Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trefor from Connecticut

Comfortable hotel for an excellent price

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Location: The hotel is away from the hustle of the city center, but all the major sights and attractions are within walking distance.
The Convitto provided an excellent base for visiting the major attractions - museums, galleries, churches, the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio, bridges etc. being very close to the Boboli gardens and a short walk to the river. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Lucy from Chicago

It is a quite and boring hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: quite location, large facility.
Cons: They are all very nice to guests. Probably the physical space of the hotel created distance between hotel staff and guests.
Location: It's close to the famous bridge ponte vecchio, Pitti Palace and Uffizi
The hotel provide breakfast, but for the 5 days we stayed there, it seems we are the only family eat there. The food is not bad at all. They have coffee machine making cappuccino, latte milk, hot chocolate, and other hot drink choice. They provide warm milk for cereal that is very nice. Cooked dates is very nice. There are two kinds of juice. Yogurt, but no eggs in the morning. Croissants are warm. The hotel is clean and quite. The front desk lady helped us planed trips to Pisa and Siena. The location is little bit out of the center, but Florence is small, every where is in walkable. We do not see that is a big problem. It's a hotel nothing is wrong, but not excited about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice converted monastery hotel by Porto Romana

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: In front of bus stop! Breakfast options! Great view of Roman Door! Historical monastery feel to a hotel. Simple but nice. In quiet residential quarter
Cons: None.
Location: UNESCO Porta Romana; bus line in front of hotel; decent good restaurants, Vecchio Bridge, Giardino di Boboli park in front of hotel.
Wonderful facility w earnest staff and breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by DFields from USA

$200 basic room, living like a nun

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms remind me of a convent. It was extremely old, basic, and not much luxury for the expensive price. Having said this, there are 2 bus routes right outside the front door which was nice. However, for the price we should have gotten more for our money. Would try a different hotel next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob & Sharon from Clearwater, Fl.

Great Place

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Great facility. Definitely an old convent. The history is remarkable - ask for a pamphlet from the desk clerk. Staff was great and the location was relatively close (if you like to walk) to most of the sights. Hotel was clean, roomy and a place I would stay next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jag

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheena from England

Excellent location in the old area of Florence.

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Clean rooms, pleasant surrounding and helpful staff.
Cons: Outside signage was very small, and although outside the premises, we were searching and checking on the map as to where to go.
Location: On the city sight seeing bus route which was excellent. Beautiful gardens on the doorstep and only a short walk to the river and main attractions.
Short and pleasant walk to the river, although the bus stop is located very close should you be taking the linear bus or city sight seeing tour. Very pleased that we stayed here and would certainly return and recommend to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolynn from Toronto, ON, Canada

An inexpensive convenient alternative

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: price
Cons: Reception and elevator a bit worn out
Location: Easy walk to all tourist attractions
This is a cheap and convenient option for Florence... small rooms and simple and basic facilities.. but clean and convenient. AC is ok but a bit noisy. Great to get the hop-on hop-off bus right across the street for touring Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel that does the job well

Posted Mar 16, 2013
This is a simple but comfortable place, by no means luxurious. However, the rooms are up to date and clean. The location is excellent: a 10 to 15 minute walk to the Arno. There is a local bus stop for the 36/37 bus, which goes to Santa Maria Novella and the Central Train Station, just outside the front door. There is also a stop for the number 12 bus, which heads to San Miniato al Monte on the roundabout a few steps away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathleen from Washington, DC, USA

Wonderful accommodation walking distance to sites

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Pros: Atmosphere- the building is medieval, with a chapel and courtyard. Delicious breakfast! Very peaceful with many public areas.
Cons: In the winter, you can't go out to the grassy courtyard
Location: In a cute residential area, with 10min bus ride to/from train station, 15 min walk to Ponte Vecchio, 20 min walk to Duomo
Our stay here was a great experience! The staff members were very warm and accommodating, and the lodging is sooo unique. There is even a famous renaissance fresco in one of the dining rooms! It is right next to the Porta Romana, Florence's south gate, and also is across the street from the Boboli Gardens. It was wonderful to stay in a residential area with its own bakeries, restaurants and shops, but still be only a 20 minute walk away from the city center. There were very few tourists in the neighborhood. If you want to discover Florence at your own pace, I highly recommend Convitto della Calza. It is also a great value. The rooms were simple and modest, but impeccably clean, and the bathrooms are all new. If you get a chance, get the full or half-board plan, where the on-site chefs cook dinner... most amazing home-cooked Tuscan food you will ever find!!! I will be staying here each time I visit Florence, and I highly recommend it to anyone- young or mature couples, families, and also solo travelers.