Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristen from Los Angeles, CA

Nice stay but eat dinner somewhere else

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: We paid for a garden view but got an upgraded ocean view for free. Beautiful location on the water but not a large sandy beach area. Nice range of options from backpackers to couples, but this also makes the area nice for "spring-breakers" that seemed to be plentiful during our stay. Rooms were nicely decorated, clean and simple. Breakfast buffet was generous with a wide variety of options, but seems to be a favorite breakfast spot for local students too. The staff were friendly. Cons: The King size bed was actually two twins pushed together, so snuggling in the middle was impossible. Only two towels provided. The dinner menu was very limited for vegetarian or healthy options, and the dinner food was the worst food we had during our entire Fiji vacation. The pizza crusts are frozen and taste like cardboard and the curry did not have much flavor. The air conditioning is not set up to circulate fresh air from outside, so it just blew around the air in the room and never really got cool inside. The windows didn't have screens, so you couldn't get fresh air without the bugs and mosquitos too. Overall vibe is not really for a romantic getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Away from city and crowds

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Liked the place, nice surroundings, welcoming people, comfortable bure with garden view. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Spent 8 days, primary purpose being scuba diving. The shark dive with Aquatrek was thrilling. White water rafting on upper Navua river was fun too, even after being soaked to the bone by a heavy rain at the end. If you like a bit of adventure and don't mind getting wet, that's the place for you. The restaurant at the resort is not bad. There is also a cluster of shops at Arts Village, about 15 minute walk away, where you can buy food. Overall I had a great time and would come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Australia

Amazing trip with wonderful staff

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Beach-side, free kayaking, great pool, helpful and wonderful staff, rooms were clean and secure, great view, easy to meet people, good entertainment.
Cons: maybe the coffee? haha
Location: Great location - easy transport to nearby areas. Many activities within a stone's throw from the resort.
Me: 23yr old student, stayed in garden-view Commodore (worth it). Upon arrival the staff enthusiastically welcomed us, took our bag and walked us to our room. There was a problem with the key and the man who took us to the room (I forget his name sorry!) insisted we relax while he ran back a couple of times to sort it out for us. This was just the first glimpse at the kindness and helpful nature of the staff at Uprising. One of the greatest highlights of our entire trip was meeting a man called Makai (not sure of spelling!). He climbed a palm tree and got us coconuts to drink complete with straw and tropical flower. He also showed us traditional cooking techniques and gave us a tour of the area explaining the uses of different plants and trees. An amazing person who alone is worth the trip to Uprising. From just the resort we could get massages, see fireshows, go kayaking and learn about the land and culture. Within 30 minutes from the resort we could do zip-lining, snorkeling and jet-skiing. All of these are a great time and well worth doing. Remember to bring sunscreen and aloe vera gel! (it's quite expensive in Fiji). Also the included breakfasts, specifically the omelettes made to order, are really really good. The outdoor showers are heaven. Pool and beach are great and where we spent most of our time. Due to the tours that come through the resort it is also a great place to meet new people and have a good time at the bar. Thanks to Uprising for an amazing trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockholm, Sweden

A stop-by at Uprising.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Simple n fast communication at booking. The location is very private, though close to shops n restaurants. Had a light dinner at Uprising - tasted marvelous! Would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney AUS

Nice Resort amazing breakfast buffet

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Our Bure was great
Cons: Maybe a small cover for the outdoor shower
Location: Arts Village is worth a look at 5 minute drive down the road from the resort
We loved our Bure that we stayed in definately will come back and stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Liu from Taiwan

Fantastic

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
It's so relaxing trip ! Heading on the picturesque beach and take your time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alzbeta from Slovakia

GREAT!!!

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
great!!!!
4 out of 5
by Todd from Australia - NSW - Hunter Valley

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The sunsets
Cons: The mozzies
Location: Good views
Facilities: Good; Value: Average price; Service: Friendly; Cleanliness: Pleasant; Great spot for day tripping to the Namosi highlands or out to Beqa Island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good place to stay, if you have enough resources.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Staff everywhere is very friendly, always says Hi and try to remember your name! Rooms get cleaned every day. Pool area is nice & the beach is long.
Cons: Restaurant: Too many options so that the nights you offer lovo/bbq, you have to scratch half the menu. Prices are way too high compared as well.
Location: Go diving with Aquatrek. They have shark dives and coral reef dives. Absolutely magnificent. You can also go snorkling. I also went horse riding.
I just spent the last week at Uprising while I was doing dive courses. The location of the hotel is magnificent. Long stretch of beach with palm trees and beautiful sunsets. I shared a Bure with other travelers (max4). The room itself was nice, although I had some allergy troubles. The shower is magnificent and feels like a little oasis. At the beginning I got a towel, but when I put it down for replacing, I never got a new one. Luckily I brought some myself. For two nights, the hotel put tour guides in my room, which I think is NOT DONE. They were annoying and messy (bathroom was disgusting after one night). I have worked in tourism myself and never once was put in a room with guests, not even my own. Give them their own! The bar is pretty good, staff is very friendly and cocktails look magnificent. When it comes to the restaurant, some changes could be made. The menu has too many options, which is difficult for kitchen staff (sometimes takes ages to get food). Some dishes come in huge portions while others are rather small, although they come at the same price. Prices are extremely high compared to other places I have stayed. The payment system is also not top notch. You can chose to charge it to the room or pay cash. I always paid cash, so I know how much money I am spending. But, at the end of my stay there was someone else's bill charged to my room. The trip desk next to the pool is very well organised. I booked two trips with them and everything was perfect.