Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mac from LaX,WI

Close to dining, state park, and entertainment.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Reasonable rates, clean, friendly staff, location.
Location: Entrance to state park was within walking distance. Some restaurants were next door or short driving distance. Downtown area nearby.
We had a wonderful time snowshoeing at Peninsula State Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jand and Dave from Wisconsin

Nice hotel near Gibraltor Grill and Julie's cafe.

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: Clean, quiet, nice decore.
Cons: Nada
We had a positive experience. Bed was comfortable. Place was spotless. Our fireplace would not ignite and a service man arrived and fixed it within minutes after we called.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Brookfield, IL

Warm hospitality in spite of chilly weather!

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The indoor pool and whirlpool were nice amenities. The hospitality was exceptional.
Cons: Even though it's only a two-story structure, we did struggle a bit getting the luggage up the stairs. We just weren't prepared for that; but managed
Location: The location is great-right on 42 near enough to downtown but not in the middle of the traffic. We enjoyed the trolly tour, shopping, and eating!
We visited Oct 20-22nd to view the fall colors...which were stunning. The staff was so helpful and welcoming. They cheerfully answered our questions and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. We definitely will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judy from Minneapolis

Great location for Peninsula State Park

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Clean, convenient, and very comfortable for our needs.
Location: We appreciated being near to the Peninsula State Park and easy walk to good restaurants and bike rental close by.
Great spot for my daughter from Canada and I to enjoy some time away together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Door county, Fish Creek.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Truly enjoyed this trip. The hotel was conveniently located near everything. Just nice enough, comfortable, quiet and excellent coffee with lots of variety at the continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mess from Wi

Close to Penisula State Park.

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Hotel is close to Penisula State park. Staff are wonderful. Hotel is comfortable. We enjoyed listening to the band playing at Gibraltars from the front deck. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Seasoned from Chicago, IL, USA

Nice facility with decent amenities

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Pros: The indoor pool was nicely kept
Cons: Older decor in rooms
Location: Location was great -- everything we needed was within walking distance and state park was right next door
We wanted to stay in Fish Creek because it appeared to be more centrally located in Door County, so we sought a hotel/motel in the area. My husband insisted we NOT stay at a B&B, so after reading many reviews we ended up at the Holmstead Suites. The hotel itself is clean and the staff is pleasant. Being late summer, the indoor pool was ideal and rather nice as indoor pools go. The continental breakfast typically consisted of mini-muffins, hard boiled eggs, cold cereals, coffee and juice. It was nothing special, but sufficient. The rooms were clean and well maintained, but as someone mentioned in an earlier review, very much in need of updating. The Inn does have indoor access between rooms and lobby along with an outdoor deck or balcony for each room. Our balcony faced the outdoor pool, which was nicely lit at night. The location was just a bit farther down the street from most of the other facilities, but still within walking distance, and the state park is right next door. All in all we found what we were looking for and had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jun 15, 2012
Well, what a pleasant surprise. I just spent 3 nights at the hotel and couldn't have been happier. I made the mistake of showing up a day late for a 3 night stay. (Just spaced out, I guess.) Homestead Suites acted like it was no big deal, adjusted my stay to extend an extra night, and did not charge me extra. The staff was very nice, really helpful. The room was large, with a coffee maker, micro and huge frig. The morning breakfast was adequate, not fancy, but just fine. The pool and hot tub were great. The hotel is located within walking distance of Peninsula State Park, so we could just walk over for a great hike. We could also walk anywhere in town and just leave the car at the hotel. I would stay here again, it was a great value.