Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Great family resort

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Great family stay, busy without being overcrowded, great range of facilities. Pricy with all the extras
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Fijian Experience

Posted Jul 22, 2015
The Fiji Shangri La was a beautiful resort with lovely staff and grounds. There was lots to do, and the views were incredible! I would definitely recommend the Village Tour and snorkelling. A few minor down sides - the lagoon view room TV looked like it was from 1990 and had very little reception and no DVD player, the food was incredibly expensive with no cheap options available, and, whilst when booking 'free wifi' is advertised, they don't tell you that there is no wifi in rooms, only in restaurants. Other than these small things, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Shangri La Fijian Resort and Spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: lagoon pool, lagoon beach
Cons: it will be nice to have a night swim in pool with lights and bar open, so that adults can have a break while kids are sleeping or with nanny
Location: n/a
Really nice place to stay, good service, rooms serviced daily, friendly stuff, good facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

It was terrific for a family holiday.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Family friendly. Big open spaces where children could play.
Cons: Evening activities for 10-15 year olds, the movies were for 4-6 year olds.
A great family holiday destination. Our group consisted of 16 people and 3 generations and we all enjoyed it. It would not be a destination to choose if there were no children in your group.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC Utah

4 days in Paradise

Posted Jul 20, 2015
We are from the U.S. We loved our stay at Shangrila. It is not anything like an all-inclusive Cancun type accommodation. But that's what made it so unique. We had a walk-out family suite on the ocean side #442. Gorgeous view, peaceful just a short stroll to one of the restaurants. Although it's their winter in July, the weather was perfect. I would NOT come during their summer! The pools were coldish, but the lagoon water was beautiful. If you want to swim, or do any of the activities, (snorkel, paddle board, kayak, sit in a beach lounger) you have to go to the Lagoon side. Folks get up early and reserve their chairs, so if you want a lounger on the beach, get out there by 7am. It was quite busy while we were there, so many families w kids on the lagoon side. We went to breakfast one morning on the lagoon side and it was hectic. The other restaurants are more pleasant. The food was not what we're used to from the U.S., but it was fine. Just added to the remote feeling of being in Fiji. We ordered room service pizza one night and it was pretty bad, kind of like a crispy tortilla w cheese and strange meat :/ the water around the resort is fairly still and clear. The ocean side is good for exploring the tide pools that seem to go out .5 mile. Ocean waves are quite a ways out. We met folks who stayed at Denarau and they said their beach was really disappointing, brown water, waves come up to a beach wall. Highly recommend the Sigatoka jet river Safari & village tour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Family resort, lots of screaming kids

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Private location Great activities
Cons: In need of a renovation. Restaurants are expensive, general store expensive.
Location: We are both young travellers & the first time my partner had been overseas, he was not keen on leaving the resort.
The resort is a lovely place situated on its own private island about an hour's drive from Nadi airport. My partner and I booked bus transfers from the airport when we arrived and had a short wait (about an hour) for the bus which made many stops outside all the passengers hotels. The bus stopped outside the Shangri-La and we had to walk across the footbridge to the boom gate. The guards at the gate arranged for a car to take us to the lobby as it was a long long walk. When we arrived we were greeted with a lovely fruit beverage and it was explained to us that the resort doesn't accept cash and a credit card needed to be provided and all expenses incurred will be charged to the room and the bill will be settled upon check-out. Our check in was scheduled for three pm but the rain had caused some delays as the room we had booked had a leaking roof. We had to wait thre hours for our room. The resort has four restaurants all of which charge Australian prices, we ended up spending about sixty fijian on lunch and one-fifty fijian on dinner between the two of us everyday There are adults only restaurants/areas to remove the screaming child element. The service at the restaurants was generally good however the staff are sometimes forgetful about what we ordered and needed reminding. The attitude of the staff was ok but you can tell by their insincerity that they are forced to great you warmly. Activities reasonably priced, kayaking/paddle boarding was complimentary everyday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Kid friendly Fijian paradise

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: BAN SMOKING and Make it SMOKE FREE
Wow what a great resort, beautiful location, great restaurants, run by the most friendly professional Fijian people. This is our second stay in three years. What a great family friendly resort, located in a beautiful coral filled lagoon great for snorkelling and swimming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Economical hotel & Excellent beach facilities

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Beach and supporting water activities, restaurant and guest service
Cons: Modernisation and better lighting in rooms (quite dark)
Location: Sigatoga Town (shopping) is close but you require own transport or taxi to get there and back
Fijian provided access to safe coral beach, hotel facilities were very good, however the accommodation facilities are aging and in need of modernisation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to beach

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Revamp is needed,hotel is falling apart
Location: There is lots to do within the area
Leaking roof ,room service is terrible,it takes two hours to get your food.Breakfast not five star,should be stripped of two stars and be a three star.Needs more staff to cope with all the demands.The prices are unbelievable for what you get in return for your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super fun for the grommets

Posted Jul 9, 2015
If you have kids book a ground floor room this way they can play out on the grass and the beach