Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

Ok, but not great

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The resort was nice to stay at but the food and drink are unimpressive and quite expensive. Staff are great, but also hard to get service at bar etc when you wanted food or drinks. It's not "5 star" luxury as advertised in their brochures
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

PARADISE - The absolute best holiday to date

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The exceptional staff service. The layout of the resort. The array of activities on offer and the "cost free" ones such as Kayaking and snorkelling.
Cons: Nothing :)
We had amazing time in Fiji. The Outrigger on the Lagoon is exceptional. The landscaping and the entire layout of the resort was beautiful. The service of the hotel staff is really what makes your stay amazing. They are the most friendly of people and from the moment you get your ice cold "ice tea" at check in to the farewell song accompanied by the hugs and kisses on your last night, the service was faultless. We stayed in a beachfront bure which was exceptional. We fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean every night and awoke to the same every morning. Loved every minute of our stay, we were so sad to go. We will definately be going back to Fiji and to the Outrigger on the Lagoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The people. The pools. The cocktails. The staff. The shopping.
Cons: The bed.
Location: We visited a couple of villages. Did the Sigatoka River Safari. Went to Suva and Pacific Harbour. Also went on a robinson crusoe cruise.
I loved the friendliness of the staff and all the people I met. The only bad thing for me was the bed. It was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in. It was a bit lumpy. However in saying that my husband liked it. I was also travelling with 3 other couples and they loved their bed. They did say when I showed them my side of the bed that they could feel the lumpiness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Christchurch, NZ

Lovely place on a clean pristine beach!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
The stay was really comfortable and relaxing. Cant complain about anything except the food was a bit pricey! Nonethess, was a lovely experience and would visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Wedding Visit

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Adult Pool and a few other cafes/bars outside of complex to stroll to for variety
Cons: Modernisation of room facilities.
Staff very attentive. Plenty of activities to keep people occupied.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Outrigger - close but no cigar

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff and Location
Cons: Food and price of food.
It's a nice resort but, having travelled extensively, I would classify this more as 4-4.5 star. The location is beautiful but it's a 1.5 hour drive from the airport so only stay if you intend on going snorkelling/diving etc. otherwise you may as well stay on Denarau Island (sheraton/radisson etc.) and you will get just as much enjoyment. The staff were generally really friendly and outgoing, rooms were spacious and quiet, and the grounds/pool well kept. On the downside, food was inconsistent in quality and about 25% more expensive than another 5-star hotel I've stayed in (eg. FJD$11 for a bowl of hot chips & FJD$75 buffet dinner). Bring your own snacks as their resort minimart is also on the expensive side ($FJD11 bag of smiths chips & FJD$20 200g cadbury chocolate). It's easy to end up with a hefty, overpriced food bill on check out if you're not careful. Not a great place for couples, as it caters for and is overrun by Aussie kids (including ours).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Relaxing getaway

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Great facilities, and excellent service.
Cons: A better beach experience.
Location: Other great eating options west of the resort: The Bedarra Inn has great food day or night and Koko's Bar is also a gem.
The Outrigger is a great escape located on a lagoon on the southern coast of Figi. The lagoon makes for great snorkeling anf kayaking, but be aware of the season. Strong winds and tides can make for a tumultuous experience on the water. Check out the hotel during the dry season. But during any season the immaculate resort provides a relaxing and comfortable experience, be it at a posh pool (just for adults) where you can swim up to the bar to get your favorite cocktail or at fun family pool where the kids can play and the adults can sit back. Great eating options on the resort, but a short walk west of the resort provides other options as well. The Outrigger also has an excellent spa that can fulfill any treatment need.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family resort.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
I went for a wedding and it was great. However it's more of a family place with young kids. Very expensive to eat and drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle, Australia

Very nice hotel for a relaxing holiday

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: The ever smiling and helpful staff
Cons: A bit of maintenance required to some parts - like the awnings outside the Deluxe Ocean View Room Balconies
Location: The Sigatoka town is very nearby. But we did not feel going out anywhere as we found everything in the resort.
We needed a break and decided to go for The Outrigger. And we got it. It was welcoming, relaxing with so many activities to do. You basically do not need to go out anywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Slightly anticlimatic end to of a honeymoon

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Good number of daily activities, mainly for children. Very good spa. Good variety of restaurants. Good childrens pool
Cons: Not catered for honeymooners, or adults. Talai butler service isn't what it sounds like. Beach was nothing like what you would expect from a Fiji
Location: A nearby town (Sigatora) has some small shops and markets. Lots of outdoor excursions a car drive away.
Booked this hotel for a three night stay in the mainland after a island experience. After an amazing experience at Yageta island, we found this hotel to be slightly anticlimactic in comparison. Although we could see why this hotel would be good for families, with a great number of children, children's activities and good pool - this hotel definitely didn't have a good honeymoon vibe. Felt very big, and impersonal service, not what you would want for a honeymoon, little touches like the group of servicemen at front of hotel saying (or emphatically shouting) Bula everytime we passed was nice - but generally, the hotel is too big and busy in our opinion to provide the level of service that reflects the price we paid. An example was when we found that we had no shampoo, we had to call reception twice and wait 30mins before we finally received it (after I had visited the main desk). Talai butler service, was basically just a drink delivered to your room at 6pm, and a small cake delivered in the evening. That's it. Not what we thought it would be. All being said, general cleanliness and hotel food was good, and I would be happy if it was a general holiday (although still on the expensive side).