Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shirley

Great location

Posted Sep 17, 2012
This was a very rustic hotel full of character.The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.Location was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Next to Pitti Palce & Boboli Gardens ( the best )

Posted Jun 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
What a delightful experience. the location was great..3 blocks from the River. The outdoor restaraunt has an upper level that provides expansive views of the entire city..awesome, sat there both mornings with my coffee, and in the evening..very peaceful and scenic. However the staff was the best part of our stay..Sylvia, and Christine were wonderful...anytime I needed ice Christine would take care of me.Sylvia found some conditioner for my wife, .free coffee in the morning..extremely accomodating and friendly. If driving in florence..( an adventure in itself) La Scaletta has a valet parking..not cheap..but certainly hassle free and worth it. We would stay here again in a heartbeat....Best service of all hotels during our three week stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The stairs hotel

Posted May 25, 2012
La Scaletta means sots of stairs. Pack light for this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hotel La Scaletta in Florence - great location

Posted Apr 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
The less than desirable: - Our room and bathroom were quite small but that might be Florence's standard and we found the decor and furniture a little outdated. We didn't feel entirely clean during our stay at the hotel, perhaps the decor had something to do with it, or the fact that the rooms were only cleaned every three days. - The lift to the hotel is very small; if you have luggage it will only fit one person and one suitcase so you will need to take turns to go up, otherwise without luggage two small people should fit in the lift. - We did not like the fact that each time we left the hotel, we had to leave our keys at the front reception desk. It did not feel safe to us at all, as anyone can catch the lift up and walk straight to the front desk, mention your room number and be handed the key. We found this practice very strange. The pros: - We loved the location of Hotel La Scaletta. It is situated on the altarno side, very close to the River Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. We enjoyed our walk across the river at different times of the day. - The hotel's terrace was wonderful. Make sure you go up for magnificent views of Florence; you'll be sure to get some terrific photos as well. We were there while the restaurant was not operating, but we can only imagine that the restaurant during the summer time would be lively and wonderful. - Free wi-fi is always a plus, and the signal was strong. - The reception is 24/7 which was also handy. The staff were helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from MA

Great!

Posted Mar 5, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Bath needs better lighting and a make-up mirror!
Location: Close to Old Bridge and The Pitti Palace
Great location near Old Bridge. Our room was updated and clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. Our room being on the first floor was a good convenience. Would recommend it and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good place to stay

Posted Oct 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
Convenient location, very nice hotel with very nice rooftop terrace. All the major sights and many good restaurants within walking distance. Our double room was actually more like a suite, huge, 3 rooms. Lots of steps up and down, though, even after you take the elevator to your floor. But a very nice place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location and environment

Posted Sep 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
The location could not have been better - just south of the Ponte Vecchio. The room was quaint, and based on the fire escape plan, it appeared that we ended up with the smallest room in the hotel. It wasn't a big deal once we adjusted to it and we were out and about for most of the time anyhow. The bathroom was almost unusable. It barely accommodated one person, but we managed. What was lost with space was made-up in quirk. The room was about 10' tall with an enormous window facing the street below, which made for an awesome cultural experience in the morning when the shops and pedestrians became active. The roof deck offered excellent views; however, they didn't want you to drink anything other than what you purchased through them. I guess that's typical, but not particularly accommodating for a budget-conscious traveler.