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The people, the food, the environment, and the closeness with a small handful of guests and few staff.
Cons: Needs more gear when things break down.
Location: You can check out the caves and an archaological site, or walk to the small village. You can get a ride to Nadi or to one of the other bigger towns.
We had a great stay at Namuka Bay, but that said we knew what to expect (e.g no power until night time), and a certain style of service and simple amenities. Having your own private lagoon outweighs almost any downside, and the setting around the villas was so wonderful I have absolutely no complaint about that. Service was eager and willing to please, but coming from a 5 star hotel background myself, they had a few things they need to work on. There's no need to announce you are clearing plates or refilling drinks to customers - these things should simply flow around them so as to not interrupt their experience. Also, when tallying the bills, staff seemed a bit confused and all over the place, so I think this needs to be more systematic. The massage really needs to be worked on - our masseuse was such a lovely girl and could be even better with a bit of training. Sending her to get a session with a masseuse at another resort might be a good way of teaching her what is required - same of the other staff. Props to Annie and Lucy though, who really felt personal and professional, warm and very interested. People like that are who you remember when you think fondly of a place you really enjoyed. I would certainly recommend Namuka Bay though, and to be honest I had such a wonderful and memorable time there and these things are just small things that I consider helpful to suggest, in order to make the resort even more wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Melbourne

Nice little getaway

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Location: It is 5.5KM down a gravel road - our hire car went down it fine but some very small cars may have some difficulty.
If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle and not be in a large resort with hundreds of people, this is the perfect place. Very nice staff - welcoming, attentive, accommodating. As there are limited rooms, it is a very relaxing atmosphere. The beach is usually all yours. The food is good and reasonably priced - especially compared to the big resorts. A lot is organically gown on the property. Worth it to pay the extra for the Villa room - the standard room is not nearly as nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mick & Jo from q

couples getaway

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
this is an awsome location for a romantic getaway. Just take a long walk along the beach either way to find a lovley seculed beach. Nobody for a km or so.Outdoor shower was lovely. Staff really made you feel at home. They went out of thier way to meet my wifes dietry reqirements. You get real Fijian people here not like in Nadi. They were so friendly especialy Ole and Ani. We had a free historical village tour with Ani as our guide she was very well spoken with great knowledge.one of the staffwize was always friedly as were the owners. We went for a walk about 45 minutes through the country side with the resort dogs as our only guides. We felt very safe. Locals would shout bulla from the bushes or thier houses. All make you feel very welcome. Thanks again to all staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by littlewing66 from Suva

Lovely low-key gem.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: I loved the setting, comfortable and clean bed and pillow, good food, ocean front view. There was a great breeze and it is so quiet!
Cons: DON'T CHANGE A THING!! It's charm is that it is NOT the Intercon; it is more authentic Fiji.
Location: You can swim right out front and Sigatoka dunes are just nearby, golf at Natadola, surfing, almost any water sport.
This bure type duplex isn't for the five star hotel diva crowd, but it is clean and the staff couldn't have been more hospitable. It is down a long dirt road, right on the ocean front and it's simple decor and environment fill you with peace and tranquility. My husband and I got lost at night trying to find it, and the staff came out to the main road and guided us in! I can't express how truly welcoming and friendly everyone was. Great value and family friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Victor, Hotel Management
Thnak you for your comments.Namuka bay Lagoons relative isolation from the main road has guranteed a nice, quiet unpolluted beach which is not only private but its snorkelling is excellent. Thank you for highlightiung the isolation part. However for overseas guets pick up is available from the airport on remittance of flight details