Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Decent hotel - could be improved

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Room was clean
Cons: The worn out carpet leading into the building, the overall hotel temperature and smell, front desk service.
Location: Fairly close to the train station, in a busy and somewhat noisy area.
This hotel is located amongst several on a street that feels a little bit like the last spot everyone stays before they head to the train station. It feels more like a student friendly zone than a place where you might want to stay with a family or if you are expecting a nice experience. The building felt a bit rundown and had a bit of a strange smell to it. It was also very warm in the building overall, but the temperature in the room was controllable and came down to be fairly cool. The front desk team seemed a little disinterested in customer service and were really just in the business of handing out keys and taking money. When I went to checkout there was no one there and I had to ring the bell to get someone to show up (this was around 11 a.m.). I could have easily walked out and just left my key, which felt a little strange. I happened to be checking out to go to another hotel due to the way I booked my last couple of days in Florence. The woman at the front desk asked where I was headed and when I told her the hotel name, she commented that it was a nicer hotel than the Accademia, having received three stars instead of their 2. Again, a little bit strange. The room itself was a triple, which I ended up with due to late booking. It had 3 twin beds placed in a relatively small space but it was clean. Again, if I were still a college student I wouldn't have had any issue with it, but it's not the greatest as an adult traveler or someone traveling with kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, quiet, good breakfast

Posted Jun 4, 2014
This hotel is very close to the main train station (Firenze SMN), yet on a quiet side street. Our room was very comfortable and they serve an excellent breakfast. The staff are very helpful and most speak adequate English. The hallways are a bit narrow, but as long as you're not hauling huge luggage, you will be fine. You can walk to the Duomo in about 10 min, the Ponte Vecchio in less then 10 min more. Check out the Galileo Museum while you're in that part of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple no frills room, great location

Posted May 26, 2014
This hotel caters to Rick Steves tour groups, and the manager explained that my room was not quite as good as the others because there was a tour group in at the time. So other rooms may be a bit less spartan than mine, which had one twin size bed and very modest furnishings; also my toilet/shower was down the hall, though it was for my exclusive use. Simple was fine with me: the bed was comfortable, everything was spotless, the breakfast was very good Italian style continental, the staff were pleasant and efficient, the area was safe for a woman traveling solo -- AND it was steps away from the church of San Lorenzo, very central to everything. There is a very nice little trattoria two doors down on the corner of Via Faenza that has a happy hour with tasty little bruschettas -- have an apero spritzer and enjoy the people watching.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mario

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT price, GREAT location

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: great loaction, great staff.
Cons: New bed linens
Let's face it, I booked this hotel for the price and it did not disappoint. Great location, friendly staff, good room. This is not a 5 star hotel, but it was perfect for my needs. Only complaint, the blanket on the bed was kind of dirty and the interent did not work in my room, had to go to lobby or courtyard. But who cares? I was there for the loaction! I would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from Chesham, U.K.

Fantastic central location.

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: The location was brilliant and we found ourselves in the middle of the main tourist spots after a few minutes walk.
Location: Driving in Florence is hard work and I don't recommend it. There is a parking garage nearby in Via del Giglio, but getting there is tricky!
We stayed here as a family of four (including two young children) and found the hotel perfect for what we wanted. The location is fantastic and all the main attractions were an easy stroll away. The room was quite large and accommodated all four of us quite comfortably. Everything was clean and tidy and the shower was great - we couldn't have asked for more. The buffet breakfast was good and our fussy kids found plenty of things to eat. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by mlm from Canada

Great location

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Close to the train station and close to all the sights of Florence. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vincenza from new jersey

Nice hotel to stay

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Hotel is clean and convenient to Center. Staff goes out of their way to make stay as comfortable as possible. Would definitely recommend for comfort, price, and convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by DM from Naples IT

It's not all in the fine print

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is dated and needs a remodel. EXCELLENT customer service and breakfast is adequate. Wifi works well. If you are driving be aware this hotel at the time of this stay stated "garage parking" but it is NOT owned by the hotel; it is public garage parking at 25 euros per day so be aware. Otherwise decent hotel and good basic value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel, Excellent Value, Great Location

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great little hotel in an excellent location, a few steps away from the central market, 5 minute walk to Duomo and 15 minute walk to the train station. Charming layout (though no elevators, so not the best for those who cannot handle the steps up to the main lobby or the smattering of steps leading up and down in a charming maze of rooms). Very clean and comfortable room, friendly service, good breakfast, great value - I will definitely recommend it and come back again!