Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G & M from Yorkshire, UK.

Hols

Posted May 27, 2013
Cons: Had to go down to use wifi.
Location: OK for us.
It is far enough from the center to be less expensive and near enough to walk down the river side to the center, if you are like a walk. The bus is a cheap option if you're tired though. Taxis may suit others. It is a bit faded and wifi is only available in the lobby. The staff were very helpful and always cheerful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A Fierling from Toronto, Canada

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the hotel as a stop over. When we arrived, the reception desk manager was great. He was friendly and very helpful. He answered our questions and gave us good detailed instructions about the bus schedules. He is very good. We were surprised of the condition of the hotel. Everything looks very tired. Beds didn't have sheets - only bedspreads over bare mattresses, and we had to request them. Bedspreads and carpets were stained. In the evening we went down to the bar didn't have any beer in stock.
2 out of 5
by Phil from Greece

Would NOT recommend this hotel.

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Cons: The room
Location: Too far out from the center of town.
The staff was nice and helpful. It was about a 20 minute drive by taxi from the train station. The hotel itself was old and in need of updating. Our bedroom carpet was really dirty. My skin itched from the over washed sheets and the bedspreads looked like they were also dirty. We took them off the bed. They did not have a lot to offer for breakfast. We stayed up half the night looking for another hotel online. Thankfully, we found one and checked out early the next morning.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The worst Hotel I have ever been

Posted Sep 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Sorry for being rude but it has been a very bad experience . I don't know who gave them the rate of 4 stars 1 star is more than enough . It's old dirty specially the bathroom , breakfast is very poor you can barely find food to eat Unhelpful staff and unprofessional . If you are searching for a good hotel it's better to search elsewhere . I don't recommend this hotel it's not good value for your money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catfish Potesta

Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
The item that stood out the most about this Hotel was the Italian & English speaking staff, especially the gentleman upon check in, who was very helpful with sight seeing travel tips, as well as other places to eat nearby as their in house restaurant was closed, on more than one occasion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

friendly and accomidating

Posted Jan 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
They were very nice, spoke english and helped me find a room that fit my needs for the trip. It was a bit out of town, but not a bad walk into the city center. There wasn't much of a view of the Arno River, but the walk along it was wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley

Over Rated

Posted Jul 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel only for one night because it was close to the center of Florence. The location was the best thing about the stay. Breakfast was included, but we were not notified that breakfast service ended at 0930 which is unusually early. The water in the room was shut off at 1015 AM, and no water was available. The TV was a 12" type and was terrible. The room was definitely not the 4 stars that it was rated. Probably more of a two star along the lines of Motel 6.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Do not recommend unless you get it cheap!

Posted Jul 20, 2011
This hotels was clean but was not up to par with the other hotels we stayed in during our trip. It was a long way from the action and has not been remodeled for about 20 years. There were many large tourist groups that stayed there. Beware that all the hotels we stayed at do not have free wi fi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fontinhas, Portugal / NJ native

Hotel Columbus in Florence

Posted May 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
I was in a single room. This room sufficed to lay my head down and sleep while I was in Florence for a visit and that how I looked at this hotel. I was there for Florence not the condition of the hotel. I've never stood over the toilet before while taking a shower. That place needs a major overhaul. I have no idea where they got 4 stars from. I stayed in a 4 star in Rome and it was significantly nicer than this one. If you need to put your head down somewhere in Florence for a cheap price, this might be for you. If not, look somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

Not in downtown, but within walking distance

Posted Mar 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very easy to locate off of the highway, and even though it was on the 'outskirts' of downtown, it was within walking distance of downtown. For the price, it was worth walking about 20 minutes into Florence. The hotel had free parking, and a breakfast. The breakfast contained yogurt, pastries and coffee... I enjoyed having it to start my day. The room was equipped with a TV, and 3 beds (as we had booked a 3 person room). I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in Florence, who doesn't mind the walk.