Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, England.

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Great location and helpful staff.
Cons: It would be nice to have sandwiches available in the evening.
Location: Perfect location - everything within 10 minutes walk.,
From the moment we arrived the staff at Hotel dei Macchiaioli were wonderful. I was meeting up with my son and his girlfriend and we had two bookings but the staff put us close together in the hotel. Our rooms were clean and very comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The breakfasts were plentiful and the hours meant you could still have a bit of a lie-in if that's what you wanted. At the other end of the day, the bar was always available and reasonably priced. Tours are available from Paulo and although we didn't use them he was generous with his wide knowledge of the city and gave us lots of tips for enjoying the best of Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Great Location in the heart of Florence.

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Enjoyable 2 night stay. The hotel was close to all the main sights and museums. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Macchiaioli

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Very clean hotel in a good location in Florence. Staff very friendly and helpful. More than adequate continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BardPen from England

Good hotel, good location

Posted May 25, 2014
We stayed here for 4 nights. We had a lovely, light and airy room, nicely decorated. The communal areas in the hotel are also well decorated – there is a pleasant sitting room with deep sofas, nice reception area and lovely dining room with ceiling frescos. We enjoyed a good buffet breakfast each morning with a variety of pastries, croissants, etc. It took us around 15 mins to walk from the train platform to the hotel. Once there it is very well located within a few mins walk of the Duomo, the Accademia, Uffizi, and other main attractions. There is no lift from street level but the receptionist kindly carried my case up the lovely marble stairs for me and there is a chair lift for guests who need it. All rooms are on the first floor. The staff are all very helpful, booked our tickets into the galleries by phone and were generally very friendly and welcoming. We really enjoyed staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alba from canada

Location location

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Wonderful!! Staff is friendly, helpful & knowledgable ... First experience in an Italian hotel...no regrets! Hope to return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bon78 from Somerset

Friendly hotel in afantastic location

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just back from a 3 night stay in Florence. The hotel couldn't have been in a better place - minutes away from the Duomo and central Market and easy walk of everywhere else. Staff were very helpful and welcoming, breakfast was fine and rooms very clean, spacious and comfortable. Weather was great and queues for attractions very short. A fabulous break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathleen Malone from California

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved this hotel; it was our favorite of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy! The employees were beyond helpful. Their recommendations were perfect- anything at all that we needed was arranged. The breakfast and breakfast room was ideal. The hotel is renovated and located in a beautiful historic building... They made being an American in a foreign city very simple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roselyn from Singapore

Hotel close to center of everything!

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Nice and quiet with homely atmosphere.
Location: Located on a main street of Florence. A short walk to Galleria degli Uffizi, Galleria dell'Accademia and Ponte Vecchio.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great location on a quiet street near the Duomo.

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Very good location on a quiet street! Our room had a small patio but we couldn't enjoy it as it didn't have chairs or a table...
Cons: The room was very good except that the shower was not draining properly and despite two attempts they couldn't fix it.
Location: Make sure and hire Paolo for a walking tour. His English is great, his historical knowledge is excellent. Nice style, pace and lots of passion.
The hotel is a 3 star. Clean rooms. No elevator but they'll help you with your luggage. Breakfast served in a very nice room with a frescoed ceiling. Bfast is a standard tourist fare.