Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by leanne from Cairns, Australia

A low key, eco friendly resort

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Its complete lack of pretension, the décor was traditional Fijian style, no air-con and a relaxed and welcoming staff.
Cons: Maybe the breakfast - it was all white sliced bread, baked beans etc. Lots more fruit would be great and one day we had home made style bread... great
Location: The Island is self contained - all activities are on the Island. It is 40 mins back to the mainland , but we did take a day trip out to Sigatoka.
The absolute best thing about the whole experience was the Fijian staff. What a group of dedicated, friendly, happy go lucky and talented bunch. Because it was low season, we felt like it was almost like staying at a village. There were only ever around 6-12 guests on the Island at once. All the others were day trippers. This meant we got to see several dancing shows, eat lovo four times and snorkel every day, along with the day guests. When they went home we relaxed with the staff, played music, drank kava and had lots of time to get to know them. They went out of their way constantly to make us feel at home and an "islander", making special drinks, setting dinner with white tablecloths, frangipani and hibiscus, gathering coconuts from trees for us to drink, and generally just treating us so well. I loved it all and am in awe of the staff's versatility in waiting tables, talented dancing, driving the boats, fire eating, walking over hot stones, speaking English so well, massaging and running the whole show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Icompute from USA

Great way to get to know the REAL Fiji

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time on a slow-paced island which is so much more Fiji than the 4 and 5 stars with perfectly manicured lawns. Those you could just as well be at a resort in America or anywhere. The folks were lovely and would assist you with snorkeling, paddle boarding, etc. I could not give this a higher rating because we were so hot and though there was not air conditioning, it would have been easier to sleep if they kept the generator (thus the fans) running all night. Try it though, the opportunity to get to know the folks and relax was worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alfredo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Gannon

A Resort more original than other resorts

Posted Nov 19, 2013
From the time I arrived at the airport to arriving on the island on boat. I was welcomed by the staff and they treated like they knew me already. The activities were amazing and the water was clear and blue. At night there was security incase you needed assistance. The food was gorgeous and filling, eat as much as you want too. The staff remember your name and make you feel real relaxed and comfortable. I was over there on my own and I loved it and YES I am going back next year with my girlfriend. The bar had everything and prices were very reasonable. The fire show was out if this world and the machete show too. This is truly a holiday resort for someone who wants originality and wants to experience a real desert island experience in comfort. If you book this resort you will not be sorry. Trust me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Melbourne, Australia

Great place to relax and enjoy Fijian life

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: The staff and the genuine Fijian cultural experience along with pacific island dances. Great location away from the busy resorts.
Cons: The showers can be better but there is the whole ocean at your door step.
Location: Snorkeling, swimming, kayaking, bush walking, fishing, massages.
Great place, great people and wonderful warm smiles all day round. The place was comfortable and relaxing and had a feel of living in a authentic Fijian community. We got to know many of the the wonderful people who work there and enjoyed everything working on "Fiji time" in the sun. You have everything you need on the island and there is no need to go anywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Noel from San Sebastian, Spain

Nice hotel for an authentic Fijian experience

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Island show, huts were well decorated
Cons: Meals and Expedia should have more clearly disclosed some fees, including transport which could not be avoided and was not included in hotel booking.
Location: Hotel had some water sports but swimming was difficult because of low tide.
For a hotel with basic but comfortable facilities, this is the place. It has a natural and island feel and will leave you with a good impression of island life. However, beware of all the hidden charges (there was a 75 Fijian dollar charge for boat transfer or 99 from the airport, then the meal plan is required (not the best food).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Nevada

Private Island Paradise in Fiji

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: the lovu tuna lunch, and the fire and knife dance show
Cons: breakfast
Location: about and hour from Nadi international airport by car and boat
Great place the staff was wonderful and took care of all our needs, the breakfast could have been better, but lunch and dinner was wonderful.
1 out of 5
by Calaiskid from NZ

Dirty Water

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: The Staff are amazingly friendly and really made the place bearable
Cons: The Water, The breakfast was crappy crmbled weetbix and warm UHT Milk, If you missed one of the 3 planned meals, you are starving until the next meal.
Location: Horrible and Dirty as - Plain and Simple
Hotel was mismashed but probably the worst thing was where it was located (At the mouth of an Estuary) Water was always soooo dirty you couldnt even see your hands and the sea grass was almost all the way up to the water line, It was like swimming in a swamp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from New South Wales, Australia

Robinson Crusoe Island (RCI)

Posted Jan 5, 2012
Pros: Island singing and dancing
Staff and management were very helpful and accommodating. The resort is definitely a different way to experience Fiji. If you want the 4 or 5 star experience, with a la carte dining, wait service and air conditioned rooms this is not the resort for you. If you can handle a bit more rustic atmosphere and more laid back service then certainly give RCI a go! Our room (the tribal lodge) was beautiful and clean. But no A/C, the water system is low pressure, and there are no window screens (you sleep in a mosquito net hanging above the main bed - and no, the two singles didn't have a net). The reception, bar and pool are fairly basic (though the salt pool is nicer than the chorine pools we experienced elsewhere). Dining is at picnic tables under a common area shelter. Rooms are cheap but the cost climbs with food (I think it was about 75FJD per day for adults, half for kids), drinks, and the transport -a half hour trip out on the island's boat - about 99FJD return for adults. Drinks prices were fair. You walk to your bure/bungalow on sandy paths through quite pretty tropical gardens, and wash you feet in a trough before entering your room. Activities include kayaking, swimming, exploring the island (an hour or so) and hammocking. The set buffet menu was great. We were there for new year's eve, and the BBQ, singing, dancing and fireworks were all superb. From what I understand only the fireworks were extra. A very island-y kind of experience, definitely worth 2-3 nights!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great for an Escape from Reality

Posted Sep 5, 2011
For an escape from reality and a chance to disconnect from the busy world, Robinson Crusoe Island is great. My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights, which we felt was about the right length of time. We definitely got a summer camp vibe from the place, for a variety of reasons. Our Bure Levu was a pretty authentic feeling basic abode in the trees with a bed (moderately comfortable), mirror and a table. Washrooms are communal (generally pretty clean), open air and yes showers are done with a bucket (alright for a few days). The menu and meal times are set and the food is generally average to pretty good. Formal and informal events (free and paid) are fairly plentiful with no obligation to participate and nothing wrong with abstaining to simply relax. Personal favorites were the amazing and very well priced scuba diving, evening fire dancing and the various things with coconuts. Staff are very friendly (but it seems all Fijians are) and the other staying guests were very open to socialize. Why go? Ability to be barefoot the whole time. Very well done shows and opportunities to experience Fijian culture. An experience that’s very different than staying at the big chain resorts. Why not go? Lacks creature comforts and amenities many can’t live without. Limited flexibility on when and what to eat.