Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Short walking distance from city centre

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Location: The hotel is a 15-20 min walk from the city centre. We did the duomo, the bell tower and the statue of David all in one day!
The hotel was clean, the colour scheme of the room very pretty. The only complaint I have is that the hair dryer blew out air smelling of cigarette smoke... I couldn't dry my long hair after showering. The room was VERY spacious, a definite plus for 2 girls with large suitcases. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are on a bit of a tighter budget.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Fortezza de Basso and to the centre of town
Cons: Whilst I appreciate that is a three star hotel, the furnishings, furniture and deco are very 1970s. It could do with modernisation.
Location: Near Fortezza de Basso and 10 minutes walk into the center of Florence.
The hotel is very located for Fortezza de Basso which is where I was attending a trade show. It is literally a 10 minute walk there in one direction. In the other direction it's a 10 minute walk to the centre of town. It is on a fairly busy road so if you don't like too much noise it is not a hotel for you. Fortunately the rooms towards the back of the hotel were quieter for my one night stay. The staff were pleasant and spoke good English. The room was simple, clean and very reasonably priced but the breakfast was disappointing and quite limited. I would have very much enjoyed a full breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for the price

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hard beds, in a weird set up, but private bathrooms & friendly staff in a decent neighborhood. Set on a busy traffic street though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014
this was our second time to stay at Hotel Golf. The hotel is nice enough; however, we chose it again as it has a secure parking area. The location is a good 15-20 minute walk to central Florence, so location is not too bad. Facilities were nice; breakfast decent, but the staff was not friendly. If you drive there, but sure to have good directions as the directions given in their website is not at all adequate nor accurate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wilda from Canada

Good place to stay

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We liked this hotel a lot. It is very well located, close to the train station and walking distance to interesting attractions. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Good value for the money, we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will from Belmont, CA

Close to Train Station and Downtown

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Value-priced, decent location.
Cons: Would be nice to maybe have one English news or something (BBC or CNN or ?) channel. Did watch 80's MTV videos one night which was nostalgic. ;-)
Location: Not too far of walk to the edge of downtown, maybe ten minutes. Very good restaurants on the right side of street walking back towards train station.
Spent a couple nights here while experiencing Florence for the first time with my wife. We took the train up from Rome and the hotel is a short, less than ten minute walk. Along the way on the left side of the road before the "Y" in the road are some nice reasonably priced restaurants which are probably better priced than right in town. Actually we had some of our best meals there, and some nights the places were packed! If you feel the need to be right in town, in the thick of things, you will probably pay the price and more for a comparable hotel. The breakfast was decent and got us going each morning. The wifi was fast and room comfortable enough; who spends much time in the room anyway? The staff were all pretty good, Marco the most animated and fun. I asked, why the "Golf" name? Even though there is a golf ball attached to the room keys that you leave at reception (kind of old-school), the owners I guess just liked a short, simple name for a hotel. *shrug* Hey, it works! There is also a large-ish supermarket where you can get provisions if needed; beer, wine, water, veggies, fruit, really anything. If facing the front of the train station it is to the right, across another street. This should not to be confused with the large, large building market, old-school type where you have butcher stalls, produce stalls and the like. There are also a couple stalls serving up hot meals; a great place for a reasonably priced lunch with many locals eating here too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by the traveller from london

hotel golf

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Closer to the city centre than I was expecting. However it is on a one way system so hard to access by car if you don't know your way around. Complimentary car park is tiny and was locked when I arrived (10pm). Plus side there is street parking which is free 8am-8pm. The hotel room was nice. English channels on tv would have been nice. Light in bathroom got very hot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa canada

Clean and friendly,

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Clean good price with free parking.
Cons: New mattresses ,more variety for breakfast.
Mattress not good but changed on request,attractions twenty or thirty min. Walk. Restaurant five min. walk. We had a large room for thee adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laszlo from Hungary

Reasonable value for money

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: It is in walking distance from all famous historical sights of Florence. There are no tourist groups in the hotel.
Cons: Kindnesst and helpfulness of hotel staff.
Location: The hotel is next to the main railway station on a busy mainroad, but very close (15 minutes walk) to the historic centre (Cathedral, Palazzo Vecchio)
The hotel is ok, but not perfect.We booked it because of the vicinity of city centre and free parking. Anyhow we had to argue with hotel staff for a parking lot at arrival and also for a better room (the first we were offerd was a small and noisy one on the steetfront side) The room was clean and ok. Breakfast was also reaonable. Overall the hotel is acceptabele and very well located.
3 out of 5
by Duck

Only good for parking

Posted Aug 20, 2013
As another person mentioned in their review, this hotel is helpful for parking as parking is very expensive in Florence. However, do expect to have to fight for a parking space as the parking is not guaranteed and whilst they say that there is parking on the road outside, it is meter parking and extremely expensive. If you are looking for a new, clean hotel with a good breakfast this hotel is definitely not for you.