Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location is the only things for these hotel, bit noisy and will said is 3 star hotel, breakfast not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RETIRED from UKJ

believe it when you see it

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Good value for the money and very near the bus and train terminals
Cons: no handrails on some of the stairs
Location: buy A GUIDEBOOK
we were very apprehensive after reading reviews on" trip advisor." I wouldn't say this was a 4 star hotel but the room was good, breakfast varied and plentiful and staff quite helpful. Location useful but not picturesque, however only a short walk from centre attractions. Be aware thar the Diplomat and the Ambassador are the same hotel and accessed through the internal corridor..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ms Y.

Nice hotel right by the train station.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Good location-across the street from the train station. Good breakfast.
Location: Near train station.
Very nice hotel. Receptionist was very helpful, she automatically gave us a map and circled the top places to visit. Not too far from main places to see (10-25 minutes walking depending on what u were walking to).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by rito from england

Good location, clean and decent

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Location, right next to the station SMN
Cons: Communication could be improved. Our locker was not worKing and I reported it straight away, never got fixed for the 5 nights we stayed.
Location: Walk to all local sightseeing places. Take a taxi to Piazza michaelangelo if you have kids as is a uphill climb. Cost us 25 euro on a bank holiday.
This is certainly not a 4 star hotel it claims. They share their breakfast area with hotel ambassador which is the sane chain of hotels . The room was clean, but breakfast not so good. Sausages were often stale and best to avoid. Overall the location was just right, found it a but too pricey for what it offered .
2 out of 5
by Joseph from Los Angeles, California

Not really a 4 star hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: My room and bathroom were large.
Cons: Manager should stop using a picture of the Ponte Vecchio in their ad, turn on air conditioning system year round, and tell staff to be more friendly.
Location: Centrally located, but immediately adjacent to the train station so there many lower level folks hanging around.
This hotel uses a picture of the Ponte Vecchio in its ad, so I thought I was staying on, or near the Ponte Vecchio or the river. Actually, this hotel is located immediately next to the Florence train station. During the period I was in Florence, early April, it was quite warm so the room was very hot. I found out that the hotel does not turn on its air conditioning system until mid-June. I tried opening the room window, but because my room looked out directly on the train station, there was a great deal of street noise. I had to choose between in a very, very hot room and opening a window to a very noisy street which prevented me from sleeping. I doubt the Diplomat is truly a 4 star hotel. On the plus side, my room and the bathroom were fairly large. The breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Family trip from gloucester. UK

Nice hotel close to station and few mins to centr

Posted Jan 1, 2014
It is very good close to station hotel. Breakfast was very nice. Staff were very helpful. Expedia needs to clear about the city tax more clearly. Bus and train station very close.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014
2 out of 5
by George from London

Perhaps it was just bad timing...

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Bathroom, breakfast
Cons: Lobby, elevators
Location: Close to train station. In the center of Florence, really. So, plenty of stuff to do there.
I went there for a night because I had a two-day meeting at the nearby Fiera. I got to the hotel around 6pm and it was already dark. My first impression was that I must have arrived at a homeless hotel or something. Perhaps the timing was bad, but there were about 5 shady-looking individuals in the lobby, and a couple of the, kept trying to flirt with the irl at the desk. I felt sorry for her, obviously she was trying to be polite. In any case, had I not paid already, I probably would have walked out of there! The elevators were kind of iffy. The room itself was mot bad at all. The bathroom was quite nice. Breakfast was pretty good onthe5th floor, though I did mot eat any of the meataamd cheeses since I'm vegan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013