Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Why would you stay anywhere else!

Posted Jan 28, 2015
The shangrila was the last stop on our fiji trip and we definitely saved the best till last! Our room was fantastic and the view simply incredible. Everything you need is at this resort and the people are so friendly and welcoming. If going to fiji I would say coral coast all the way and not to look past shangri la!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria

Great for families but I wouldn't honeymoon there!

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Fantastic breakfast every day.Lots of in-house activities for families to do. Families are very well catered for. Lovely tropical surroundings. Clean
Cons: Some sections of hotel need modernizing. Staff inconsistent and don't follow up. Meals were extremely expensive.
Location: They very much wanted you to do activities within. Villages close but not within walking distance. 1 hr from Denarau Port for island visits.
We stayed for a week and it was very pleasant. However, we were singles and hotel was definitely geared towards families. We didn't need to eat until evening due to the big breakfast. It is a great place to go and relax and do nothing and sit by the pool, or go kayaking, snorkeling or paragliding. Tours organised from the hotel were very expensive also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Port Stephens, Australia

Huge resort with plenty of opportunities.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Huge size with plenty of options for activities and convenient access to other locations on Coral Coast.
Cons: Shangrila's Fijian was renovating at time of visit, so outdated rooms are currently being upgraded. This was great to see.
Location: Close to Natadola Beach, Sigatoka, Kul Eco Park, sand Dunes, etc. as well as other resorts.
Room to mingle with other guests or relax in peace by yourself. Staff are beautiful. Location gorgeous. Food was divine, but perhaps a little expensive for some families. Save money at check-out by having easy dinners of sandwiches some nights in your room. Pools were clean and grounds were immaculate. Sea life was pristine for a resort location. Plenty to do or not do at all - your choice. We loved it. Was our fourth time and can't wait to return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

リーフが部屋からみれる静かなリゾート

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: のんびりとした静かなリゾート。 子供が多かったがそんなにうるささは感じない。 十分満足。
Cons: 街へのアクセスが悪い シャトルバスみたいに安価に利用できれば
Location: タクシーがなければ陸の孤島(ま、そこが選んだ理由) 海の景色は素晴らしい
2~3階建てのホテルでゆったりとした感じをうける 建物としては少々古くなっているがそれなりに手入れがなされている。 落ち着いたホテルで期待どうり 子供連れが多く、和やかな雰囲気。それでいてうるさくない。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice island resort

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Location: The location is a little remote but all that you need can be found at the resort if you don't mind paying a little bit extra.
The Fijian people are very friendl. The resort is a great place for families with young kids, with plenty of activities for the kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Bad Start

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing
After a family member tried to set up an early check in and we pleaded because my partner was unwell we got no sympathy whatsoever. Had tried to arrange a car transfer before we left home by email, which was replied to after we had arrived. First room we were put in was ill prepared and right alongside their air conditioning system the low hum of which nearly caused my wife (by then very ill from a severe migraine) nearly caused us to pack up and leave. Meals are expensive and very ordinary, so we ate at restaurants on the mainland which had better selections and were cheaper. To cap it all off someone on their staff had made a mistake and booked items to our room and when I queried it was treated as a thief even to the point of producing a stat dec. I wouldn't recommend this place or the organisation to anyone. It was the singular worst experience of any where we had ever stayed anywhere around the world.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

She's trading on her name!

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Cons: Lots.
Looking tired and old. Bathroom tiles had black mould. Toilet stained. Room furniture knocked about. Not that you should be watching TV on holiday...but we had a 1990's CRT...showing it's age. Room's out door furniture dirty. Door to outside circa 1960s.Wait staff were very inattentive. Life jackets for water sports old, damaged and smelly. Cinema by the beach cancelled every night we were there - gear was damaged for a whole week? They say it has great child facilities. But if you want to lock your kids up in day care all day...why bring them? Would recommend you try an island off the coast of Nadi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney,Australia

Ticks a lot of boxes but needs better management

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Nice location and good facilities
Cons: The current management is squeezing the life out of this place
Location: Geckos restaurant just across the road was surprisingly good
I just had my tenth visit to the Fijian in 28. Years so I must like it. (But strangely in this computerised world there was no record and I get no credit for all those visits). Nice rooms,good beach and pools, petty good food,golf course,gym etc. Most staff very friendly. Service is relaxed (but why did it so often take longer to bring me a beer than a cooked lunch ordered at the same time?). My main gripes are with management. Poor quality Riverina wine at ridiculous prices. Overall maintenance not up to scratch. Cheaper materials in renovations (what's with the corrugated iron roof?). There were two water stoppages that we found out about the hard way, after which or bathroom taps were full of mud, yet we were not informed or warned. I have never stayed at such a large resort with so little entertainment and activities provided. Poor WiFi. The bean counters in charge have even stopped supplying the local newspaper. Oh and the really big one- the huge credit card deposit at check in and the 3% credit card surcharge. What a rip!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NSW, Australia

5 star prices but far from 5 star resort

Posted Jan 8, 2015
The facilities are fantastic, great for kids and adults alike BUT rooms are very old and shabby looking even tvs are like something from the 80s. Not spacious and dirty looking. Most of the staff were lovely but as it is such a big resort sometimes u were treated as cattle really. The prices for food and drinks are more expensive than australia for example a glass of house white wine costing $12 Australian at cheapest. Food at buffet was terrible at night but breakfast was ok - very overpriced. Dinner at golden cowrie was beautiful but for 2 adults to eat is cost almost $200 Australian and kids were not allowed. The day spa was absolutely beautiful definitely 5 star but also ridiculously expensive. Lovely pools and beach and grounds but wouldn't go back again unless they updated rooms. I don't mind paying 5 star prices if that's what u get but unfortunately it was far from it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort but does not deserve 5 stars!

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The facilities, the beach, the pool and nice gardens.
Cons: Room Service was not good as they did not manage to clean the room before 5 pm. So just when you want to rest or shower before dinner the maid comes.
Location: There is nothing in walking distance. YOu are basically dependent on what is offered in the Resort.
Great for families with kids as the facilities are very family friendly and there is lots to do for children (kids club ect) in the Resort. However, guests are dependent on the restaurants in the Resort which creates to problems: too little choices, too many people, too high prices.