Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane, qld

Great Room & location once we found it

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Great size room. Easy walking distance to all must see attractions for us being first time visitors to Florence
Cons: In your introduction email make mention that the street numbers do not run in order. The hotel is number 13 but next to # 47
Location: Not far from the ponte vecchio & from there straight into the city or pitti palace just up the road
Very helpful staff & clean & tidy room. They happily stored our bags when we checked out & thank god for the lift :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ameurk from San Francisco

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel La Scaletta was perfect for us. Great location, just steps from the Ponte Vechio. Wonderful staff. Lovely terrace restaurant with a little upper terrace with 4 tables where we had a great meal and enjoyed the 360 degree view of Florence. There are tons of stairs, but they do have a little elevator if you are too tired to climb the stairs. Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend it.
2 out of 5
by Julie from P

Good location. Staff average.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Staff not well-informed. Rather aloof. Efficient, rather than friendly. Not welcoming. All about paying the bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, Great Location, Good Value

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved this hotel, and would stay here again. Rooms are confortable and quiet. Its not a Hyatt, and the hotel has kind of a funky layout. But once you get there and get checked in, this is a superb base to explore Florence. The Hotel is a block south of the Ponte Vecchio, on a street with restricted car access. ( But they give you a note so you wont have to pay a traffic ticket for dropping off your luggage) All Florence Hotels seem to be expensive these days, but if you can get your mind around that you are going to have to spend close to twohundred euros/night to be centrally located in a comfortable place, the this is a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
the terrace dinning was fantastic, staff went out of way to make dinner perfect, the view whlle eating was wonderful, you get a 360 degree wow. the room was much larger than some in Europe where we stayed, modern touches in bathroom and all decor. Elevaator small as all were all, may have to make 2 trips with luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute and quaint!!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Location: it is centrally located with lots to do but not in the most hectic area of the city which was nice
This hotel was very nice and cozy! Glad we stayed here. We stayed in American hotels in Barcelona and Rome, so this was a nice hotel where we really felt the spirit of Italy! Cute and quaint! Although we only got to eat at the Hotel buffet one day it was the best breakfast we had for the price and we throughly enjoyed the roof top 360 degree view of the city! Would totally stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cristine from albany, n.y.

Centrally located

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Good location. Quiet, as we didn't have a room on the street.
The room was adequate but no view. Wireless was inconsistent and we needed to ask for assistance repeatedly. Our hotel was in the No Traffic Zone and it would have been helpful to know that but nobody from the hotel informed us so, as a result, we had difficulty returning our rental car. Staff were helpful but not endearing - seemed burned out by tourists. Rather expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by T & M from Albuquerque

Favorite hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel may be our all-time favorite. La Scalata is located just across the Ponte Vecchio in a handsome historic building. The staff is exceptional - they emailed us just after we made our reservations, making it easy to contact them later when we had travel complications. All those we encountered during our six-night stay were friendly, helpful and cheerful. Breakfasts were delicious with lots of choices, and our room itself was large with traditional Florentine furnishings, spotlessly clean, a modern bath with large shower, and even a towel warmer! From our tiny window we saw a patch of sky, red tile rooftops, and a 15th century tower in the distance. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and enjoyed exploring the hotel neighborhood with charming small shops lining the streets. We look forward to returning to this lovely hotel, and to accepting a parting invitation to share a glass of wine on the rooftop terrace overlooking the beautiful city of Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Desi A from New Jersey

Amazing - Ask for the Purple Room, It's Worth It

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
One of the best rooms I've stayed at in Europe. We upgraded to one of the better rooms and it was well worth it. Not much of a price difference to upgrade. Compared to other hotels in different Italian cities with the same rating and price . . . WOW. The US standard amenities were there - fridge, temperature controls, coffee maker, large screen tv, WiFi without having to request a code for every member of the family, and yes - a toilet seat. The upgraded room came with a wall-charger for iPhone, which could also play music in every room. The bathroom was really nice after days of traveling from one city to the next. From the rooftop is an incredible view of the city. It is only 2-3 blocks from the Bridge, cross that and you are a block away from the Uffizi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, comfortable stay- friendly staff

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Great location close to all major sites, staff were very friendly. Only issue is that on one of the nights, we could smell cigarettes from our nonsmoking room. Otherwise very pleasant.