Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Great location.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Excellent location. An average hotel. The staff were quite miserable at times. The quality of the breakfast was average - nothing to write home about. It is however worth it for the excellent location if you're not looking for luxury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly.pa

Great hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Loved everything about the hotel, proximity to everything, cleanliness, room size. Extremely luxurious!! With that said some staff made us feel like they were doing us a favor by allowing us to stay there. Just one incident involved my daughter who is a type 1 diabetic and was having low blood sugar episode- we asked the person behind the bar for a juice- he had to get the bartender- did not come back for 10 minutes- in the meantime i ran next store to get a soda and she was halfway done by the time bartender came. Then he gave me a lecture for sitting there with a drink. I tried to explain but he kept interrupting and telling me it was not appropriate what I did. I said I would order something else and he turned his back on me. My daughter refused to have drinks there after this. Sad because everything else was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schwetzingen, Germany

One night stay in Florence

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: see above
Great hotel close to the Dumo, the Ponte Vecchio and the Piazza Della Signoria. The staff are helpful, the rooms very comfortable indeed, the food is good and the view from the terrace at the top of the hotel is wonderful. We will definitely return again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Beautiful roof top. It's priceless. Close to everything. Delicious breakfast. Comfy bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: See above
Location: See above
Right in the middle of things. Pleasant staff, somewhat small room but quiet (ask for room to court=shaft). Great air conditioning. Large and comfortable lobby. Generous breakfast (skip made coffe and ask for espresso). The best: roof terrace with fantastic view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nashville, TN

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The uniqueness of the rooms and the 'old' feel. Super clean and comfortable.
Cons: Everything was very good but my brother would not sleep due to partying crowds on the street under his window.
Location: Easy walking to EVERYTHING. We did bike and cooking tours.
Hotel Grand Cavour is in the heart of Florence and so convenient to all sites. The rooftop terrace bar with that spectacular view of the Duomo is priceless. Large comfortable and clean rooms. Staff was very helpful and the buffet breakfast is very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

PERFECT location

Posted May 26, 2015
The best aspect of Hotel Cavour was the location and view from my room. It's situated perfectly in between the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio. Walk out the door, turn left, walk 5 minutes and you're at the Duomo. 5 minutes in the other direction and you're at the Arno river. I was traveling by my self and felt entirely safe - even at night. Right next door is the Yellow Bar Restaurant. I ate their three times in two days. Delicious pastas and pizzas at a very reasonable price. Less than $10 for most choices. The hotel was average in terms of cleanliness and overall upkeep. I found the staff to be helpful, although not overly friendly. The noise level was very high at night due to the church bells and pedestrian/auto noise below. Bring some good silicone earplugs and you'll be fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co.

Wonderful!

Posted May 25, 2015
The location of the hotel was the first positive. In the heart of the city within walking distance of just about everything. The lobby was inviting and a good introduction to the individual rooms. The perfect size and ideal comfort for a short or lengthy stay. The window opened up to city streets being able to feel the excitement but when closed, quiet and private. I loved every minute of my stay and hope to return soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Never again

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The look of the entrance and restaurant/bar decor.
Cons: Smiling to the guest is not enough....a professional quality/housekeeping manager should inspect all rooms and make sure that everything is spotless.
Deceitful. When you walk in you think that you're in a luxurious place, and so therefore expecting the rooms to be the same...WRONG...Room was big, however it was filthy, specially the bathroom...disgusting; Complained and was told that they would sweep the room again for me...right, came back and it was still dirty, as it needed a hose down with bleach to make it clean. The walls were scratched and decor did not match the pictures. Couldn't sleep, as there were very loud street noises...They should invest in placing double windows to at least ensure a restful night when you're charging 200 euro a night for such old and dirty rooms. Internet worked well though...only good thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlantic City NJ

Everything is grand about Grand Hotel Cavour

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The lobby, the room, the staff, the location, the roof garden
Cons: After 5, there is a one drink cover charge for the roof top and mixed drinks are 12 euro. The hotel could consider offering guests a discount.
Location: Two blocks from the Duomo, a ten minute walk to Plaza de Repubblica, Plaza Signoria and the Uffizi & Ponte Vecchio. Fiftenn minutes to the Accademia.
We did a thorough search when looking for a place to stay during our ten day trip to Florence and we were smart and fortunate to select the Grand Hotel Cavour on Via Proconsolo. The lobby is beautiful and well maintained. The roof garden lounge has a drop dead gorgeous view of the city and the hotel is centrally located to everything you'll want to see in Florence. The front desk staff were great, language is not a problem anywhere in the hotel and our room was spacious compared to others that we have stayed while in Italy. The breakfast buffet was included in the cost of the room and was most adequate with long service hours. This is a great place to stay. 5 Stars.