Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by David from Fayetteville, NC

Good as a last minute option

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Rosy was very helpful and friendly and had fairly good English. It was clean and we had good internet. It was on the 3rd floor with superb security.
Cons: Given the age of the building, I am not sure. A new plumbing system would help; it has a funny (but not terrible) smell. Breakfast was mostly packaged
Location: It is in a residential neighborhood with only a few small places to eat nearby. It is a good 10-minute walk to the train station, 20 to downtown.
We searched two months prior to our trip for a room in Florence with free Wi-Fi and had 6-8 better options for our budget 2-3 star range, but we waited until just a week prior to make our reservation and the other places were gone. As a last minute deal it was OK. The room felt old and furniture just thrown together. Double bed was two twins pushed together. However, it was clean. It is in a residential neighborhood with few tourists, which makes it safer, but it was also a 10-minute walk from the main train station, 15-minute drive to airport, and had few places to eat within going at least 5 blocks away. That was fine with us; we are happy to trade safety for convenience. At night it was a bit noisy from the street - mostly bus and scooter noises. I saw in other reviews it had an odd plumbing system and they were right. It is a noisy system like a water pump and emits a funny odor, though not terrible. It had good water pressure. Breakfast was mostly packaged food, though coffee was excellent, and there was no dining area so we had trays to take the food back to our room. It was OK, but I would try other places in same price range before going back again. It is not well marked from the street, just a small sign on a large building that has several other businesses on lower floors. The small 2-person elevator was very quaint and effective. Push the button for Belfiore to the right of the door and Rosy will answer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liz from oxford, uk

Great hotel, very good value

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Cost, location, facilities, breakfast.
Location: Florence is an amazing destination to visit, there is plenty to do for a couple of days and amazing restaurants and bars to frequent.
Great value hotel that isn't a value hotel. The hotel is on the 3rd floor of a traditional Italian building, there is a lift. The owner was extremely friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The room was of a great size and we had a nice balcony which we could eat our breakfast on. The breakfast is laid out in the kitchen but taken back to the room to eat. This worked perfectly for us and meant we could relax over breakfast without rushing. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk to the train station and about 15 minutes to Duomo, alternatively there is a bus stop around the corner which will take you right into the main areas of florence. All in all, I think it's the perfect hotel for Florence if you're for something good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from England

Good budget hotel in Florence

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Price, reasonable location, friendly and helpful owner.
Cons: Bathroom was adequate but could possibly do with updating.
Location: Interesting Roman site at Fiesole, otherwise there is loads to see and do in beautiful Florence.
We found the Belfiore to be an excellent low-budget option for Florence - just 10 minutes walk from the main station, and with bus stops close by. Located on the second floor of a historic building, there is a lift which feels a bit cranky but didn't let us down. Nice self-serve breakfast with cereal, breads, cakes, fruit and coffee. Very friendly owner with excellent English who happily researched bus times for us, and gave advice about places to visit. On the downside, our room looked over a main road which was noisy well into the night. However, overall we enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RC

Noisy surroundings

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was nice enough. Staff were friendly and rooms very spacious. Breakfast was a bit sparse and all packaged. But main problem was noise in the mornings. Right on a big main road with no ability to properly shut the windows so waking up very early each morning because of all the traffic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bus

Good economical option in Florence

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Economical option
Cons: One end of the hotel is above a busy street and the room can be noisy
Location: 10 mins walk from all the main attractions.
Great base for an economical exploration of Florence. Rosey was an amazing host and made sure we got the best from our experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by OP from worl traveler

Okay if on a budget, however read on ...

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, who try hard to please. Were helpful and kind - happy to make many recommendations, call taxi, etc.
Cons: Recommend to have breakfast around the corner or down the street instead. Apart from fresh coffee and yogurt, all else is packaged pastries/bread.
Location: Very convenient - near train station and on bus line. Can walk to hostorical center although about a 20 minute peasant walk.
Be warned that upon entering the building, you may be worried by the smell of smoke and unslightly carpet at the main entrance of the building. however, the B & B is within the building on one part of the 3rd floor. this is a budget room and that is what you will get. that said, I would still recommend one room. We were 2 in the "Mimosa" room at first which was small but quaint, clean and relatively quiet, with a private bathroom. I would only recommend staying in this room if it is available but not the others because it sits back away from the noisy street side. The bed was a bit slouchy, but not too bad. Would be good for a solo traveler or young/backpackers who are on a budget. Would be fine for 2 night stay if busy sight seeing all day. Without us asking, we were offered a larger room the second and third nights when it became available. We thought that was nice and believe the offer was made with good intentions. However, this was a mistake since that room (Iris, I think was the name on the room)) faces the noisy street and is not as nicely decorated as the smaller room. Also, the bathroom in that room has some strange plumbing. It worked, but was quite noisy and smelled a bit. No window and poor ventilation makes that bathroom less than desirable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good position

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Great position could walk to all sites very helpful manager old building but clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CFIGUY from New Mexico, USA

Convenient to train station and a good value.

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: Rosy -
Cons: The bathroom.
Location: Easy walk from train station - less than 15 minutes.
Bathroom was electric meaning an electric sump was used to dispose of the drain from the shower, sink and toilet. Breakfast was better than others in this category. The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff overcame any shortcomings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kirstine from Calgary, AB, Canada

Great place

Posted Oct 26, 2012
Pros: Location and size of room
We really enjoyed this place as it was close to the train station and really you dont need to take a taxi to get to the place. 10 min walk. Rosa was very nice and made a good cup of coffee. There was a laundry place up the street, so easy to do a load of laundry. Very central to everything we wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Not in the center but only ten minutes walk. Very homey and comfortable.