Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

PERFECT location

Posted May 26, 2015
The best aspect of Hotel Cavour was the location and view from my room. It's situated perfectly in between the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio. Walk out the door, turn left, walk 5 minutes and you're at the Duomo. 5 minutes in the other direction and you're at the Arno river. I was traveling by my self and felt entirely safe - even at night. Right next door is the Yellow Bar Restaurant. I ate their three times in two days. Delicious pastas and pizzas at a very reasonable price. Less than $10 for most choices. The hotel was average in terms of cleanliness and overall upkeep. I found the staff to be helpful, although not overly friendly. The noise level was very high at night due to the church bells and pedestrian/auto noise below. Bring some good silicone earplugs and you'll be fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Co.

Wonderful!

Posted May 25, 2015
The location of the hotel was the first positive. In the heart of the city within walking distance of just about everything. The lobby was inviting and a good introduction to the individual rooms. The perfect size and ideal comfort for a short or lengthy stay. The window opened up to city streets being able to feel the excitement but when closed, quiet and private. I loved every minute of my stay and hope to return soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Never again

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The look of the entrance and restaurant/bar decor.
Cons: Smiling to the guest is not enough....a professional quality/housekeeping manager should inspect all rooms and make sure that everything is spotless.
Deceitful. When you walk in you think that you're in a luxurious place, and so therefore expecting the rooms to be the same...WRONG...Room was big, however it was filthy, specially the bathroom...disgusting; Complained and was told that they would sweep the room again for me...right, came back and it was still dirty, as it needed a hose down with bleach to make it clean. The walls were scratched and decor did not match the pictures. Couldn't sleep, as there were very loud street noises...They should invest in placing double windows to at least ensure a restful night when you're charging 200 euro a night for such old and dirty rooms. Internet worked well though...only good thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlantic City NJ

Everything is grand about Grand Hotel Cavour

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The lobby, the room, the staff, the location, the roof garden
Cons: After 5, there is a one drink cover charge for the roof top and mixed drinks are 12 euro. The hotel could consider offering guests a discount.
Location: Two blocks from the Duomo, a ten minute walk to Plaza de Repubblica, Plaza Signoria and the Uffizi & Ponte Vecchio. Fiftenn minutes to the Accademia.
We did a thorough search when looking for a place to stay during our ten day trip to Florence and we were smart and fortunate to select the Grand Hotel Cavour on Via Proconsolo. The lobby is beautiful and well maintained. The roof garden lounge has a drop dead gorgeous view of the city and the hotel is centrally located to everything you'll want to see in Florence. The front desk staff were great, language is not a problem anywhere in the hotel and our room was spacious compared to others that we have stayed while in Italy. The breakfast buffet was included in the cost of the room and was most adequate with long service hours. This is a great place to stay. 5 Stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooftop bar and great view

Posted May 16, 2015
Cons: The economy room rally needed updating.
The rooftop was the best part of this hotel along with the breakfast and location. The economy room we got was much more economy than I could have imagined and definitely not my typical standards, but it was clean and really just not updated like the rest of the hotel rooms. Noisy and hard to sleep there too but good location and cool rooftop treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Great location, very central. Breakfast was ok, but not amazing. Staff very helpful and friendly. The rooftop bar is a real plus - lovely views of the city!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Wrong time of year.

Posted May 4, 2015
We arrived at the end of April on a warm day. The room was too warm to sleep in. Unfortunately they do not turn on the A/C until May 1st and the staff was not helpful. We opened the window but the street noise was too loud to sleep. Only a few hours of rest the 1st night. Very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago, IL

in the heart of Florence

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Great hotel so close to the Duomo, walk to see David, the Pointe Vecchio, Good restaurants and shops next door and around the corner. Yummy breakfast. Nice bar for drinks and superb rooftop view bar, but we did not experience good service on the roof so we didn't stay up there for a drink.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Terrible

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I can't say what I really think, this is the third revision, so I'll say nothing. It was terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland USA

two days in Florence

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: nothing that I can say
Location: only there a day but we could have spent a week. Next day we went to Pisa.
We arrived around 7:30pm and the staff directed us to a restaurant about 100 yards down the road. It was a local hot spot. Fantastic food. Next day breakfast was great there is all kinds of stuff to see all around within walking distance. Saw the statue of David, there is an ice cream parlor right around the comer with the best Ice cream. Hotel has a top loft you have got to see. All around great hotel , central location was great.