Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Italian Tour

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: It is intimate, staff are friendly and you will know them by name.
Cons: I think they should have bistecca alla Fiorentina as a dedicated menu item and then I wouldn't have gone to Il Latini.
Location: Must sees: Uffizi, Accademia to see statue of David, Mercato Centrale to get your bollito at Nerbone, climb the Basilica di Santa Maria
We spent two nights at the Grand Hotel et de Milan, two nights at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni in Bellagio, two nights at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora Firenze, three nights at Covo dei Saraceni in Positano, and three nights at Hotel Raphaƫl in Rome. The competition was stiff, and while my wife and I most enjoyed Positano, we both agreed that the service at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora was most exceptional. The staff was best dressed and most helpful. It is the only place that I can still name staff members and we travelled last month. Marco the driver mapped out our walking tour, Marco the concierge arranged early morning tickets for the Uffizi and Accademia when there was no online availability, Francesca our bartender was friendly, and we even got to know the general manager Simone. I was most impressed that I didn't once have to pour my own wine or water at dinner. The food was refined. This is a boutique, intimate hotel. A drawback is the brief shuttle or walk to town, but well worth the price as compared to the St. Regis in town, and I am a Starwood Preferred Guest. Consider walking thru the Boboli Gardens to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tommy from london

Nice hotel close to all Museums and Train stations

Posted May 2, 2014
Hotel and staff were excellent, great choice for a weekend getaway/
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by The Dolans

Luxury at a price

Posted Apr 30, 2014
You get what you pay for, kind of. It's expensive but the hotel is definitely top-notch. Very luxurious and clean. Beautiful grounds. The drawback is anything extra like food and water is overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel. Very comfortable.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
We took our young son (3 years old) and all the staff made him feel very welcome. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam from London

Stunnning hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Close to Boboli Gardens and Pitti Palace.
If you go to Florence you must stay at Villa Cora. The place is stunningly grand from top to toe and the staff are excellent. We were upgraded to a suite complete with lavish furniture, works of art, 4 poster bed and 2 bathrooms! Although the hotel is just outside town, there is a free shuttle mornings and evenings. Alternatively, a taxi takes 5 minutes or you can walk in 25 minutes or so. Either way, it is worth it believe me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Best place I have been! Period

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Staff amazing Food amazing Decor amazing Outstanding place. 11 points
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel to amaze

Posted Nov 1, 2013
This hotel was a 5 star and much more will always return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mirror, mirror on the wall

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Villa Cora lived up to the reviews of earlier guests. The hotel is wonderful. Although we felt totally welcome, we were a little disappointed to find ourselves in the guest house and to observe guests staying in the 'big house' receiving short tours of the beautiful public rooms. The bathroom was lovely though way too small and our room did not have any mirror besides the one over the sink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Sheffield, UK

First class hotel, thoroughly recommended.

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Superb staff and a wonderful relaxing environment.
Cons: The only thing I can think of that could be improved would be room size. Definitely upgrade to deluxe, even deluxe is still quite small.
I chose this for a five-night stay in early September. I wanted one with a pool which limits the choice a lot for Florence. I read many reviews and based on those I chose the Grand Hotel Villa Cora. I did not regret my decision. This hotel is superb. It was totally refurbished a few years ago and there is not one shabby detail anywhere in the hotel or grounds. The staff were excellent, particularly the manager of the restaurant and the duty staff in the lobby. My wife used the spa facility and said the massage she received was the best she had ever had (she has had many!). The photographs don't really do this hotel justice, choose it and you won't regret it. It is well located, about a five minute ride in the hotel's courtesy minivan service but also walkable to/from the city centre. The service drops you anywhere you like in the city and will pick you up too if you call the hotel. We always got dropped off but walked back to the hotel, probably about 25 minutes from the Ponte Vecchio through narrow Florentine streets then a leafy suburb. We only ate in the hotel once because I wanted to experience as many different venues as possible but the food was delicious and we were presented with little complimentary dishes that showed the skill of the chef and were nice additions to our meal. I really liked the service, perfect balance between attentive and being in the background. If I ever return to Florence (and I hope I do) I will not stay anywhere other than Villa Cora.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The building, rooms and grounds
Cons: More breakfast options in the restaurant as only a buffet breakfast is available at 25Eur, a la carte should be offered as well in the restaurant.
Location: The Boboli gardens are close by, but nothing in the immediate area.
This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in! The grounds, reception rooms, restaurant and bedrooms are truly lovely. The swimming pool is a good size with comfortable sunbeds and luxurious towels, although it does get full mid morning and afternoon but the staff try and be as helpful as possible in trying to find a free bed for you. The only drawback is that the hotel is a 30 minute walk from the Duomo central area of the city, but the hotel does offer a free mini-bus service to take you too and from the city for most of the day except between 1:30 and 4:30pm. A taxi back tot eh hotel costs 10-15 Eur. My only criticisms of the hotels are that you need to remember that this is a 5 start hotel with 5 star prices and that there are no alternatives within a short walk e.g. a bottle of water is 8 Eur and and pizza is 10+ Eur. Also the staff are very helpful, but some of them to verge on being a bit patronising!