Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Trevor

Excellent hotel for peace and quiet

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a fantastic hotel for the money. The room was large and comfortable and the facilities very good including two swimming pools. The accomodation is in blocks spread out around the very nice grounds and the staff were very helpful. The location is a fair way from Florence up in the mountains which makes it peaceful and quiet - just the job. Buffet meal with a man with a guitar on the Thursday was very good. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris

Far away

Posted Jun 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel thinking it would be an ok commute to Florence to see the sights, it wasn't. We ended up leaving and booking another hotel in Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Room 77 - The room with a view!

Posted Apr 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is the room you need... the view is just amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

close to The Mall

Posted Apr 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
Beautiful property....will need more than a night to enjoy the place...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Beautiful place, but difficult to find

Posted Apr 20, 2011
Fattoria degli Usignoli is exactly how I had pictured a Tuscan hotel. The grounds were beautiful, and a perfect place to relax. We visited in April so it was quiet except for the workers bustling about getting ready for the tourist season. The owner was accommodating, but quite reserved. The rest of the staff were extremely friendly, especially the girl who served the breakfast area by herself and also helped in the restaurant at night. The breakfast buffet was substantial. In addition to the typical Italian breakfast of a croissant and coffee (which was served with hot, steamed milk in a separate pitcher) were plates of prosciutto cotto, salumi and cheese as well as hard boiled eggs, breads, yogurt, canned fruits, cereal, juice and milk. Nothing exotic, but tasty. The hotel's restaurant is adequate with a nice atmosphere, but not the best food we had in Italy by any means. However, not many other restaurant options close by. Pastas are probably a better choice than sides or main dishes. Gnocci with leeks and pasta with mushrooms were both good. Ribeye steak came sliced over arugula. Flavor was good, but the quality of the meat was not. Our issue with this hotel was finding it after dark. Directions on Google are not the same way the hotel recommends from Florence. After describing where we were, a staff member kindly came to get us in a nearby church parking lot. I would go back now knowing how to get there, but most importantly would make sure my GPS was working!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Italy

This is not 4 star quality

Posted Sep 11, 2008
First, if you have any problems walking do not go to this Hotel! You have to park outside the hotel compound and walk up and down for awhile before reaching your room. Room had NO air conditioning, and not even a trash can. The service was also less than desired. Also, our shower door was broken off. To many problems to list. pay a little extra and stay in a real 4 star. By the way, I have lived in Italy for 6 years; so I am aware our the differences in service ratings from Europe and US standards. my wife is also Italian, and she hated this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Great Villa, but not 4 star

Posted Jul 16, 2008
Stayed for three nights at this Hotel in July 2008. Very difficult to find, so have a navigation system. Beautiful property with nice out of the way location. The grounds looked liked a four star, European standards, but the actual room (no aircon, so can be very hot during the day), the breakfast, access to bell boys, etc is more like a two star. Lots of European families stay here, so be prepared for late nights with lots of very loud children. I saw one family wanting to leave beacuse they were kept up all night by children above their room. We did not have this problem, and had two children with us. You must walk down hill to the rooms, so if you are older, it can be difficult, plus over sections of gravel. If you ask, a person will help move your luggage with a small truck. Overall, a good find, and if you are not looking for real 4-5 star standards, a nice place to stay. Oozes character!