Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location and hotel itself.
Cons: Staff and breakfast.
We found this hotel to be conveniently located (walking distance to the train station and to main landmarks in Florence), clean and comfortable, and in a safe area. That said, we found the staff to be unpleasant and, at times, rude. Breakfast was mediocre; the worst we had in Italy. Out of the three hotels we stayed at in the main cities of Italy, this was our least favorite, which is too bad because the hotel itself and the location were nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel in the very heart of Florence!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Genuinely friendly and helpful staff, great location and a lovely room - all for a reasonable price!
Cons: The prices at the bar were rather high and we would have liked to have been made aware of the daily tourist tax for visitors to Florence in advance.
Location: Great location on one of Florence's designer streets. Easy access to attractions such as the Duomo and Accademia. So close to shops and restaurants.
From the moment that we arrived at the Hotel De La Ville, we were greeted warmly by the staff on the reception desk. There was no issue with safely storing our luggage until the check in time of 2pm and checking in was made very easy. The hotel could not have been in a better location, right in the heart of Florence, literally minutes away from all the main sights. Our room was lovely and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good and there was a wide range of food (from cereals, breads, pastries, meats, cheese, fruits and eggs) on offer for 'included' with room price. We felt that the cost of our room for the facilities and service we received represented very good value. Throughout our stay everyone at the hotel was friendly and willing to offer help and advice as needed. This continued when at the end of our stay we had a later flight and we were able to leave our luggage to collect later into the afternoon. Overall staying at the hotel certainly enhanced our 4 night trip to Florence and we would recommend the hotel unreservedly to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel in a very central position

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Stayed here for 2 nights to "do" Florence. Is situated very centrally, right in the main shopping area and everywhere is walkable. Very comfortable, clean and good breakfast buffet. We arrived by car, excellent directions on the website, and they parked it for us - very easy. Give them 20 mins notice to get it back. Paid all taxes due to the hotel so it was simple. Would recommend for central location and helpfulness of staff. Air con not brilliant but a very good experience nonetheless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Perfectly located for everything.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Surprisely, our superior room was upgrated to two level suit. It was very nice ( despite we used only one level - was realy spacios!). The feeling was, like we stay in 5 stars hotel. Helpful staff. Convineently close to station -6 min with empty hands, but eith lugguge 15 min, very rough road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We chose this hotel because we wanted a nice hotel that was close to both the train station (without being on a noisy street) and top attractions. We were not disappointed. This hotel is only about a 5-minute walk from the train station but is located on a very quiet, yet ritzy street. There are no cars allowed on the street (unless you need a taxi) and the stores along the street are all high fashion designers. The Duomo, Piazza della Signoria, and the Ponte Vecchio are also a short 5-minute walk. The hotel staff were great and so were their restaurant recommendations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Central to main sites and transport links

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: As mentioned above.
Cons: Bathroom and breakfast
Location: As mentioned earlier
Excellent all round bar the size of the bathroom which was very small and unfortunately had the shower in the bath. Space taken up by the bidet! Reception staff were pleasant at all times and helpful. Bar was well run by excellent staff. Air conditioning system excellent and a blessing after temperatures of 36degrees. Breakfast was ok but continental in nature so choice restricted to the British perhaps but there was plenty of food available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, solid hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed, and lovely bathroom. Great location.
Location: Very near the Piazza Republica, and not far from the Palazzo Veccho.
My sister and I stayed here for one night at the end of a two week vacation in Florence and the Tuscan countryside before a very early 6:30 am flight back to the states. We had already been in Florence for one week at the beginning of our stay in an amazing apartment. We found the Hotel de la Ville to be very comfortable and convenient. We did not eat break fast at the hotel since we had to leave so early for the airport, so cannot comment on it. The only thing I did not like is that the air condition did not get as cold as we would have liked it, but it wasn't overly warm. I would stay at the Hotel de la Ville again under similar circumstances.
3 out of 5
by Frequentflyer62

Good Location -- Disappointing room

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff in the reception
Location: The property is about location, location, location. Top historical landmarks, museums and squares are nearby. In addition, luxury shopping too.
I arrived very late due to flight delays. Disappointing room for one person. When I walked into my designated room, I could almost stretch my arms and touch the walls with my fingertips. The minute size of the room seemed like it was made for a movie set. Almost similar to the room for character Gustave H--a scene out of Wes Anderson's Grand Budapest Hotel --due to the size of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Florence from Texas. U.S.A

Good hotel, Great location

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Very comfortable stay. Lovely room, Good size, shower fair size too. Good breakfast as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanne from Encinitas CA

Nice hotel - good location.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
A very nice hotel with a location convenient to the train station, restaurants and shopping. And a very good breakfast.