Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

very friendly staff, convient location

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: hotel staff is very helpful
Cons: the heater isn't working well, however not very good this season
Location: nice location
very friendly staff, convient to walk to town center and lakeside, nice kitchen facility, very good for short term stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable motel easy walk to town centre.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Smart, clean & quiet. Good location.
Location: Five minute walk across the park to the centre of town for restaurants shops cafes & supermarkets. Nearest town for Milford Sound.
We had second floor apartment with balcony overlooking a park. Large lounge/kitchen, small TV with limited channels & DVD player. Dining table, settee armchair. Small bathroom with shower (wet room). No drawers, wardrobe. Well equipped kitchen; microwave, toaster, cooker, kettle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Te Anau

Friendly and clean

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location
Great location with short walk across the park to the Main Street. Room was clean and comfortable, just right for our overnight stay. Staff very friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

No way to treat a tired traveler!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Location, scenery
Cons: Better treatment by the host!
Location: Close to Milford Sound
When I checked in at the hotel, I received no greeting or welcome, what so ever. I presented my. Printed copy of Expedia confirmation stating that one night (of two) had already been paid for at the time of booking (in Feb.) The host rudely told me that he hadn't been paid and Expedia didn't work that way. I reluctly gave him my Visa to pay for the two night stay and he said because it wasn't signed on the back he wouldn't take it. I gave him my driver's licence with my signature and he rudely said that was no good to him. I explained that I don't sign my Visa card in case it got stolen...someone could easily copy my signature and that I had a special way that I signed my charges to validate them. He still wouldn't take it so I said do you want me to go somewhere else and he finally said ok. Then I asked him about the Wifi service and he rudely told me that the info was in the room because he didn't want to be bothered all of the time. When we got to the room, I asked him where the info was and he impatiently said, "I told you it's on the table!" I have never been treated like this by a host!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
Location: We did trip to Milford Sound, excellent. Hotel is close to town so was nice to wander around at leisure
It was excellent, great facilities, lovely owners, a real pleasure to stay there
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ruhiges Motel in Nähe zum Stadtzentrum

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: s. vor
Location: Ausgangspunkt und Unterkunft für Besuch des Milford Sounds, ggf. auch Doubtful Sounds
gut ausgestattetes Motel in fussläufiger Entfernung zum Zentrum, ruhig gelegen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Nice hotel in a great area

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Amenities and decor
Location: Unbelievably beautiful surrounds of Lake Te Anua and not too far by car to experience one of the great wonders of the world, Milford Sound.
Checked in early and then went and experienced the unbelievable Milford Sound
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington, ON, Canada

Community Kitchen & Comfortable room

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: This was a good quality hotel which seemed relatively new or updated.
Cons: No, it suited us very nicely.
Location: We used this location to go to Milford Sound so the location works perfectly.
It should first be mentioned that this is a 3 star facility, which based on our experience means the layout is mostly the same so functionality & cleanliness are important qualifiers. The Parklands hotel was very clean and comfortable and the room was a nice size, perhaps a little bigger that others we have stayed considering the kitchen as two doors down and shared by 4 or more rooms. Very functionable and kept odours out of hour room from cooking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yanan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by lorraine Urquhartfrom New Zealand - Canterbury

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: ''none'' owners very casual, not professional at all
Cons: Walls in Motel not sound proof
Location: grounds in a mess
Facilities: Nothing special; Value: Could be better; Cleanliness: Lovely; we could hear people in next unit talking. No l would not stay there again