Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gioconda albergo

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Good location . Close to the train station and the duomo . Hard bed . Nice staff . Got what you pay for .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from syracuse, ny

Terrible hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Only good thing about this hotel was the locstio. Dirty, no elevator and no bell hop, very small room, ac didn't work or when it did it made awful noises. The German lady at front desk should be fired but maybe she owns the hotel. Will never go back there or tell anyone I know to ever stay there. Very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Good location, not great hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Staff was very nice, rooms are the smallest I've ever been in and seems to be not even finished
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Convenient and covers basic needs!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location!!
Cons: A/C machine would need some servicing and perhaps shower curtains?
Location: Close by: restaurants, market, shops, train station EVERYTHING IDEAL LOCATION!!
We stayed 5 days at this hotel and only had minor complaints. Staff greeted us warmly and provided us with tourist information that would be useful. Assisted us with planning and day trips we wanted. Breakfast was an additional cost but minimal cost and great spread. Rooms were spacey (we were 3), and allowed us to unpack for our stay with waredrobs and drawers. Quiet location with no street traffic noise, convenient location that allowed quick access to the train station, sight seeing spots and great restaurants/shops. The couple of negative points were: - the stairs : we are young and fit and found them challenging after a long day of walking around - but not mount everest. There is no elevator at this location and multiple stairs to climb to reach rooms; - the a/c in our room was a little old and provided clunks and clangs during our nightly slumber. Did cool down the room but was by no means silent in its labor; - shower: no shower curtain or walls above the tub caused some interesting showering technics to be developped to avoid "washing" the bathroom (however typical of italian bathrooms), we perfected the bath/shower maneuvers. Overall this hotel was perfect for our needs, and was still very enjoyable and comfortable and we would definitely book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Esra from London

Great Location

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: The hotel is old and needs updates. Our bathroom was extremely small and difficult to use. An overweight person would not be able to pass the door.
Location: Location was central. The Dome is the nearest place to visit. Uffizi, the accademia, Ponte Vecchio... all the piazzas were at walking distance.
The location of the hotel was great. We were in the middle of the historical center of Florence. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel needs some updates but the value for the money was great too. I would go back there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elena from Virginia

Very close to major sights but very moldy bathroom

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very close to the train station and major sights. Shopping and restaurants are all around, with reasonable pricing and good food and coffee. Breakfast is quite generous in the hotel. Hotel staff are very nice and welcoming. Hotel needs face lift, especially bathrooms. Lots of mold on the bathroom walls and floor. Bathroom needs urgent major clean up with proper cleaning agents to remove mold or re-tiling in my opinion. Bathtab and vanity are clean/new otherwise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Eric from London

Happy overall

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall we had a pleasant stay. Our room looked a little old but served its function. It was freezing during the night and we had no control over the room heating. It's on a timer and gets turned off during the middle of the night and is not on during at day. The bathroom was clean but the shower head needed a replacement, water was going every direction. Would of been a nice touch to at least get a kettle in the room. Lastly the staff were very friendly and the hotel is a very close walk to all the sites of Florence. Mauro at reception was very kind to us and was always helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Disatisfied from Siena

Poor service... Great location

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service at the hotel was exceptionally poor except for one individual named Antonio. I booked for two people online, however, the hotel thought I booed for one. I then had to pay for another person to stay. Online it says free breakfast, but when I arrived I learned I only get one day and the rest cost 10 euros for breakfast. Also, don't expect to bring any friends to the hotel, as they will not let them up to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amy from Illinois

perfect hotel for busy travelers

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel. Lots of stairs and no elevator. Hotel was old and had small rooms but that is what we expected being in Italy. Hotel staff was great.