Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Plantation Island

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The Hotel was ok. It needs an update. We stayed in the poolside room which was great for us.
Cons: When you arrive they need to have a welcoming package so you know what is going on each day and what the tours are about and the cost.
Location: The location was great. The best thing we did was Cloud 9 day tour. The snorkeling was fantastic.
I stayed at Plantation Island for 7 days with my 2 children and friends.The water was magic and the Fijian people are beautiful people.You need to take snack to eat as these things are very expensive.You can go to the supermarket up the road from Plantation Island and get fresh bread each day. Take Vegemite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Beautiful beach

Posted Jan 22, 2015
We had an amazing time at plantation island resort. The beach was beautiful. The buffet breakfast was good. The dinner and lunch was not so good. We had dinner at musket cove and that was incredible. I would love to go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom aussie

beautiful water

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: the staff were great
Cons: the whole resort could do with a upgrade but it is perfect for the price you pay
Location: the area was beautiful the water is so warm and clean with plenty of things to do
after we arrived we upgraded our rooms to bures next to the water they were perfect for us they were quite away from families and close to the water just what we wanted
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australis

Beach Bures the best

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The beach Bures were fantastic
Cons: The food.
Location: The sandbar snorkling was wonderful. The kids had a great time on all of the water activities available.
We stayed here with 2 teenagers boy 17 and girl 19 and had a lovely time. We missed schoolies by one day which was luck as no one told us it was a schoolie island. We stayed in two beach bures and there was nothing nicer than walking out the door and taking the twenty steps to the beach and lying in the hammocks reading. It is a family island so if screaming small children and over indulgent parents drive you mad this is ort the island for you. Although there are plenty of places to hide. It was very quite while we were there so all eateries were not open for all of our stay. The food was ok but nothing overly inspiring and my 17 year old son was devastated that the buffet dinners were not on offer. There was a distinct lack of fresh fruit which was disappointing. We had great weather even though it rained on the mainland. If you want a quiet time to relax I fully recommend it but go in the quiet times. Without children in kids club you don't always find out whats going on and 'Fiji time' can be a little frustrating but heck we were on holidays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Awesome Location, activities and staff

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: location and activities
Cons: Food and staff attitude at reception More personal welcome, felt like i had joined a coach party
Awesome location, Plantation island is in such an awesome location, so picturesque, with safe calm waters for playing in with kids. I went here with my son who is 3 years old and he and I loved it, the activities for kids are great and we didn't have a boring moment. The rooms were clean and serviced every day, no TV which is great as it means you end up having to use imagination to entertain yourself. Every night there was entertainment put on by the staff, although it started a little late for us we still went along. The staff are mostly friendly and always helpful, I left my camera by the pool and from the photos they tracked us down and returned it to us. The food is mediocre but with a buffet there is always choice. The meal plan could do with a little more explaining. The staff in the office could do with a bit more customer focus, but overall a great holiday and great place we will be returning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Plantation island

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast options, no cash system
Location: Kayaking was great. Watching fish at the end of pier. Many other activities offered including mini golf, snorkelling, water slide for kids.
Staff we're inviting. The no cash system is backwards I would recommend settling your bill daily to keep track of purchases. No options for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Victoria

Family Fun

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Staff and being able to go snorkelling whenever you want!
Location: Location is brilliant. Ananda's supermarket and restaurant are a short walk, so is Musket Cove resort which also has a restaurant.
We just spent 9 nights with our 12, 10 and 6 year old. The resort is very relaxing with plenty of things to do. Snorkelling right outside your door, kayaking, kids activities. We didn't do the meal plan as we don't like to spend our whole holiday eating. There is a small supermarket at Ananda's which sells reasonably priced food including fresh bread and cream buns. The staff are excellent with a few being stand outs, they take a real interest in the kids! Our kids especially loved the 'catch and throw' game which was played at 3:30 every afternoon followed by a game of Volley ball, with parents, kids and staff. Oh and definitely don't take too many clothes, as you are always in the water. I have come home to save up and go back for 2 weeks and 9 nights wasn't long enough for us! We also stayed 5 nights at Denarau, which is extremely commercialised and only good if you are doing a few inland tours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Beware Children

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Great value for money.
Cons: More things for adults to do at night time. Also if you run a Dolphin cruise and don't see any Dolphins, atleast offer a discount at the end.
Location: Ended up going to Musket Cove most days, it had a more relaxed vibe and better food and service.
We booked knowing it was more of a family resort but wasn't really expecting to be the only couple without children it seemed. We still enjoyed our trip but they didn't seem to cater for adults very much at all which was a bit disappointing. Every night the same International crab / frog race and the same covers band played. We ventured over to Musket Cove most days for a quieter relax by the pool and discovered a few places to get away from the family vibes and screaming children that take over the pools during the daytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Fab for a Family Holiday with Children

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Rooms very spacious and clean and up to date.
Cons: Only four mugs and teeny glasses plus 4 teaspoons. Glass in bathroom needed and shelf in shower for soap etc.
Location: Location beautiful, play mini golf (but no lights for night). Tennis,walk to Musket Cove and hire bikes. Jet ski tour to Castaway Island.
Great holiday with lots going off. Found food adequate at resort but better at Anadans restaurant. Beaches and snorkelling great with plenty of fish to be found just off beach. Choice of food not great for breakfast if you don't like big cooked one and lunches could do with choice of sandwiches instead of burgers, chips, wedges and pizza. Bit too heavy. Loungers on beach need a bit of maintenance presuming they do this in off season. Tennis court surface bad. All in all a very lovely place to visit next time definitely taking grandkids. Garden rooms very spacious and airconditioned plus fans. Shop beside Anadans great for groceries and fruit if needed. Tea and coffee facilities and small fridge in room only but lovely fresh towels daily. Will be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

management lesson

Posted Sep 28, 2014
very disappointing to see management of this hotel was into making every penny from visitors with very little to offer. service at every point was disappointing. we learnt that the staff were over abused and not surprisingly tired and underpaid. guests were being charged high fees for every thing but delivery could have been much better.