Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cap from sydney

Great location but noisy

Posted Jun 2, 2014
This hotel has an excellent location, walking distance to major sites and main train station. But it was quite noisy (street noise from outside) even with the windows closed. I had an in-room shower, sink, tv & kettle. Toilet was shared but there was only one, which can be inconvenient if you're in a hurry. Staff was efficient & helpful.
3 out of 5
by pixie from london

Love only for the location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: should inform the room has no shower upon confirmation of booking. these are very misleading
pros: -Location 5 minutes to major attractions in Florence cons: -room not as mentioned In expedia, small room with no shower ensuite given upon arrival instead of what listed in Expedia -Loud sound from outside -really tiny room (not suitable for clusterphobic)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the Duomo

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: The location, friendly staff, comfortable bed, and warm room (I visited in winter).
Cons: The towel for the shower was really old and uncomfortable.
Location: The location cannot be beaten. It is less than a 5 minute walk to the Duomo and train station. It's about a 10 minute walk to the David and Uffizi.
I had a great experience at Hotel Giappone. The owner was helpful (let me store my bag until my afternoon train). The location is perfect. No more than a 10 minute walk to any of the major sites in Florence. There's even a great little outdoor/indoor market I stumbled upon just a few minutes from the hotel! Would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by doug from us

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
other than location you get what you pay for. i would not go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chip from Chapel Hill, NC

Be Ready to Climb Stairs

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The location. Just minutes away from the train station and a very easy walk to the Duomo, Accademia, and Uffizi.
The hotel is located about 10 minutes from Florence's Santa Maria Novella train station. It is located right in the heart of the city. Three big drawbacks: a 5 story climb to the check-in desk (no lift), a shared toilet down the hall, and no breakfast served. The room we had was very tiny (we've come to expect this throughout Europe), a bit cramped, a bit noisy starting around 7 am since our room overlooked a busy sidestreet running into a main thoroughfare. Our room was blessed with plenty of tea, sugar, and a working tea kettle (be sure to take a converter). The towels were a bit rough, but large. The proprietess was very accommodating and even contacted our hotel in Rome and re-confirmed reservations without charging us for the LD phone call. She warms up to you once you try to converse with her a bit. You also can't argue with the hotel rates as this was the most inexpensive hotel that we stayed in during our entire 2 week sojourn throughout Italy ----- all in major cities. And, again, the location was absolutely first-rate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Vancouver, BC

Budget hotel close to train station and sights

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Location and price
Location: The old city sights and museums are nearby. Many nearby restaurants and stores.
We chose this facility based on price and location. It has a good location within walking distance of Florence's sights and is close to the SMN train station. There is no elevation in this building and this hotel is a small 1 level hotel on the 3rd floor (4th floor for North Americans). Having stayed in similar hotels this one did not disappoint as we did not have high expectations. Our room did not have a toilet but we had a sink and shower stall. The A/C works quite well. There is no breakfast available but there are nearby coffee shops and a McDonald's about 2 blocks away at the train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to downtown and train station, no elevator..

Posted Oct 5, 2013
except for the lack of elevator and hotel being on 4th floor it has good service and staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a wonderful stay!

Posted Sep 11, 2013
The hotel is very central and it is easy to roam around Florence and there are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Juan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from USA

Great value and location!

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
I recommend it. The hotel is only a 6 minute walk from the train station and 2 blocks away from the Cathedral. We had a great view from our window. The only things that were a bit inconvenient was the small shower which was hard to move around when you are inside of it. There is no elevator and you have to climb 3 stories to get to the hotel.The staff was friendly and very helpful.