Ratings based on 4,065 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Crewe U.K

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Located close to Pier 39 and Fishermans Wharf right on your doorstep.
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants, bars etc. Alcatraz, Hop on - Hop off bus which takes you all around the city and across the Golden Gate Bridge.
Room was spacious and clean and had a nice balcony and included a fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sidney, MT

Average hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We checked in to the hotel and were told it was under renovation. They told us the construction would be Mondays-Fridays beginning at 7:30 a.m. The hotel does not look very appealing from the outside. The lobby area is very small and had to walk through parking garage to reach elevators with access to rooms. The room itself was nice and newly renovated. The hotel was not what we were expecting and we changed locations after the first two nights in San Fran.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Great Staff very helpful and friendly

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The Staff and location!
Cons: See my note above about my experience.
Location: It is in the heart of fisherman's wharf, near the bus and rail lines. Very touristy, but that is why we were there. Walked to the dock for meals.
The staff at this hotel are some of the best I have ever been stayed. Now, the hotel itself is another story. We stayed on the old 2nd floor, which had NO ice machine. Floor #2 is to be renovated, they have completed floor #4 and were working on Floor #3 during our stay. The truck and noise would not be good for anyone wanting to sleep in late or take morning or afternoon naps. I was told that the renovated floor #4 is nothing great by those who stayed at it. Just newer furnishing and carpeting--at least they had an ice machine. I liked the location very much. We did not know that it was being renovated and had only 1 elevator, which was being overwhelmed during busy times.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AZ

great location but construction was a problem

Posted Mar 22, 2015
room was ok-- only one source of light in the whole room-- construction was a huge bummer, no fitness room or real life bbt in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and your room during your stay, in regards to the ongoing renovations, lack of fitness room and room lighting. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience as your comments are valued.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Construction sucked. Price should have reflected that.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom phx

Unhelpful rude staff. Poor condition

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Staff was unwilling to help us at all. Parking for guests at hotel is $57 per day. Staff was unwilling to give any info about other options. Refused to give rio llamar even though reservation listed it as option which we chose. Stated fire code restrictions. Hotel under construction/remodeling, noisy and many outside doors closed to access.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff, in regards to service. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best customer service. In addition, we are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel, in regards to the ongoing renovations and noise. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience as your comments are valued.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Under construction was a little confusing getting around hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under construction

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Men working outside of my window, areas blocked off and noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2015 by tsullivan@carlsonrezidor.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the construction noise. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

A realists point of view....

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Room
I've worked in a big city hotel and understand the logistics involved in running a smooth operation. I also understand what keeps guests upset and what makes guests happy. Just because something doesn't go right doesn't mean the customer will always be upset, it's how it's handled. Overall View: They are under construction. Our floor was completely re-done and was quite nice for an old hotel. Very comfortable room and bed. I have concern on the security of the rooms. Not in the door itself, but with the windows being at "ground level" where the parking lot is. I tugged on the window and saw the huge potential for someone being able to easily get in to our room. It worried me, but there is a safe in the closet. Why didn't I give this 5 star reviews? I was upset because we really wanted the pool and hot tub. In calling there, in booking online, and in reading reviews, there was no information that the hotel was under construction. We paid $165 (March 5th) and would have paid $265 if it had the pool and hot tub. I expected to pay $50 for parking a night, which I did, but I feel that it should be waived as all of your amenities at this property are not available because the construction. I would stay here again if I wanted to stay at the Warf. Great location. However we'll be staying downtown next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Demo Zone

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: location, staff!!!
Cons: finish construction
Location: it;s on the wharf basically. Be sure to stop at the organic cafe a block down on Beach Street.
The staff did a great job trying to overcome the construction, would definitely stay there again after the work is finished. The new rooms are quite nice, don't let them put you in an old room! Very disappointed in the price, considering the situation, discounts should be in force and the construction should not be a secret until arrival. Great staff, will be a nice place with great location when finished!