Ratings based on 680 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old Florence hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
We stayed here for two nights in early December. Since we arrived by train, we picked the hotel for the high marks it had received from reviewers on travel website and for its location, easy walking distance to the train station (SNM). The staff was polite but not terribly friendly. For example, after checking in, I struggled for several minutes to open my room door, while a hotel staffer busied himself several feet away. He finally looked up to ask if I needed help only after I began to walk toward him. The rooms are decorated beautifully. My room, a single, was very comfortable except for the strong smell of mold in the bathroom. I know from past visits to Florence, that it must be very difficult to keep such old buildings free of mold and mildew, but this appeared to come from spots between tiles high on the walls around the tub. I must say, however, that my sister and brother-in-law's room had no such problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Perfect hotel, perfect location.

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Immediate attention upon arrival, room prepared and ready. Clean, furnishings beautiful, staff professional. Location close to train station and major sites. Breakfast on terrace dining room nice and view spectacular.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent, UK

Great position

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Very well situated, only minutes from the Duomo. Very clean and comfortable hotel but unfortunately the room we stayed in on the first floor was extremely noisy due to the plumbing system. The hotel staff did not bother to ask if we had a pleasant stay so we therefore did not have the opportunity to voice our views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great Florence vacation!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The staff was very helpful with tips about things to see and do.
Location: It is walking distance to all the historical sites.
The Baglioni was fantastic. From it's short walk from the train station to it's central location to shops, sites and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Exeter

Classic Italian Hotel in the centre of Florence

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Stylish and discreet with old world charm.
Location: Perfect location on the edge of the old city close to all Florence's main attractions. Don't miss the View from the top of the Duomo.
Throughly comfortable established hotel. Glorious views over Florence from top floor restaurant. Excellent breakfasts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lancashire

lovely hotel with with wonderful view

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: location and views, staff
Cons: mattress toppers for the beds!
Location: Perfect central location, walking distance to all Florence's main attractions v close to the Duomo and Ponte Vecchio lots of good caf├ęs and trattoria
Very friendly and helpful staff, amazing views from the restaurant , pity you couldn't have a drink up there on the terrace, food seemed expensive so we chose to eat out. Only disappointing feature was that our bed was very uncomfortable...rock hard! Everything else was good, v clean and beautiful hotel.Great exhibition of photographs too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rooms don't live up to lovely lobby & restaurant

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: convenience of location, elegant lobby & roof top restaurant
Cons: property was overpriced to comparable quality in Florence....should have revealed ongoing contraction at time of booking
Location: one of the best views of central Florence from rooftop restaurant...central to transportation & walkable to everything in city center
busy street location ( but also very convenient to everything)....there was ongoing renovation construction(that had not been disclosed at time of booking) that continued well into the evening....single room bathroom was the size of one you'd find in an RV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey, UK

Wonderful location, in the thick of it.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Cons: Keep the roof terrace available all day until later in the evening.
Great hotel. I would return. the ONLY reason not to give 5 stars all round is that The roof terrace is sometime closed. Such a shame. The hotel has an invaluable resource in that divine terrace, but is not utilising it fully. Otherwise, great location, great atmosphere, good breakfast, helpful staff, comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel indeed!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Perfect location to see the beauty of the city! Amazing views from breakfast room. Room was spotless and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom East Anglia

Beds are very uncomfortable

Posted Oct 12, 2014
This hotel is fine if you like a very hard bed, otherwise give it a miss! It also provides a rather poor breakfast. The roof garden is good though and the faciities are fine.