Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel next to train station

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: big room
Cons: more elevators breakfast
Location: next to train station and walking distance from main attractions
good: 1 god location next to train station. 2 rooms are big for european standards. 3 the staff was nice and willing to help. not so good 1 breakfast was included, it was ok, and better than other hotels in italy. breakfast is nit that good in italy. 2 the elevator are slow and there are only 2 of them so sometimes you have to wait a few minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location is the only things for these hotel, bit noisy and will said is 3 star hotel, breakfast not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RETIRED from UKJ

believe it when you see it

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Good value for the money and very near the bus and train terminals
Cons: no handrails on some of the stairs
Location: buy A GUIDEBOOK
we were very apprehensive after reading reviews on" trip advisor." I wouldn't say this was a 4 star hotel but the room was good, breakfast varied and plentiful and staff quite helpful. Location useful but not picturesque, however only a short walk from centre attractions. Be aware thar the Diplomat and the Ambassador are the same hotel and accessed through the internal corridor..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Suzan from Florence

Great Experience, Great Location

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
This room was conveniently located to the main train station, although it is not on the river as the picture depicts. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was the best one I had on my trip and everything was very professionally managed. Great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ms Y.

Nice hotel right by the train station.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Good location-across the street from the train station. Good breakfast.
Location: Near train station.
Very nice hotel. Receptionist was very helpful, she automatically gave us a map and circled the top places to visit. Not too far from main places to see (10-25 minutes walking depending on what u were walking to).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Debashis Kushary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by rito from england

Good location, clean and decent

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Location, right next to the station SMN
Cons: Communication could be improved. Our locker was not worKing and I reported it straight away, never got fixed for the 5 nights we stayed.
Location: Walk to all local sightseeing places. Take a taxi to Piazza michaelangelo if you have kids as is a uphill climb. Cost us 25 euro on a bank holiday.
This is certainly not a 4 star hotel it claims. They share their breakfast area with hotel ambassador which is the sane chain of hotels . The room was clean, but breakfast not so good. Sausages were often stale and best to avoid. Overall the location was just right, found it a but too pricey for what it offered .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from USA

Convenient

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very easy access to train station, across the street. Also a lot of street noise in our front room. Good services and very clean.
2 out of 5
by Joseph from Los Angeles, California

Not really a 4 star hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: My room and bathroom were large.
Cons: Manager should stop using a picture of the Ponte Vecchio in their ad, turn on air conditioning system year round, and tell staff to be more friendly.
Location: Centrally located, but immediately adjacent to the train station so there many lower level folks hanging around.
This hotel uses a picture of the Ponte Vecchio in its ad, so I thought I was staying on, or near the Ponte Vecchio or the river. Actually, this hotel is located immediately next to the Florence train station. During the period I was in Florence, early April, it was quite warm so the room was very hot. I found out that the hotel does not turn on its air conditioning system until mid-June. I tried opening the room window, but because my room looked out directly on the train station, there was a great deal of street noise. I had to choose between in a very, very hot room and opening a window to a very noisy street which prevented me from sleeping. I doubt the Diplomat is truly a 4 star hotel. On the plus side, my room and the bathroom were fairly large. The breakfast was good.